Finding Materials
Getting Started
IU Libraries has a research guide for each discipline. A list of those guides can be found here.
General Searching (Multi-Disciplinary) Databases
These resources are helpful when searching for information broadly to find out more about a topic or when a research question is multi-disciplinary. These databases are best to start with when you begin information seeking.
- OneSearch@IU
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
- Google Scholar
Special version of Google's index to scholarly content on the web. Connects to full-text resources available to IU users.
- Scopus
A citation database of peer-reviewed academic journal articles.
Psychology Databases
These databases provide information specific to the field of psychology. PsycINFO is one of the most popular psychology databases IU Libraries has access to, but there are plenty of other tools listed below.
- APA PsycINFO (EBSCO)
Access to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science, social sciences, and mental health fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
This link opens in a new window
- Psychotherapy.net
This collection offers streaming videos which show actual psychotherapy sessions, and experts discuss their thoughts behind their interventions.
- Psychological Experiments Online
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries.
- Psychiatry Online
Online access to psychiatric textbooks, journals, and professional development tools. Includes the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) of Mental Disorders fifth edition
Survey Tests & Measures
- APA PsycTests
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this database provides access to thousands of test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. - PhenX Toolkit
The PhenX Toolkit (consensus measures for Phenotypes and eXposures) provides recommended standard data collection protocols for conducting biomedical research. The protocols are selected by Working Groups of domain experts using a consensus process, which includes the scientific community. The Toolkit provides detailed protocols for collecting data and tools to help investigators incorporate these protocols into their studies. Using protocols from the PhenX Toolkit facilitates cross-study analysis, potentially increasing the scientific impact of individual studies. PhenX is funded by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI). - PROMIS (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System)
PROMIS® (Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System) is a set of person-centered measures that evaluates and monitors physical, mental, and social health in adults and children. It can be used with the general population and with individuals living with chronic conditions. - Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
This link opens in a new window
Other Resources
- PubMed
Biomedical citations and abstracts (MEDLINE and OLDMEDLINE) from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Additional citations, approximately 1% of the database, are from other sources.
- Dataplanet
Data analysis resource for social science researchers and students. Includes access to 13.5 billion U.S. and international datasets from over 90 sources. Users can manipulate datasets, compare multiple indicators and sources, chart trends over time, and map data on a single interface, as well as create customizable visualizations of the data.
- JoVE This link opens in a new window
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) provides access to peer reviewed scientific video journals. JoVE has produced over 5,500 videos demonstrating experiments from laboratories at top research institutions.
This link opens in a new windowResources A-Z
Are you interested in seeing all resources available through IU Libraries? Check out the A-Z list:
https://libraries.indiana.edu/all-resources
- IUCAT Online Library Catalog
The Indiana University online catalog. Find books, magazines, journals, movies, sound recordings, government publications, digital collections, and more.
Things to keep in mind:
-
E-Books can only be accessed if the link says "IU Bloomington" or "All Campus Access"
-
Request delivery allows you to borrow books from other campuses or branch libraries (Education, Neal-Marshall, etc.) and have books delivered to one convenient location. You can request delivery once you are logged into IUCAT.
-
Renewing books is as simple as logging into IUCAT and clicking "My Account" and "Renew."
-
If you're visiting any of the libraries on campus, your Crimson Card is your library card
Recently Published Psychological & Brain Science Books at IU Libraries
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders Text Revision (E-Book) by ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Psychology (E-Book) by ISBN: 9781351374682This compact introduction is the ideal primer for anyone looking for an accessible overview of the basic principles of psychology, the fascinating science of mind and behavior. In everyday life we often ask why people act the way that they do, especially when we encounter or hear about puzzling behavior. Psychology: The Basics introduces everyday explanations of behavior, considering them through a psychological lens. Illustrating how behavior can be explained through fundamental psychological principles, the book covers the core areas of cognitive, developmental, and social psychology as well as behaviorism, the human brain, our emotions, personality and individual differences, and psychological disorders. This book, which includes further reading in each chapter for those wishing to study more deeply, is the perfect easy-to-understand introductory text for students, teachers, health personnel, human resource managers, administrators, and anyone interested in the human mind and behavior.
