Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

From the Comfort of Your Home

Comprehensive list of open art and entertainment resources available to the public from Indiana University, the state of Indiana, and the federal government

Home

From the Comfort of Your Home

All of the resources below are available freely to the public.  For questions or to request further suggestions, contact libgimms@indiana.edu.

Music & Theater

Music & Theater

Recordings from IU Jacobs School of Music

Recent MP3 Recordings and Videos of music by IU composers in performances by IU students and faculty. A growing library of videos is also found on Youtube.

National Jukebox

Historical recordings provided free to the public by Library of Congress

IU Media Collections Online

Audio and video collections

Indiana Remixed Playlists

Inspired by and for Indiana Remixed, here are four Spotify playlists to get your feet tapping, Hoosier-style. Each is a diverse collection of artists, compositions, and recordings from 1920-2020.

IU Music Live!

Live and on-demand streaming

IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana

Features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state

Vocal Masterclassics

Allows users to conduct a full and complete search of vocal masterclasses offered on the internet

Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database

Developed in association with the Indiana University Digital Library Program, the Televised Opera and Musical Comedy Database documents more than three-quarters of a century of opera, operetta and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States.

Film & Video

Film & Video

Films and Videos in the Library of Congress

Available for streaming

The Open Video Project

Repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities

IU Libraries Moving Image Archive

One of the world's largest film and video collections spanning nearly 80 years of production

IU Cinema Virtual Screening Room

Presenting a mix of programs including new releases, conversations with filmmaker friends, curated student film programs, and much more

Film Literature Index

Periodicals ranging from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles.  The National Endowment for the Humanities awarded Indiana University a grant in 2002 to convert the print version of the Film Literature Index to electronic form. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001.

WTIU Video

Public television and video provided by Indiana University

Books & Literature

Books, Journals & Literature

GPO Bookstore

Comprehensive listings of books published by federal agencies, many of which are available directly online

Digital Library of the Commons

Free and open access to full-text articles, international papers, and dissertations

Directory of Open Access Journals

Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals

HathiTrust Digital Library

Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.

Hoosier State Chronicles

Indiana's digital historic newspaper program

Indiana Authors & Their Books

LSTA–funded project based on the digitization and encoding of the 3–volume reference work, Indiana Authors and Their Books, published by Wabash College in 1949, 1974, and 1981. The encyclopedia covers nearly two hundred years of Indiana's literary history (1816–1980), and contains approximately 7,000 author entries. Each of the author entries, in turn, contains a bibliography collectively referencing close to 21,000 citations.

Indiana Magazine of History

Published continuously since 1905, the Indiana Magazine of History is one of the nation's oldest historical journals. Since 1913, the IMH has been edited and published quarterly at Indiana University, Bloomington. Today, the IMH features peer-reviewed historical articles, research notes, annotated primary documents, reviews, and critical essays that contribute to public understanding of Midwestern and Indiana history.

Indiana Memory

Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media.

Arts & Crafts

Arts & Crafts

Starting a Craft Business

Tips and resources from the U.S. Small Business Administration on turning your hobby into a business

Indiana Arts Commission

Webinars and training

GSA Fine Arts - Galleries

Curated using a variety of criteria, including medium, period, and theme

Resources and Instructions for Paper and Book Art

From the Library of Congress

The Sage Historic Costume Collection

In The Sage Collection at Indiana University—which includes clothing, accessories, and related items from the past as well as the present—our social history comes to life. Overseen by the School of Art, Architecture + Design, the collection serves as a resource for students, professionals, and the public.

IU Libraries Mini Makerspace

The Mini Makerspace is a creative space for experimenting, tinkering, playing, and inventing.  Stay tuned for upcoming online meetups.

Food & Cooking

Food & Cooking

Nutrition.gov Recipes

Resources for healthy, delicious recipes from the USDA

Indiana Grown

Try these tasty recipes made using fresh Indiana Grown products.

Healthy IU Recipes: Simple, Seasonal, Sustainable

Main dishes, sides, appetizers, and desserts

MyPlate Kitchen

Recipes, cookbooks, and videos

Historic Recipes and Foodways of Indiana

Want to learn about food and cooking in the 19th century, and maybe find some recipes you can try yourself?  Read for ways to take a little bit of Conner Prairie home to your kitchen.

Virtual Field Trips

Digital Exhibits

Digital Exhibits

The National Agricultural Library Digital Collections

Digital collections on USDA topics including animal welfare, plant inventory, historical dietary guidelines, fruit and vegetable market news, and more

GSA Fine Arts Collections

One of our nation’s oldest and largest public art collections, consists of works dating from the 1850’s to the present

Sidney and Lois Eskenazi Museum of Art Collections Online

Online portal that allows individuals from around the world to study objects from the museum's collection and use them for research, teaching, and more

Wylie House Museum Exhibits

Built in 1835 by Andrew Wylie, first president of Indiana University, the Wylie House is now a historic house museum administered by the IU Libraries. Collections include family artifacts, photographs, and archival materials.

University Archives Online Exhibitions

The largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and culture of Indiana University

IU Image Collections Online

Collaborative showcase for various image collections curated by the libraries, departments, and cultural institutions of Indiana University

U.S. Steel Photograph Collection

Series of more than 2,200 photographs of the Gary Works steel mill and the corporate town of Gary, Indiana held by the Calumet Regional Archives at Indiana University Northwest

Technology

Technology

Encyclopedia of Human-Computer Interaction

Indiana State Data Center

Provides data and training services to all sectors of the community including government agencies, businesses, academia, non-profit organizations, and private citizens

Indiana Cybersecurity

Best practices, standards and resources

Self Assessment

From Indiana Cybersecurity, resources to assess your current understanding of cybersecurity through short online quizzes in which you get immediate feedback so you can better understand cybersecurity

UITS Training

Indiana University's portal to technology education