Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Industry Research
- IBISWorld
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
To access Dun & Bradstreet's First Research industry reports, scroll down on the home page and select "First Research." You will be prompted to enter your IU email address. You will then be routed to the search page for the industry reports where you can search by keyword or NAICS or SIC code. - Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Euromonitor allows access to IU faculty, staff, and students only. Authorized users may utilize the information obtained from this resource for academic, non-commercial purposes only, and only during the time of official affiliation with IU. Passport is a global market research database encompassing historical and forecasted statistics, reports & interactive tools on industries, economies and consumers in 210 different countries and territories. Passport also tracks the effects of COVID-19 for 50 different countries
- Frost & Sullivan Growth Partnership Services
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international industry-specific databases including healthcare, telecom, IT, transportation, electronics, and semiconductors.
Functional Expertise
The Art of Audit by ISBN: 9789462980914Publication Date: 2016-06-15On the occasion of the retirement of Saskia J. Stuiveling as the president of the Netherlands Court of Audit, eight former heads of audit institutions took to the stage to talk candidly about their work. Topics covered included innovations in the field, the effects of the financial crisis on their profession, changes resulting from the open data movement, and the need for new skills to audit the oil industry. This book presents their discussion, offering a snapshot of the current state of the profession at its highest levels.
Audit Effectiveness by ISBN: 9781409471325Publication Date: 2013-07-26In Audit Effectiveness, Dr Kamil Omoteso examines how growing use of information technology is changing the audit profession. IT tools and techniques continue to be developed to enable the auditing process to match current IT standards in accounting and elsewhere. Auditing tools include general business and accounting programmes.
The Audit Committee Handbook by ISBN: 9780470616055Publication Date: 2010-02-18Understand the role and responsibilities of the audit committee with a general update and reality check on auditing cycle activities Identify the developments that impact audit committee practices and the most current techniques and strategies for committee meetings Develop a repertoire of effective strategies to help the board of directors discharge its fiduciary responsibility to shareholders Prepare a periodic assessment of professional development activities and an informed review of both audit processes and financial reporting processes A must-have for all audit committee members, board directors, corporate secretaries, CEOs, CFOs, and auditors involved in the accounting practices of their firms,
Internal Audit Quality by ISBN: 9781118715499Publication Date: 2014-09-08A comprehensive and authoritative guide to better practice internal auditing. Written by a global expert in audit quality, this guide is the first to provide complete coverage of the elements that comprise an effective internal audit quality assurance and improvement program. Readers will find practical solutions for monitoring and measuring internal audit performance drawn from The IIA's International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing, and complemented by advice and case studies from leading audit practitioners from five different continents.
Leading the Internal Audit Function by ISBN: 9781498730433Publication Date: 2016-04-05Leading the Internal Audit Function includes real-life examples, scenarios, and lessons learned from internal auditors and CAEs to emphasize the importance of carefully managing all aspects of the internal audit. The author summarizes her many lessons learned into ten "commandments" for both CAEs and internal auditors.
Internal Audit Practice from a to Z by ISBN: 9781498742061Publication Date: 2016-11-25This book addresses the practice of internal auditing using GAAS (Generally Accepted Auditing Standards), GAGAS (Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards) and International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing (Standards) as enunciated by the IIA.
Internal Control Audit and Compliance by ISBN: 9781118996300Publication Date: 2015-01-12With clear explanations and expert advice on implementation, this helpful guide shows auditors and accounting managers how to document and test internal controls over financial reporting with detailed sections covering each element of the framework. Each section highlights the latest changes and new points of emphasis, with explicit definitions of internal controls and how they should be assessed and tested. Coverage includes easing the transition from older guidelines, with step-by-step instructions for implementing the new changes.
A Director's Guide to Corporate Financial Reporting by ISBN: 9781606491324Publication Date: 2010-02-15This book is designed for corporate directors and senior executives who want to gain a better understanding of accounting. Corporate directors and managers are under pressure from recent changes in the law (especially The Sarbanes-Oxley Act 2002) and demands by shareholders and the public to be more informed, vigilant and involved in the governance of business organizations.
