Librarian
1320 East Tenth Street
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47405
Ask a Librarian (Chat)
Ask a Librarian (Chat)
Ask a Librarian (Chat)
Introduction to the Federal Depository Library Program
Introduction to the FDLP
The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) was established by Congress to provide free, ready, and enduring public access to Federal Government information. The FDLP distributes Government information at no cost to designated depository libraries across the country. These depository libraries, in turn, provide free and local access to Government information in an impartial environment with professional assistance.
There are 32 FDLP libraries in the state of Indiana. The Herman B Wells Library is one of two FDLP libraries in Bloomington, the other being the Jerome Hall Library in the Maurer School of Law. At the Wells Library, FDLP documents are managed by the Government Information, Maps, and Microform Services (GIMMS) department.
History
Federal Departments and Agencies
Federal Depository Libraries house documents from a wide variety of departments and agencies throughout all three branches of the Federal Government, as well as documents originating from state and local governments. Example federal organizations include:
- Department of Agriculture
- National Archives and Records
- Federal Communications Commission
- Civil Rights Commission
- Department of Education
- Environmental Protection Agency
- Fine Arts Commission
- Federal Trade Comission
- Department of Health and Human Services
- Department of the Interior
- Justice Deparment
- Library of Congress
- National Science Foundation
- United States Postal Service
- Peace Corps
- Executive Office of the President
- State Department
- Smithsonian Institution
- Social Security Administration
- Congress
Services and Materials
Welcome to GIMMS
Government Information, Maps & Microform Services (GIMMS) is located on the second floor of Herman B Wells Library on the Indiana University Bloomington campus. Included in GIMMS are local, state, and federal government documents and data resources — both digital and in print. We also house the largest map collection in Indiana, as well as a variety of materials printed in microform.
GIMMS offers a variety of services, including:
- GIS Services
- Microform services
- One-on-one or group research consultations
- Course instruction sessions
- Class visits
- Custom workshops and presentations
Map Resources
Most of the maps of Indiana are discoverable in IUCAT. See How to Search for Maps for more tips of finding relevant materials. This list also includes digitized maps available online, as well as online databases of spatial data.
- Indiana Historic MapsDigitized maps of Indiana from the Herman B Wells map collection. Download available through the "contact the curator" option.
- IUPUI Historic Indiana MapsIndiana maps from IUPUI and IUB
- Indiana Spatial Data PortalThe Indiana Spatial Data Portal (ISDP) provides access to more than 30 terabytes of Indiana geospatial data. Available statewide datasets include aerial photos, topographic maps, LiDAR and elevation data, and Sanborn historic maps. In addition, the ISDP hosts several local datasets for Allen, Bartholomew, Boone, Dearborn, Gibson, Hamilton, Hancock, Hendricks, Johnson, Marion, Monroe, Morgan, Posey, Shelby and Wayne Counties.
- IndianaMAPStatewide geospatial data for Indiana
- BTAA Geoportal
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to geospatial resources, including GIS datasets, web services, and digitized historical maps.
- SimplyAnalytics
This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Indiana Water Quality AtlasOnline interactive maps and information for watershed managers and the general public; provided by the Polis Center at IUPUI
- GEOSPATIAL DATA FROM THE U.S. ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCYGeospatial environmental data provided by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- Daily Weather Maps for the U.S.Weather maps provided by the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration from 1871- present.
Microform Services
Many of our materials are available on microform, sometimes only so. Do not be afraid! GIMMS equipment views and scans microfilm, microfiche, and microopaques. Images can be scanned in PDF, TIFF, JPEG, PNG and BMP formats and saved to CD, flash drive, or any Internet file storage service. Scans can also be printed like any other document.
Contact Us!
GIMMS is located on the second floor of the Herman B. Wells Library, in the East Tower. Our hours follow the Wells Library hours. If you have further questions or would like to request our services, feel free to stop by our desk, give us a call at (812) 855-6924, or email us at libgimms@indiana.edu.
Further Reference
FDLP Academy
The FDLP Academy is a collaboration between the Government Publishing Office, Federal depository libraries, and other Federal agencies. The goal of the FDLP Academy is to advance Government information literacy and to assist Federal depository libraries in better serving their communities. The FDLP Academy offers events, conferences, and a variety of useful webinars and webcasts on numerous Government information topics. The program is a great resource for learning more about how to find and access Government information. Click the banner below to access FDLP Academy training webinars!
Electronic resources available through IU Libraries
- Historical Statistics of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
Directs users to quantitative facts and statistics on American history. Users can download existing tables, create custom tables, and use advanced searching options to find completely revised and cross-referenced information. - ICPSR
- This link opens in a new window
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) supplies the numeric raw data from a variety of sources, including survey research, censuses, and administrative records. PLEASE NOTE: User must create an account while on campus before they can access ICPSR while off campus. Please click "more" for additional details. - ProQuest Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Access to statistical content information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Includes tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, and datasets. Results are ranked by relevance. Faceted search results can then be filtered by document type, source, date published, geographic area, and more.
- International Historical Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data on the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia and Oceania covers the years 1750-2010. - SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Indiana Map
- This link opens in a new window
GIS atlas for Indiana. Over 250 layers of geographic and geologic information users can work with to create maps based on Indiana’s population, demographics, transportation, hydrology, biology, geology, and environment.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
Open U.S. Government Data
- Census.gov
- This link opens in a new window
The home of the U.S. Census Bureau data. Find census and survey data, as well as infographics, a thorough look into the workings of the Census Bureau, and links to much more. The best place to start broad Census research.
- Data.govProvides a focused look at the census and survey data found on a specific community. Includes data related to population, income, geography, and more from the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. Site replaces American FactFinder and DataFerret, both of which have been decomissioned.
- QuickFactsJust as it sounds, gives easy access to statistics and data from various censuses, surveys, and estimates across the United States.
Local Resources
STATS Indiana: Provides statewide data, derived from census data, population data, county profiles, and economic reports.
Monroe County Public Library Catalog: View the collection of the Monroe County Public Library. Of special interest is the Indiana Room.
IUCAT Search
Questions?
