Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases 

• Academic Search (EBSCO)   This link opens in a new window

  Full-text magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines. Also contains an image database.

• OneSearch@IU   This link opens in a new window

• Scopus   This link opens in a new window

  A citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.

• Google Scholar  This link opens in a new window

            Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.

Speech & Hearing/Clinical Databases

• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) 

  Covers all aspects of the study of language and contains non-evaluative abstracts of articles from over 1,200 international serials as well as other resources.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• PubMed 

  Biomedical citations and abstracts (MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Additional citations, approximately 1% of the database, are from other sources.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Communication Source 

  This resource offers worldwide full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.

  more...

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Embase   This link opens in a new window

• Biomedical and pharmaceutical database containing bibliographic records with abstracts.

• Henry Stewart Talks Biomedical and Life Sciences Collection 

  Henry Stewart Talks consist of audio-visual presentations ("online seminars by leading world experts") lasting approximately 40-50 minutes. Topics cover many intersections of speech, language, & hearing sciences, including: stuttering, bilingualism, language production & comprehension, etc.

  more...

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Cochrane Library 
  •   This link opens in a new window

  Access to systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and policy

• CINAHL Complete 

  A comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.

  •  This link opens in a new window

Other Relevant Databases

• APA PsycINFO (EBSCO) 

  Access to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, social sciences, and mental health fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• Dataplanet 

  Data analysis resource for social science researchers and students. Includes access to 13.5 billion U.S. and international datasets from over 90 sources. Users can manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, chart trends over time, and map data on a single interface, as well as create customizable visualizations of the data.

  •  This link opens in a new window
• ERIC (DOE) 

  Covers over 1085 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993.

  •   This link opens in a new window
• Web of Science 

  An interface that allows cross-searching of BIOSIS Previews, Medline, Zoological Record, and Web of Science Core Collection.

  •   This link opens in a new window

Point-Of-Care Tools

• UpToDate 
  •  This link opens in a new window

  A practical clinical reference, contains the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text which provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment.

Research Funding Opportunities

• PIVOT 
  •   This link opens in a new window

  The Office of the Vice Provost for Research and the IUPUI Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research jointly funds Indiana University's subscription to Pivot for all IU campuses. Pivot is a database of funding opportunities for research.