Materiality in Financial Reporting by ISBN: 9781787437364Publication Date: 2017-12-15In Materiality in Financial Reporting: An Integrative Perspective, the author adopts a practical, operational approach to show how strategy, processes, and communication can be used to devise a consistent corporate governance system of materiality.
Transparency in financial reporting a concise comparison of IFRS and US GAAP by Call Number: https://iu.skillport.com/skillportfe/main.action?assetid=31865ISBN: 9781906659134Publication Date: 2009
- Journal of Financial ReportingBrowse recent issues or search by keyword across all volumes and issues.
A Guide to Forensic Accounting Investigation by ISBN: 9780470599075Publication Date: 2011-05-03The auditing profession has evolved significantly from its earliest roots of protecting the pharaoh's riches. The catastrophic business failures have caused some to rethink the value of the audit. Due to lack of alternatives, the marketplace has demanded that auditors take responsibility for fraud detection and this demand has been buoyed by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, the new PCAOB Risk Based Auditing and new Internal Controls standards, all requiring increased performance on the part of the auditor to find material financial statement fraud. The book explores exactly what assurance auditors should be expected to provide and suggests alternatives to providing the capital markets more of what they are requiring- greater assurances that the financial statements they rely upon for investment decisions are free of material error, including fraud. The book shows how audit firms need to retool to provide access to a new breed of auditor- the forensic specialist.
Executive Roadmap to Fraud Prevention and Internal Control by ISBN: 9781118004586Publication Date: 2012-04-10Covers best practices for establishing a unit to protect the financial integrity of a business; theories and models on how and why fraud occurs in an organization; importance of strong internal controls; major compliance and corporate governance initiatives and milestones since 1985; and more. Complete coverage includes implementation guidance for a robust fraud prevention and compliance program, including sample policies, best practice examples, and a 14-point management antifraud program.
- Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)
- This link opens in a new window
Resource containing how-to information on small business planning, bookkeeping, financing, human resource management, marketing, regional tax laws, and starting a home-based business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, and articles. - Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- This link opens in a new window
Tool for business students and researchers, providing insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Contains full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, case studies and company profiles.
Entrepreneur's Guide to Financial Statements by ISBN: 9781440829369Publication Date: 2014-01-22Like a detailed trail map through the jungle of finance, this book guides readers past small-business financial pitfalls, showing readers how to fine-tune operations and enhance profitability.
The Lean Entrepreneur by ISBN: 9781119094999Publication Date: 2016-02-19The follow-up to the New York Times bestseller, this great guide combines the concepts of customer insight, rapid experimentation, and actionable data from the Lean Startup methodology to allow individuals, teams, or even entire companies to solve problems, create value, and ramp up their vision quickly and efficiently.
The Compliance Revolution by ISBN: 9781119020615Publication Date: 2015-07-02Explains how key changes in compliance affect underlying principles, practices, roles, expectations and values. This valuable resource for global practitioners assists in navigating compliance requirements and implementing solid protection for a sound organization. Author David Jackman presents a coherent model for understanding and applying key developments in regulation and compliance. While the model is based on financial services, it can be applied to any sector and industry
Financial Regulation and Compliance by ISBN: 9781118972229Publication Date: 2015-07-06Provides detailed, step-by-step guidance for the compliance professional seeking to manage overlapping and new regulatory responsibilities. Written by David Kotz, former Inspector General of the SEC with additional guidance provided by leading experts, this book is a one-stop resource for navigating the numerous regulations that have been enacted in response to the financial crisis. You'll learn how best to defend your organization from SEC, CFTC, FINRA, and NFA Enforcement actions, how to prepare for SEC, FINRA, and NFA regulatory examinations, how to manage the increasing volume of whistleblower complaints, how to efficiently and effectively investigate these complaints, and more.
