Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Critical Food Studies Lab (Locally focused)

Home

Census Data

Census Data

U.S. Census Bureau's Data Platform

Simply Analytics

Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data

Social Explorer

Provides access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data.

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

Food Studies Resources

Food Studies Resources

Agricultural Trade Periodicals and Reports (USDA)

Data products and reports covering U.S. agricultural trade and factors affecting trade flows

Food Security: Interactive Charts and Highlights (USDA)

National Agricultural Library

One of the five national libraries of the U.S., the National Agriculture Library is one of the largest agricultural research libraries in the world.

Indiana Soil Surveys (1899-1990)

Soil survey maps, many of which are available online.

Agricola

AGRICOLA is a bibliographic database of articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture.

Agricultural and Environmental Science Database

Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.

Food Studies Online

Provides researchers with archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world.

Food and Drink in History

Digital access to primary source material on the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere. Includes printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government reports, films, and illustrated content.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America

Covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink

Food and Foodways

A refereed, interdisciplinary, and international journal devoted to publishing original scholarly articles on the history and culture of human nourishment.

Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems and Community Development

The Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (JAFSCD) is the world's only peer-reviewed, transdisciplinary journal focused solely on food and farming-related community development.

Civil Eats

Civil Eats is a daily news source for critical thought about the American food system. They publish stories that shift the conversation around sustainable agriculture in an effort to build economically and socially just communities.