Library Research Guides: Tibetan Studies: Specialized Databases

Specialized Databases

Buddhist Digital Archives (BUDA)
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of Tibetan literature with links to digital archives and initiatives
This website contains E. Gene Smith's extensive database of Tibetan literature and serves as the main access point to an evolving digital archive of texts, primarily in the Tibetan language.

IU subscriptions include Core Text Collections I through XIV. See IUCAT for print collections.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia. Published by the Association for Asian Studies, it covers all subjects with special focus on the humanities and social sciences.
Includes over 900,000 citations, dating primarily from 1971 onwards, with more than 400,000 citations since 1992. All entries are searchable by author, title, year of publication, place of publication, language of publication, journal title, country, subject, keyword, ISSN and ISBN. Includes the full content of the printed volumes of the annual Bibliography of Asian Studies dating back to 1971.
China Academic Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to hundreds of Chinese periodicals related to literature, history, philosophy, economics, political science, and law.
The largest comprehensive online full-text database in China. In addition to the purchase of the 1994-2001 back files of the Literature/History/Philosophy Series, the IUB Library has current subscriptions to the following modules: (F) Literature/History/Philosophy Series, (G) Politics/Military Affairs/Law, (H) Education & Social Sciences, and (J) Economics & Management.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
- This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is a combined index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, biblical studies, world religions, church history, religious perspectives on social issues.
Coverage in the database begins in 1908, and there is indexing for some journal titles back into the nineteenth century. Full text is available for many electronic articles and book reviews in over 100 journals.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text of historical runs of important scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, sciences, ecology, and business.
JSTOR, a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of The Mellon Foundation, provides complete runs of hundreds of important journal titles in more than 30 arts, humanities, and social science disciplines. These scholarly journals can be browsed online and searched, and the page images can be printed for those available in full-text. The IUB Libraries subscribe to current content for only some titles available through JSTOR.

All journals in JSTOR start with the first volume. Many include content up to a "moving wall" of 3-5 years ago, although some journals have a fixed ending date for their content in JSTOR. Please check individual journals for exact dates of coverage.

For information about access to this resource for IU alumni, contact the Indiana University Alumni Association.
PIVOT
- This link opens in a new window
The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and the IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research jointly funds Indiana University's subscription to Pivot for all IU campuses. Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for research.
Comprehensive, editorially maintained database of funding opportunities combined with a unique database of over 3 million pre-populated scholar profiles. Pivot's proprietary algorithm compiles pre-populated researcher profiles unique to Indiana University and matches them to current funding opportunities in the expansive COS Pivot database. This allows users to search for a funding opportunity and instantly view matching faculty from inside or outside IU.
PAIS Index
- This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) indexes articles, books, studies, selected official documents and other resources on public policy issues, public administration, law, politics and government.
Includes journal articles, books, government documents, pamphlets and the reports of public and private bodies. Also indexes publications in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

Print source: PAIS bulletin (1915-1990), PAIS Foreign Language Index (1968-1990), PAIS International in Print (1991-)
Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Tibetan Studies

Specialized Databases

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

Tibetan Studies

Specialized Databases

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries