Skip to main content

COVID-19: Public Information and Resources for Researchers

Home

COVID-19: Public Information and Resources for Researchers

Coronaviruses are a type of virus. There are many different kinds, and some cause disease. A newly identified type has caused a recent outbreak of respiratory illness now called COVID-19 that started in China.

This guide is intended to refer Indiana University affiliates, the general public, as well as academic and medical researchers to factual information.

Coronavirus COVID-19 Global Cases by the Center for Systems Science and Engineering (CSSE) at Johns Hopkins University

In the News

The New York Times

Up-to-date coverage of the coronavirus outbreak

ScienceMag.org

Information on the virus from the American Association for the Advancement of Science

The New England Journal of Medicine

IndyStar

Herald Times Online

Bloomington news, updates and alerts

Indiana University Resources

Indiana University Resources

Coronavirus.iu.edu

Indiana University is closely monitoring the rapidly changing situation with the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and is actively working to plan and prepare for a potential outbreak.  This page hosts travel information, public safety advisories, FAQs, and additional resources.

IU Health Center

Health answers, guidance, and information on symptoms to be aware of.  The IU Health Center's site makes it easy to book a medical appointment online, check your medical records, and contact the team for questions and concerns.  Pharmacy information and employee services.

Indiana Daily Student

Indiana University's independent student newspaper.  Articles on the coronavirus as it affects our campus and town.

Free E-Textbooks and Electronic Resources offered by Vendors and Academic Publishers during COVID-19

Temporary Access to Academic Resources during COVID-19

 

Click on the image below to view offers.

Hoosier Health Watch: State and Local Alerts & Information

Hoosier Health Watch: State and Local Alerts & Information

Indiana State Department of Health

The Indiana State Department of Health (ISDH) is closely monitoring an outbreak of the 2019 novel (new) coronavirus or COVID-19. This new respiratory virus was first identified in the city of Wuhan in China’s Hubei Province and continues to infect people in China and around the world, including the United States. On March 6, ISDH confirmed the first case of COVID-19 in a Hoosier with recent travel. ISDH reported the second presumptive positive case of COVID-19 in the state on March 8.  This page contains information for the public to refer to during this time of anxiety.  Sign up for email alerts to receive the latest news from ISDH.

Epidemiology Resource Center

Epidemiology "eh-pi-dee-me-ology" is the study of health factors in human and animal populations. It includes collecting, analyzing, and sending out public health information and investigating public health threats. These activities help determine causes of disease and effective disease prevention. Epidemiology also plays a key role in forming and implementing public health policy.

This site is comprised of data analysis, risk factors, a medical glossary, public health geographics, as well as information on infectious disease epidemiology and zoonotic and vectorborne epidemiology.

Stats Explorer

Find, explore, and download Indiana health statistics.

Governor Holcomb announced he was declaring a public health emergency in order to obtain federal funding for coronavirus response.

COVID-19 Resource Hub

Stats Indiana created a central webpage to centralize resources for the public in Indiana. This site provides many useful links as a compilation of data and tools to help people understand the scope, scale, and size of the COVID-19 epidemic. There are resources for business and employment in addition to official sites such as CDC, and several case studies with projections and implications of the virus.

 

U.S. Centers for Disease Control: Alerts & Information

U.S. Centers for Disease Control: Alerts & Information

Cases in the United States

Risk Assessment

Preventing COVID-19 Spread in Communities

Information for communities, schools, and businesses

Travel

Communication resources, information for travelers returning from high risk countries, and guidance for ships and airlines

Further CDC resources for you

Video, fact sheets, and posters

World Health Organization: Alerts & Information

World Health Organization: Alerts & Information

Situation Updates

Reports, disease outbreak news, and situation dashboard

Advice for the Public

When and how to use masks, getting a workplace ready, and information for health workers

Myth Busters

Training and E-learning

Research Resources

Research Resources

Researching Business Impacts

Consumer Goods

Mintel has a report titled "Stockpiling and online growth: the reaction to and the impact of COVID-19 on the grocery sector - 10th March 2020"

ABI/Inform has reports such as "Global Industry Forecast for Consumer Goods Win"ter 2020" and "Global Industry Forecast for Electronics and Computers Winter 2020." Simply search for "coronavirus" AND "global industry forecast"

Supply Chain and Industry

IBISWORLD has reports for affected industries. You can search "coronavirus" or "COVD-19" to get a complete list of industry reports updated to reflect the affects of the pandemic. The IBISWorld homepage may have a banner about the updates they have made since the COVID-19 outbreak - click on "Learn More" for great sources.

