Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST J300 American Eugenics

A research guide for students in Prof. Tina Irvine's Spring 2021 American Eugenics class.

Sources

IU Bloomington is home to many collections of primary sources. Many have materials that relate to the history of eugenics in the United States. The types of material include personal papers, institutional records, physical artifacts, audio and visual materials, and archaeological collections. See the slides below for some of the places that hold these materials or look at this longer listNote that many of the books, magazines, etc. in IUCAT also contain primary sources.

Be sure to also check out the Archives Online link below:

These are just a few of the historical newspapers and periodicals available online at IU. For a longer list of newspapers, see here. In addition to the databases below, you can find individual titles in IUCAT. 

Important note: Many historical newspapers and periodicals are available in print and on microforms. This includes the Indiana Daily Student. While some years of the IDS have been digitized, most are only available on microfilm in GIMMS, which is on the 2nd floor of the East Tower of Wells Library.

Several of the links below are portals to dozens of other primary source databases.

  • For a longer, more detailed list: Click here
  • For a list of non-IU websites with digitized primary sources: Click here

For help choosing a particular database, contact me.

These are mostly general databases, covering many topics. For help finding information on your particular research question, contact me or look at this much longer list.