Home
Greetings from the library!
Greetings H494 Students,
I'm glad you have found this research guide. My hope is that you will utilize it to aid you in any research assistance you find you need along the way! Included are lists of databases and journals I recommend you consider using, along with some writing resources.
I am available to you this semester for both in-person and virtual research consultations. Feel free to call me at 812-855-8155 or email alfordem@indiana.edu to set up an appointment.
Good luck this semester, and remember to reach out if you find yourself needing some extra guidance!
Emily Alford
Public Health Librarian
Research databases
Research databases
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- Scopus
- This link opens in a new window
Citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. - PubMed
This link opens in a new window
Free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business. - CINAHL Complete
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals. - Alt HealthWatch
- This link opens in a new window
Covers complementary, holistic, integrative, and alternative approaches to health care and wellness, from nearly 190 international journals.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink. - AgeLine
- This link opens in a new window
An online database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos.
- Health and Wellness (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information on diseases and health conditions, alternative medicine, drugs and other health-related resources. - ERIC (DOE)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers over 1085 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993. - Health Source: Consumer Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Information on health-related issues including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. - PTSDpubs
- This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, PTSDpubs provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental health sequelae of traumatic events.
- Medline Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other health-related organizations to provide consumer health information. - Gender Studies Database
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles, books, conference papers, pamphlets, dissertations and other publications about gender inequality, masculinity, post-feminism, and gender identity.
Academic journals
Academic journals
- American Journal of Public HealthA monthly peer-reviewed public health journal published by the American Public Health Association covering health policy and public health.
- Journal of Community HealthA peer-reviewed public health journal covering community health which appears every two months
- Journal of Child and Family StudiesA quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Springer Science+Business Media that focuses on family child, adolescent, and family psychology
- Human DevelopmentA bimonthly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering all aspects of human developmental science, particularly developmental psychology. Its scope includes disparate disciplines such as biology, psychology, and anthropology, among others.
- Journal of Human Nutrition and DieteticsA bimonthly peer-reviewed medical journal covering nutrition science as it relates to humans
Use the CRAAP test on all resources!
Identifying Quality Sources
Literature Reviews
How to create a quality paper
A literature review discusses the literature published on a particular topic and combines both summary and synthesis. You might create a literature review to:
- demonstrate the ability to find, analyze, and synthesize literature in a specific field
- convey the importance or significance of a research question or topic
- identify what is known or not known about a research question or topic
- provide background or context for a research question or topic
The literature review process includes the following steps (also reflected in the tabs on the left). Some steps may need to be revisited once the research and writing process begins.
Literature Review Examples:
- Literature review in an undergraduate psychology paper (from Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
- Literature review in a scholarly article (from Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
Literature Review Resources:
Literature review overview created by the University of North Carolina's Writing Center.
Created by University Library at American University. Take a look at the "What I Need to Succeed?" section for tips on getting started.
A literature review e-lecture produced by Harvard's Gutman Library.
Fall 2023 IU Libraries Happenings
Semester Happenings
The Friday Finish
EVERY FRIDAY through Thanksgiving break at Wells Library
Table tennis and yard games in the lobby, surprise guests every week (therapy dogs, musicians, massages, etc.!) and simply a great place and vibe to buckle down and get individual work, group projects and some extra studying done before the weekend.
Introduction to Citation Management With Zotero
Tuesday, September 26th 11:00AM-12:00PM
Stuck with a pile of literature to sort through? Let us help! Join one of our librarian experts to learn about Zotero, a citation manager that's sure to make your life easier.
Conducting a Literature Review
Thursday, October 26th 2:00PM-3:00PM
Learn how to prepare, organize, and finish your next literature review. What is a literature review? It’s a survey of the scholarly research published on a given issue, meant as a foundation to your own project. We will discuss the basics of literature reviews, tools to organize your research, and how to develop a search strategy. This might sound daunting, but with a few tips and tricks you can do it!