Quantitative Psychology (E-Book) by ISBN: 9783030747718This proceedings volume highlights the latest research and developments in psychometrics and statistics. It represents selected and peer-reviewed presentations given at the 85th Annual International Meeting of the Psychometric Society (IMPS), held virtually on July 13-17, 2020. The IMPS is one of the largest international meetings on quantitative measurement in education, psychology and the social sciences. It draws approximately 500 participants from around the world, featuring paper and poster presentations, symposiums, workshops, keynotes, and invited presentations. Leading experts and promising young researchers have written the included chapters. The chapters address a wide variety of topics including but not limited to item response theory, adaptive testing, Bayesian estimation, propensity scores, and cognitive diagnostic models. This volume is the 9th in a series of recent works to cover research presented at the IMPS.
Clinical Psychology by ISBN: 9781544333618The best-selling Clinical Psychology: Science, Practice, and Diversitypresents an inclusive and culturally competent view of the vast world of clinical psychology. Through lively examples, robust scholarship, and a highly readable narrative, award-winning author Andrew M. Pomerantz explores the key topics of clinical assessment, psychotherapy, and ethical and professional issues while also incorporating discussions of current controversies and specialized topics. The Fifth Editionincludes a new career-focused feature, original videos addressing ethical issues, and updates reflecting the latest research findings in the field.
Discursive Psychology and Disability by ISBN: 9783030717599This book explores how discursive psychology (DP) research can be applied to disability and the everyday and institutional constructions of bodymind differences. Bringing together both theoretical and empirical work, it illustrates how DP might be leveraged to make visible nuanced understandings of disability and difference writ large. The authors argue that DP can attend to how such realities are made relevant, dealt with, and negotiated within social practices in the study of disability. They contend that DP can be used to unearth the nuanced and frequently taken for granted ways in which disability is made real in both everyday and institutional talk, and can highlight the very ways in which differences are embodied in social practices - specifically at the level of talk and text. This book demonstrates that rather than simply staying at the level of theory, DP scholars can make visible the actual means by which disabilities and differences more broadly are made real, resisted, contested, and negotiated in everyday social actions. This book aims to expand conceptions of disability and to deepen the - at present, primarily theoretical - critiques of medicalization.
Qualitative Research in Psychology (E-Book) by ISBN: 9781433834455Qualitative methods of research contribute valuable information to our understanding and expanding knowledge of psychological phenomena. This updated edition of Qualitative Research in Psychology builds upon the groundwork laid by its acclaimed predecessor, bringing together a diverse group of scholars to illuminate the value that qualitative methods bring to studying psychological phenomena in depth and in context. A range of techniques, guiding paradigms, and rich case examples are explored, demonstrating qualitative methodologies as alternative and complementary to quantitative methods, as a means of exploration and theory building, and as a means of developing and evaluating complex behavior-change interventions. Thoroughly updated chapters reflect advances in this dynamic field. New authors and chapters describe emerging methodologies, qualitative meta-analysis, and how qualitative methods can contribute to a wider psychological approach to research. Pragmatic issues, such as how to choose a method or combination of methods to suit the research question and study design, how to determine the ideal sample size, and how to balance journal space limitations with the need for transparency in describing the study, will be valuable to all readers.
Trade publications are neither considered academic or popular; they are resources written for those who work in a specific industry. These publications tend to publish news, statistics, trends and other information relevant to their industry. Authors can be staff editors, journalists, practitioners or academics in the field. They made be published by trade or professional associations. Articles may be short and may not include references, or not nearly as many references as scholarly journal articles.
Examples of trade publications include:
Monitor on Psychology
The Psychologist
The Scientific Mind
Some databases offer Trade Publications as a format. You can select this format to limit results. This image is from OneSearch@IU, one of the interdisciplinary databases provided by the libraries.
Can't find what you're looking for? Luckily Document Delivery Services (DDS) and Inter-Library (ILL) Loan can help!
Articles and books from other non-IU libraries can be borrowed for free. Articles will be digitally sent as PDF files to your email and books are delivered and picked up from Wells Library.
Need to make a request?
-
Fill out this form to request an article or book chapter that can be delivered electronically (email)
-
This form is to request a complete work (physical book, CD, video, etc.)
This video walks through completing an InterLibrary Loan request
Are you experiencing technical difficulties with an online resource?
Send an email to Amy and a technical support ticket will be issued to resolve the problem!
Area Specific Resources
Relevant Journals
-
Psychiatria i Psychologia Kliniczna (Journal of Psychiatry and Clinical Psychology)--Open Access title in Polish
Dictionaries
- APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology (e-book)
- The dictionary of physiological and clinical psychology
- Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience (e-book)
Encyclopedias
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders (e-book)
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology (e-book)
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (e-book)
- The Wiley Encyclopedia of Health Psychology (e-book)
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health (e-book)
Internet Sources
Provides a variety of information about mental disorders. Covers description, research, etiology, diagnosis, treatment.