Institutions and Accounting Practices after the Financial Crisis by ISBN: 9781315468648Publication Date: 2019-02-06The financial crisis of 2008 had a severe impact on the development of equity markets, corporate financial stability, and corporate governance, and a multi-step approach is needed to fully appreciate the causes and effects of this event. This book engages the separate strands of literature to advance a more holistic understanding of whether and how the national institutional environments in selected countries around the world has been changed after the crisis.
More Accounting Changes by ISBN: 9781786356291Publication Date: 2016-09-12Covers developments in financial reporting (including those relating to international convergence of accounting standards); global developments regarding the use of International Financial Reporting Standards; current efforts at disclosure modernization and simplification by the SEC and FASB; a discussion of whether the U.S. is falling behind in corporate reporting ; the rise of 'Integrated Reporting'; the work of the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (chaired by Michael Bloomberg); and recent regulatory developments emanating from the financial crisis and their interrelationship with financial reporting.
An Executive Guide to IFRS by ISBN: 9781119973850Publication Date: 2011-08-02Peter Walton provides a concise and accessible guide to the principal features of IFRS, explains why they are useful, looks at their impact on businesses, and provides some of the context to help define their global role. The book is divided into three sections. Part one deals with the convergence process and its costs and benefits, and gives background on the story so far. Part two contains the main technical content of the book and provides an analysis of the main issues under IFRS reporting, including: * The content of financial statements * Investments in other companies * Income Statement and Balance Sheet items * IFRS for SMEs * A comparison with US GAAP Part three covers the creation of the IFRS, provides details of the IASB's standard-setting process, and describes how people outside the IASB can participate in the process and lobby effectively.
Managing the Transition to IFRS-Based Financial Reporting by ISBN: 9781118644126Publication Date: 2014-05-16Managing the Transition to IFRS-Based Financial Reporting is the only book on the market that focuses on both the accounting and non-accounting implications of IFRS transition. This complete approach will guide you from the history and conceptual basis of IFRS through each stage of the transition process, ensuring expert change management and fluid communication from start to finish. Takes a holistic approach, covering non-accounting implications like educating and communicating IFRS requirements.- Internal Control Audit and Compliance by ISBN: 9781118996300Publication Date: 2015-01-12With clear explanations and expert advice on implementation, this helpful guide shows auditors and accounting managers how to document and test internal controls over financial reporting with detailed sections covering each element of the framework. Each section highlights the latest changes and new points of emphasis, with explicit definitions of internal controls and how they should be assessed and tested. Coverage includes easing the transition from older guidelines, with step-by-step instructions for implementing the new changes.
- Internal Audit Practice from a to Z by ISBN: 9781498742061Publication Date: 2016-11-25This book addresses the practice of internal auditing using GAAS (Generally Accepted Auditing Standards), GAGAS (Generally Accepted Government Auditing Standards) and International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing (Standards) as enunciated by the IIA.
- Internal Audit Quality by ISBN: 9781118715499Publication Date: 2014-09-08A comprehensive and authoritative guide to better practice internal auditing. Written by a global expert in audit quality, this guide is the first to provide complete coverage of the elements that comprise an effective internal audit quality assurance and improvement program. Readers will find practical solutions for monitoring and measuring internal audit performance drawn from The IIA's International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing, and complemented by advice and case studies from leading audit practitioners from five different continents.
Human Capital Analytics by ISBN: 9781118506998Publication Date: 2012-10-10Provides an in-depth look at the science of human capital analytics, giving practical examples from case studies of companies applying analytics to their people decisions and providing a framework for using predictive analytics to optimize human capital investments. Offers practical examples from case studies of companies applying analytics to their people decisions An in-depth discussion of tools needed to do the work, particularly focusing on multivariate analysis.
