Germanic Studies

Online collection of German language reference works of the publishing house Duden. The default search screen is set to "alle Duden-Datenbanken" (all Duden databases) which includes the following Duden dictionaries and lexicons: Deutsches Universalwörterbuch (Universal German dictionary); Das grosse Fremdwörterbuch (Large dictionary of internationalisms); Das Synonymwörterbuch (Dictionary of synonyms); Das grosse Wörterbuch der Zitate und Redewendungen (Large dictionary of quotations and idioms); Wörterbuch der Abkürzungen (Dictionary of abbreviations); Familiennamen, Herkunft und Bedeutung (Family names, ethymology and meaning); Das Wörterbuch medizinischer Fachausdrücke (Dictionary of medical terminology); Wörterbuch der New Economy (Dictionary of the new economy); Das Lexikon der Wirtschaft (Dictionary of economy); Die deutsche Rechtschreibung (German orthography); Das Herkunftswörterbuch (Etymological dictionary); Richtiges und gutes Deutsch (Correct and proper German); Grosses Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache (Large dictionary of the German language); Lexikon der Vornamen (Lexicon of first names); Geographische Namen in Deutschland (Geographical names in Germany); Wörterbuch der Szenesprachen (Contemporary Slang dictionary); and Recht (Law).

BDSL Online is the electronic version of the Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft, known as Eppelsheimer-Köttelwesch after its first two editors at the University Library in Frankfurt am Main, Germany. It indexes materials that deal with the study of German literature and language, including monographs as well as articles in journals, newspapers, anthologies, and Festschriften. The materials it covers are published world-wide, although the preponderance of them are German. The indexed titles are all held by the Frankfurt University Library and can usually be obtained from there by means of Interlibrary Loan, if needed.

DigiZeitschriften (the German digital journal archive) provides access (with full text) to about 135 core German research journals in a variety of subject areas, including: Arts, Economics, Education, Egyptology and coptology, English language and literature, Geology, Germanic language and literature, History, Law, Librarianship, Mathematics, Music, Philology, Philosophy, Religion, Romance language and literature, Sciences, and Sociology.

oogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Connecting to Google Scholar from off-campus? The IUB Libraries already provide access to many of the journal articles indexed in Google Scholar. Look for IU-Link, which will lead you to information about full-text content you can access via the Libraries' subscriptions.

The IBZ covers international periodical literature in all fields, including philosophy, theology, psychology, communication, law, pedagogics, politics, sociology, economics, literature, language, art, music, theater, film, archaeology, ethnography, natural sciences, biology, anthropology, agriculture, ecology, medicine, mathematics, statistics, earth sciences and technology. Database is updated monthly, and contains articles from some 11,300 journals from 1983 to the present.

Entries in the IBZ are predominantly German-language, but include citations in English, French and other languages.

Print source: The IBZ in print covers the years 1885-1993. See IUCAT for the IUB Library holdings.

Includes the following:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK & Ireland
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: A & I
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: CIC Institutions

In co-operation with the German publishers, Suhrkamp Verlag, this edition is based on Bertolt Brecht - Ausgewählte Werke in sechs Bänden - Jubiläumsausgabe zum 100. Geburtstag, edited by Werner Hecht, Wolfgang Jeske and Jan Knopf, which collects Brecht's works and writings in six volumes with brief notes on each text.

DigiZeitschriften (the German digital journal archive) provides access (with full text) to about 135 core German research journals in a variety of subject areas, including: Arts, Economics, Education, Egyptology and coptology, English language and literature, Geology, Germanic language and literature, History, Law, Librarianship, Mathematics, Music, Philology, Philosophy, Religion, Romance language and literature, Sciences, and Sociology.

The Digitale Bibliothek Deutscher Klassiker offers an electronic version of the texts published since 1981 by the Deutscher Klassiker Verlag [German Classical Publishing Company], an affiliate of the Suhrkamp publishing company. As the title suggests, it makes available major works by German-language authors, spanning eleven centuries and ranging from such early texts as Lancelot und Ginover and works by Wolfram von Eschenbach to writings by major 18th- and 19th-century authors such as Herder, Büchner, Schleiermacher, and Fichte. As well, there are collections of historical, philosophical, theological, political, and art history texts. All works have been newly edited and are accompanied by extensive commentaries. Searching can be done for titles, keywords, or authors. Searches can be limited to the works of a particular author or to a specific genre of texts. Keyword searches can be performed on words in combination or for words in proximity. Truncation and wildcard searching allows retrieval of documents containing variations on a search term.

Includes access to collections 1-10. Religious works dominate, but the resource also includes secular material. Fully searchable pages scanned directly from the original printed sources in high-resolution full color. Each item is captured in its entirety, complete with binding, edges, endpapers, blank pages and any loose inserts.