A large, nicely organized website with information about drugs, food, medical devices, regulations, and research. Providing publications, press releases, reports, more.
A large, general pharmacology site, for medications used in the U.S. Search by brand name, generic name, imprint codes, symptoms, side effects, or drug interaction. Considerable coverage, including descriptions, indications, contraindications, dosage, and results of clinical studies.
Relevant Journals
- Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry
- Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry Advances (JCCP Advances)
- Child Development
- Child Development Perspectives
- Child Development Research
- Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders
- Developmental Science
- International Journal of Developmental Science
- Journal of Pediatric Psychology
- Psychologia Rozwojowa--Developmental Psychology
- Developmental Psychology
- Development and Psychopathology
- Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development
- Developmental Neuropsychology
Dictionary
Encyclopedias
- The Wiley Handbook of Developmental Psychology in Practice: Implementation and Impact
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of Lifespan Human Development
- International Encyclopedia of Adolescence
- Disability in American Life: An Encyclopedia of Concepts, Policies, and Controversies (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of Children, Adolescents, and Adults with Disabilities and Other Exceptional Individuals
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intellectual and Developmental Disorders (e-book)
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Inclusive and Special Education (e-book)
Internet Sources
Learning disabilities resources for professionals and parents. Information about various disabilities and attention deficit disorder. Lists of organizations offering assistance.
The Arc is the largest national community-based organization advocating for and with people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD) and serving them and their families.
Relevant Journals
Dictionaries
- A Dictionary of Public Health (e-book)
- Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Professions (e-book)
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health (e-book)
- The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Health, Illness, Behavior, and Society (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of women's health (physical book)
Internet Sources
- Healthy People 2030--U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- This site provides 10-year, measurable public health objectives and tools to help track progress toward achieving them.
- Health Policy Institute
- The Health Policy Institute is a multi-disciplinary group of faculty and staff dedicated to conducting research on key issues in health policy and health services research.
Relevant Journals
- Annual Review of Neuroscience
- Nature Reviews: Neuroscience
- The Behavioral and Brain Sciences
- Nature Neuroscience
- Neuron
- Neurons, Behavior, Data Analysis, and Theory
- Trends in Neurosciences
- Molecular Psychiatry
- Progress in Neurobiology
- International Review of Neurobiology
- Neurobiology of Aging
- Neurobiology of Disease
- Neurobiology of Language
- Neurobiology of Learning and Memory
- Neurobiology of Pain
- Neurobiology of Sleep and Circadian Rhythms
- Neurobiology of Stress
- Trends in Cognitive Sciences
- Cognitive Science
- Wiley Interdisciplinary Reviews: Cognitive Science
- Current Opinion in Neurobiology
Encyclopedias & Atlas
- The Encyclopedia of the Brain and Brain Disorders (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Neuroscience (e-book)
- Nettler's Atlas of Neuroscience (e-book)
Internet Sources
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)--Neuroscience
Relevant Journals
- Advances in Experimental Social Psychology
- Personality and Social Psychology Review
- Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
- Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin
- Proceedings of the Division of Personality and Social Psychology
- Journal of Personality
- Journal of Personality Assessment
- Journal of Personality Disorders
- Journal of Health and Social Behavior
- Social Psychology Quarterly
- Journal of Experimental Social Psychology
- British Journal of Social Psychology
- European Journal of Personality
Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Global Justice (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Social Psychology (e-book)
- SAGE Handbook of Social Research Methods (e-book)
- SAGE Mixed Methods Research (e-book)
- SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods (e-book)
- Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict (e-book)
- The Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology (e-book)
Internet Sources
- Social Psychology Network
A vast site for social psychology resources. Organizations, Ph.D. programs, career resources, home pages for social psychologists. Links for numerous topics in social psychology. Maintained by Scott Plous at Wesleyan University.
Relevant Journals
- Psychonomic Bulletin and Review
- Journal of Mathematical Psychology
- Behavior Research Methods
- Journal of Classification
- Educational and Psychological Measurement
- Applied Psychological Measurement
- Psychometrika
- Journal of Educational Measurement
- Applied Measurement in Education
Dictionaries
Internet Sources
- Data and Story Library
Online library of datafiles and stories that illustrate the use of basic statistics methods. For teachers of statistics.