Human Capital Systems, Analytics, and Data Mining by ISBN: 9781498764780Publication Date: 2018-08-22The main purpose of this book is to provide a rich tool set of methods and tutorials for Human Capital Management Systems (HCMS) database modeling, analytics, interactive dashboards, and data mining that is independent of any human capital software vendor offerings and is equally usable and portable among both commercial and internally developed HCMS.
Managing Supply Chain Risk by ISBN: 9781498707107Publication Date: 2015-06-24Discusses how managing supply chain risk can be integrated into Enterprise Risk Management (ERM) applications, focusing on the Committee of Sponsoring Organizations (COSO), Failure Mode Effects and Analysis (FMEA), and International Organization of Standards (ISO) 31000:2009 frameworks. The book focuses on the structure, implementation, and maintenance of a formal system for managing risks in the supply chain.
Supply Chain Risk by ISBN: 9780749471118Publication Date: 2014-04-03Assesses the various sources of external threat to the supply chain and how multinational corporations should be dealing with them at a strategic level. In this book John Manners-Bell clearly shows how to implement risk strategies that minimize, even completely eliminate, supply chain risk, and outlines how to build resilient supply chains.
Supply Chain Risk Management, Second Edition by ISBN: 9781631570582Publication Date: 2015-12-01The supply chain management field is one of the fastest growing fields in our economy, given the heavy growth in international trade as a means to access outsourced production opportunities to lower cost sand the growth in information technology to coordinate supply chains. However, this opportunity to lower costs entails significant risks, such as tsunamis, earthquakes, political unrest, and economic turbulence.This book discusses risks in supply chain management, followed by graphic and quantitative tools (risk matrices, selection methods, risk simulation modelling, linear programming, and business scorecard analysis) to help manage these risks.
- Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive and authoritative tax and accounting research. Select the “Search” tab and ensure that “All Practice Areas” is selected on the left under the heading “Practice Area.” Next, select which sources you would like to search. Finally, enter the keyword “advisor” to capture articles related to advisor fees, advisory opinion and more.
- IEEE Xplore
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for cutting-edge technological innovations from the electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. Provides access to content from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) as well as the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET).
- Journal of AccountancySearch this publication to find articles concerning the applications of technology in accounting.
- Distributed Ledger Technology and BlockchainPublished by the World Bank. This note on distributed ledger technology (DLT) and blockchains is part of a series of short notes that explore new trends and developments in Fintech and analyze their potential relevance for WBG activities. Forthcoming notes in this series will cover marketplace lending, ‘InsureTech’, and other topics. This note outlines the mechanisms, origins, and key characteristics of DLT; the difference between ‘public’ and ‘private’ DLT; the technology’s main advantages, challenges, and risks; relevant examples of DLT applications (with a focus on financial sector applications); and a brief overview of activities by governments, multilateral organization, and other stakeholders in this space.
Information Systems Management in the Big Data Era by ISBN: 9783319135038Publication Date: 2015-01-12This timely text/reference explores the business and technical issues involved in the management of information systems in the era of big data and beyond. Topics and features: presents review questions and discussion topics in each chapter for classroom group work and individual research assignments; discusses the potential use of a variety of big data tools and techniques in a business environment, explaining how these can fit within an information systems strategy; reviews existing theories and practices in information systems, and explores their continued relevance in the era of big data; describes the key technologies involved in information systems in general and big data in particular, placing these technologies in an historic context; suggests areas for further research in this fast moving domain; equips readers with an understanding of the important aspects of a data scientist's job; provides hands-on experience to further assist in the understanding of the technologies involved.
FinTech by ISBN: 9781138294790Publication Date: 2018-04-12Everything that we know about the world of finance is changing before us. Innovation is happening constantly, despite the protests of the traditional financial industry. With all the new technology that we have today, it is almost mind-blowing to think about the kind of technology that we will have in another ten years or so. The change is going to keep coming, the only thing we can do is get on board with it. This book introduces the basics of FinTech and equips readers with the knowledge to get on the cutting edge of age we live in today.
- Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
- This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive and authoritative tax and accounting research.
Making Tax Sense by ISBN: 9781498587174Publication Date: 2019-03-15The book explores a variety of tax issues -- among them savings, small businesses, owner-occupied houses, and corporations -- and develops seven groups of recommended changes.
Working for Yourself by ISBN: 9781413325812Publication Date: 2018-12-28An all-in-one legal and tax resource for independent contractor and gig workers.
Getting Started in Tax Consulting by ISBN: 9780471384540Publication Date: 2001-04-18An authoritative guide to getting started in tax consulting .
Taxation by ISBN: 0199609225Publication Date: 2018-09-26Provides a collective treatment of philosophical issues relating to tax. A serious philosophical work on the tax system spanning across adjacent disciplines to philosophy, including political science, economics, public policy, and law.
Optimal Redistributive Taxation by ISBN: 9780198753414Publication Date: 2016-03-14Written primarily for graduate students and researchers, this volume is intended as a textbook and research monograph, connecting optimal tax theory to tax policy. It comments on some policy recommendations of the Mirrlees Review, and builds on the authors work on public economics, optimal tax theory, behavioural public economics, and income inequality. The book explains in depth the Mirrlees model and presents various extensions of it.
Land Value Taxation by ISBN: 9780754614906Publication Date: 2005-10-28McCluskey and Franzsen provide a clear and detailed synthesis of existing Land Value Taxation systems and address the perceived advantages and disadvantages of such systems.
- Emerald eJournal Premier Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to more than 290 journals and 2,000 books published by Emerald (formerly MCB University Press.)
Mergers and Acquisitions in Practice by ISBN: 9781138787780Publication Date: 2016-12-02The growth in mergers and acquisitions (M&A) activity around the world masks a high rate of failure. M&A can provide companies with many benefits, but in the optimism and excitement of the deal many of the challenges are often overlooked. This comprehensive collection, bringing together an international team of contributors, moves beyond the theory to focus on the practical elements of mergers and acquisitions.
Merger Masters by Call Number: https://proxyiub.uits.iu.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=1910123&site=ehost-live&scope=siteISBN: 9780231190428Publication Date: 2018-11-06Merger Masters presents revealing profiles of monumentally successful merger investors based on exclusive interviews with some of the greatest minds to practice the art of arbitrage. Michael Price, John Paulson, Paul Singer, and others offer practical perspectives on how their backgrounds in the risk-conscious world of merger arbitrage helped them make their biggest deals.
The Real Options Solution by ISBN: 9780471209980Publication Date: 2002-02-14The Real Options Solution offers comprehensive coverage of the real options approach with a five-step framework and examples for applying the author′s unique total value model based on real options analysis. This approach will help executives and investors minimize the risk of committing to new ventures and delivers a framework flexible enough to apply to business initiatives in all types of companies.
The Science of Risk Analysis by ISBN: 9780367139193Publication Date: 2019-07-22This book provides a comprehensive demonstration of risk analysis as a distinct science covering risk understanding, assessment, perception, communication, management, governance and policy. It presents and discusses the key pillars of this science, and provides guidance on how to conduct high-quality risk analysis.
Risk Management in Small and Medium Enterprises by ISBN: 9780367226794Publication Date: 2019-03-19This book offers a novel method of assessing and managing risks in SMEs, by adopting a multidisciplinary approach. .
Mastering Catastrophic Risk by ISBN: 9780190499402Publication Date: 2018-06-01Mastering Catastrophic Risk provides real-world practical insights into how large companies are responding to this new reality and develops a framework for smarter thinking about events that can damage a business.
Technology-Focused Acquisitions by ISBN: 9783110559170Publication Date: 2017-07-24The author introduces the novel distinction between performance- and functionality-focused acquisitions. He characterizes this distinction based on a theoretical analysis, a qualitative study, and turns to a sample of acquisitions in the field of artificial intelligence for the quantitative study.