OECDiLibrary has a Economic Outlook, Interim Report March 2020 which reflects the pandemic

PassportGMID has an article about the coronavirus and the global pharmaceutical supply chain

Travel, Recreation and Leisure

Search "coronavirus" on Frost&Sullivan for results about effects of coronavirus on the aviation industry and the 2020 Global Commercial Aerospace Outlook

Mintel has reports on COVID-19 effects on.....

  • travel insurance
  • at-home fitness
  • grocery stores
  • food delivery
  • and more

You can search COVID19 to for ample resources

PassportGMID has many resources in light of the pandemic including a video on sports impact assessment of the coronavirus and an article on coronavirus' potential impact on travel and tourism.

Technology and Telecommunications

Search "coronavirus" on Frost&Sullivan for results about the coronavirus and...

  • digital health care
  • CISCO's videoconferencing
  • the normalization of remote work

Real Estate and Housing Market

ABI/Inform has a growing collection of articles. Copy and paste the following search phrase: "COVID-19" AND ("real estate" OR "housing market")

Track COVID-19 Financial News

Potential search terms - be sure to limit search January 2020 and later

  • flatten the curve
  • #flatten the curve
  • COVID-19
  • coronavirus
  • social distancing
  • quarantine
  • self-quarantine
  • PPE shortage
  • N95 mask

Open Access Journal Articles, Databases and Resources

The Scholarly Communication Department is monitoring vendor resources as more and more content is made freely available. If you need to find out about the access status of a particular resource, or are otherwise in doubt, contact iusw@indiana.edu.

Journal Articles

Educator Resources

Duke University Press is providing open access to books and journal articles for a limited time. Books are free to read online until June 1, 2020, and journal articles are free until October 1.

Wiley is offering free educator resources for a limited time.

Oxford University Press is offering free educational content, and ancillary resources such as test banks and quizzes for a limited time.

Cambridge University Press is making higher education textbooks in HTML format free to access online, for a limited time, during the coronavirus outbreak.

Databases and Other Resources

The World Health Organization maintains a public database of publications on coronavirus disease (COVID-19).  While the database is open access, the access status of individual articles within the database may vary.

The United States Centers for Disease Control maintains a list of research resources which includes open access COVID-19 journals and databases.

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control COVID-19 page provides data, publications, a situation dashboard and other resources.

MedRxiv and BioRxiv have compiled pre-prints about COVID-19 SARS-CoV-2.  Please bear in mind the BioRxiv reminder that  A reminder: these are preliminary reports that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be regarded as conclusive, guide clinical practice/health-related behavior, or be reported in news media as established information.

SSRN maintains a coronavirus research page.  Please bear in mind that these are also pre-prints which have not been peer-reviewed.

Nature has launched a rapid open peer-review server.  If you are an scientist with an ORCID ID you can submit a review as you read pre-prints from the medRxiv, bioRxiv and arXiv repositories.  If you do not have an ORCID ID, consult our ORCID LibGuide - it is very easy to set up.

IU Libraries Maps and Geographic Information Systems (GIS) research guide - includes links to online map collections, GIS data and tutorials, and methods for requesting research consultations with the Map and Spatial Data Librarian.

ESRI, the leading international supplier of GIS software, has created a comprehensive COVID-19 GIS Hub with maps, datasets, dashboards, applications, and more. The resources in the hub are updated with new information as it becomes available. 

A map overview of current labor movement responses to untenable working conditions in the U.S. food industry during the COVID-19 pandemic.