NURS B253 Collaborative Practice

Gerontological Nursing: Competencies for Care, Fourth Edition focuses on caring for the elderly by employing a holistic and inter-disciplinary approach. The Fourth Edition will feature a greater emphasis on healthy aging and continues to follow the framework of the Core Competencies of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) and the John A. Hartford Foundation Institute for Geriatric Nursing. This framework allows students to learn and develop all aspects of nursing care in a familiar and structured learning platform. New to the Fourth Edition: New chapter on disaster preparedness Expanded content on nutrition, sexuality, dementia and care giving Coverage of nutrition and substance abuse

Critical Pedagogy, Sexuality Education and Young People presents cutting-edge empirical and theoretical research on the role of critical pedagogy in transforming sexuality education. Featuring the work of scholars from around the globe, including the US, the UK, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Argentina and Finland, this unique collection of work expands the meaning of pedagogy in the field of sexuality education by augmenting young people's voices and agency, and by emphasizing a democratic and civic focus. This volume identifies and interrogates theoretical frameworks based on critical theory and critical pedagogical discourses, cross-cultural studies and critical literacy to offer new ways to conceptualize critical pedagogy in sexuality education. Many of the practical classroom applications presented will engage educators and classroom teachers in the areas of curriculum design, classroom pedagogies and institutional reform. They can also be applied to the formulation and implementation of more effective policies for sexuality education involving schools, community groups and students. The chapters in this volume interrogate texts, institutions, social relations and ideologies impacting contemporary sexuality education policies and pedagogical practices, prompting a consideration of alternative models of sexuality education for today's globalized age.

Clinical Guidelines for Advanced Practice Nursing: An Interdisciplinary Approach, Third Edition is an accessible and practical reference designed to help nurses and students with daily clinical decision making. Written in collaboration with certified nurse midwives, clinical nurse specialists, nurse practitioners, nutritionists, pharmacists, and physicians, it fosters a team approach to health care. Divided into four areas--Pediatrics, Gynecology, Obstetrics, and, Adult General Medicine--and following a lifespan approach, it utilizes the S-O-A-P (Subjective-Objective-Assessment-Plan) format. Additionally, the authors explore complex chronic disease management, health promotion across the lifespan, and professional and legal issues such as reimbursement, billing, and the legal scope of practice. The Third Edition has a keen focus on gerontology to accommodate the AGNP specialty and to better assist the student or clinician in caring for the aging population. The authors follow the across the life span approach and focus on common complete disorders. Certain chapters have been revised and new chapters have been added which include:Health Maintenance for Older Adults; Frailty; Common Gerontology Syndromes; Cancer Survivorship; Lipid Disorders; Acne (pediatrics section). Please note that the 2016 CDC Guidelines for prescribing opioids for chronic pain in the United States were not yet available at the time the authors were updating the Third Edition. See the Instructor Resources tab to read a note from the authors about their recommendations for resources around these guidelines.

This book is the first resource to give the APN the practical tools with which to communicate, assess, and treat obese patients. Designed to help APNseasily broach an uncomfortable topic, the book walks practitioners through the exam, providing tips on effective communication, understanding lifestyleconstraints, and working with the patient to improve his or her condition without shame. Emphasizing multidisciplinary approaches and evidence-basedtreatment, the book addresses prevention, provider recognition, and treatment of adult and pediatric obesity with the goal of improving overall quality oflife. This resource offers practical information on diet and exercise to foster healthy weight loss along with psychological, pharmacological, and surgicalrecommendations. Effective tips on all facets of working with obese patients, bolstered with real-life examples that provide the patient' s perspective, will help APNs understand and provide high-quality care to these vulnerable patients. Additionally, the book includes substantial information oncomorbidities, which add to the complexity of obesity treatment. Chapters address current trends and causes of obesity; communication ' dos' and ' don' ts' ;the technical aspects of obesity, including genetics and pathophysiology; treatment of addiction and eating disorders; assessment from the APN point ofview; disease management; pharmacological, surgical, and medical management; and costs and insurance coverage. Tools that can be used to enhance clinicalpractice are featured in the Appendices. KEY FEATURES: Written specifically for the advanced practice nurse Covers all facets of communication, assessment, and treatment Includes case studies and treatment plans designed specifically for nurses Highlights a multidisciplinary approach Includes effective tips, photographs, and real-life examples that will benefit both provider and patient

The first book about Guided Participation written for nurses This authoritative publication delivers an in-depth examination of Guided Participation (GP), a dynamic process of teaching and learning that helps others become competent by providing expertise through working alongside the learner. For the nurse specifically, this means educating and working alongside parents and children within an environment that supports health. Consistent with client- and family-centered practice, this fresh approach to nurse/client teaching is drawn from a broad span of disciplines, including education, social and cultural anthropology, relationship-based attachment-caregiving theory, and developmental science. Written for students and practitioners who wish to incorporate GP into their practice, and for managers, administrators, and policy makers who support its implementation, this resource demonstrates the value of GP as a new and emerging health care model that integrates care across health care settings. The text describes, step-by-step, how to practice GP and discusses support systems to maintain GP past the initial treatment. With abundant case studies, examples and research findings, chapters analyze how GP can promote health, prevent acute and chronic illness, and adjust old patterns of living and behaviors. Key Features: Includes video clips that illustrate how guided participation is applied in a variety of clinical practice settingsProvides access to self-directed online instructionLinks to online journal, case studies, additional chapters, and referencesFeatures downloadable parent checklists and teaching guidesDiscusses effective application of Guided Participation to all aspects of pediatric nursing care in a variety of practice settingsIncludes numerous case studies and examples with specific components identified to help readers learn theory and related conceptsPrint version of the book includes, free, searchable, digital access to the entire contents of the book Learn to apply guided participation by joining the case-based online course offered at University of Wisconsin-Madison