Skip to main content

Endnote vs. Zotero

Endnote vs. Zotero Guide

This guide will help you compare the citation managers EndNote and Zotero so you can choose which one makes sense for your workflow.

For more detailed info on using EndNote or Zotero please see the guides linked to in the left-hand menu. 

Endnote-Zotero Comparison

  Zotero Endnote Endnote Basic
Accessing Your Library On personal computer or online  On personal computer Online
Cost Free Free to IU students/ faculty/staff Free to IU students/ faculty/staff
How to Get It Download at http://zotero.org Download from IUanyWare at http://iuanyware.iu.edu Create free account at http://myendnoteweb.com
Ease of Use Easy Moderately easy Moderately easy
Collaboration Zotero users can collaborate through "Groups" (Groups' collections can be open, closed, or private.)  Through EndNote Web EndNote users can share collections, including PDFs and annotations ("Read Only" and "Read & Write" options)
Getting Citations

Easy exporting from most library databases.

Can capture good amount of bibliographic info from web sources

Can add citations manually.

Easy exporting from most library databases and can search from within Endnote.

Can import PDFs and capture some bibliographic info.

Can add citations manually.

Easy exporting from library databases and can search from within Endnote. 

Can capture some bibliographic info from web sources.

Can add citations manually.

 

Storage & Attachment Limits

Unlimited citations

~20GB of attachment storage (PDFs, images, etc.)

Unlimited citations

Link and store attachments (up to 45 attachments per citation)

50,000 citations

2GB of file storage

Locating Full Text Yes, but not as easy as in EndNote.
Click the "Locate" button in the info pane for each citation.
Yes, click on the "Find Full Text" link. Must have preferences set.  Does not locate full-text. Can save full-text and attach files.
Citing while Writing  Yes, with the Zotero MS-Word or OpenOffice plug-in installed Yes, with the MS-Word "Cite While You Write" plug-in installed Yes, with the MS-Word "Cite While You Write" plug-in installed.
Annotating PDFs Not supported within Zotero, must use other software like Adobe Acrobat Annotate within EndNote Not supported within Endnote Basic.

*Thank you to Purdue Libraries for permission to adapt portions of their comparison chart.