Government Information

ProQuest Congressional provides indexing and full-text access to various publications of the U.S. Congress. It provides easy search access to congressional publications and includes full-text of reports, bills and resolutions, and laws.

Use Advanced Search to select specific series included:
-Congressional Research Digital Collection
-Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
-House and Senate Unpublished Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Record Permanent Digital Collection
-ProQuest Congressional Serial Set Maps Digital Collection
-ProQuest Statutes at Large
-ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
-Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations
-U.S Bills and Resolutions

Most publications are owned by IUB, either in print, on microfiche or electronically. IUB has been a Federal Depository Library since 1881. For specific assistance or to ask questions about using congressional publications, contact Government Information, Maps and Microform Services, located on the 2nd floor of the Herman B Wells Library. Email libgimms@iu.edu or telephone 812-855-6924

Allows users to manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, and derive new statistics.  Users can visualize data in multiple formats: table, chart, map, or graphs, and profile specific industries, geographies, topics, or points in time. Includes statistical literacy with detailed source descriptions and a library of reference material addressing the basics of all things data.

One Mail instructions:

If you created a personal account for Sage Data using your indiana.edu email address, you will need to update your account to use your iu.edu email account before December 31, 2025.

1. Go to Sage Data
2. Click on "My profile" and "Sign in," and then log in to your profile
3. Once you have logged in, click on "My profile" (where you should see your name displayed) and then click on “View My Profile.”
4. In the "Email Address" field enter your new email address and then click "Save" to save your changes.

Also includes materials related to constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.

AI Research Tool

The Libraries subscription includes access to HeinOnline's Article Summaries (Powered by AI) for the Law Journal Library. Article Summaries will be rolled out in batches beginning with most-cited and most-accessed articles first. Articles Summaries will display in search results, the document viewer, and downloaded PDFs for eligible articles.

Users may create individual accounts with their iu.edu email. Select Create Account and follow the registration instructions.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your Social Explorer account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. See the below instructions for updating accounts.

1. Log into your account.
2. Select the drop-down menu under your initials in the upper right corner and chose My Account.
3. Input your iu.edu email in the email address field.
4. Select Update Email. 
5. You will be prompted to enter your password again to complete the update.
6. You will receive an automated email indicating the change was successful.
    

Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”

One Mail instructions:

On May 2, 2025, SimplyAnalytics support updated all active accounts using @indiana.edu email addresses to use @iu.edu email addresses. No further action is needed for users who had active SimplyAnalytics accounts.

Declassified Documents Reference Service provides searching and fulltext access to declassified U.S. government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, this single source enables users to locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.

ICPSR holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data. ICPSR datasets were originally collected for specific research or administrative purposes. However, the data have research potential that outlives the original purposes for which they were collected. ICPSR preserves these valuable data resources and makes them publicly available for secondary analysis. ICPSR Direct is a new service providing direct access to the ICPSR data holdings for all students, faculty, and staff at ICPSR member institutions.

Individual Account Login Instructions

1. Go to ICSPR and click the Log In button
2. Select Access through your institution
3. In the Finder your institution search box, enter “Indiana University”
4. Click the Log in with your institution button and log in with your IU network credentials.

Articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.