Home
Center for Rural Engagement Research Guide
The Center for Rural Engagement connects the broad resources of IU Bloomington and its region through collaborative initiatives. The goal of the center is to improve the lives and opportunities of Hoosiers by working with partners to discover and deploy evidence-based, data-informed and scalable solutions to common challenges facing rural communities.
This research guide is a comprehensive compilation of resources, internal and external, designed to aid those involved in the work of the Center for Rural Engagement. It incorporates scholarly resources, government devices, as well as potential professional development opportunities. This guide is created and maintained by Indiana University Libraries in collaboration with the Center for Rural Engagement.
Comprehensive List of Research Journals
Comprehensive List of Research Journals
- Agriculture & Human ValuesJournal of the Agriculture, Food, and Human Values Society. The Journal, like the Society, is dedicated to an open and free discussion of the values that shape and the structures that underlie current and alternative visions of food and agricultural systems.
- American Journal of Community PsychologyThe American Journal of Community Psychology publishes research, theory, and descriptions of innovative interventions on a wide range of topics in community psychology. It is the official publication of the Society for Community Research and Action: The Division of Community Psychology of the American Psychological Association.
- American Journal of SociologyA leading voice for analysis and research in the social sciences. The journal presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods.
- American Sociological ReviewOfficial journal of the American Sociological Society
- Community Development JournalSince 1966 the leading international journal in its field, covering a wide range of topics, reviewing significant developments and providing a forum for cutting-edge debates about theory and practice.
- Gastronomica: Journal of Critical Food StudiesPeer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food.
- Journal of agriculture, food systems, and community developmentThe Journal of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Community Development (JAFSCD) is an online, international, peer-reviewed publication focused on the practice and applied research interests of agriculture and food systems development professionals. JAFSCD emphasizes best practices and tools related to the planning, community economic development, and ecological protection of local and regional agriculture and food systems, and works to bridge the interests of practitioners and academics. Articles are published online as they are approved, but are gathered into quarterly issues for indexing purposes. JAFSCD is an online-only journal; subscribers access the content online and may download or print any articles.
- Journal of Research in Rural EducationProvides information about the sociological, historical, and economic context of rural education, rural education and community development, preservice and inservice teacher education and educational leadership
- Journal of Rural HealthThe Journal of Rural Health, a quarterly journal published by the NRHA (National Rural Health Association), offers a variety of original research relevant and important to rural health. Some examples include evaluations, case studies, and analyses related to health status and behavior, as well as to health work force, policy and access issues.
- Journal of Rural StudiesThe Journal of Rural Studies publishes cutting-edge research that advances understanding and analysis of contemporary rural societies, economies, cultures and lifestyles; the definition and representation of rurality; the formulation, implementation and contestation of rural policy; and human interactions with the rural environment.
- Journal of the American Planning AssociationFor more than 70 years, the quarterly Journal of the American Planning Association ( JAPA ) has published research, commentaries, and book reviews useful to practicing planners, policymakers, scholars, students, and citizens of urban, suburban, and rural areas.
- Population and Development ReviewEssential reading to keep abreast of population studies, the relationships between population and social, economic, and environmental change, and related thinking on public policy.
- Rural SociologyExplores sociological and interdisciplinary approaches to emerging social issues and new approaches to recurring social issues affecting rural people and places.
- Social ForcesPublished in partnership with the Department of Sociology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Social Forces is recognized as a global leader among social research journals. The journal emphasizes cutting-edge sociological inquiry and explores realms the discipline shares with psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics.
- Sociological ForumJournal is peer reviewed and committed to publishing high quality research on substantive issues of fundamental importance to the study of society. The journal’s mission is broad in scope, encompassing empirical works (both quantitative and qualitative), as well as works that develop theories, concepts or methodological strategies.
Federal Government Resources
Federal Government Resources
- USDA Rural DevelopmentThe USDA Rural Development office publishes a wide variety of publications. Included on this page are reports, fact sheets, strategic plans, and environmental developments. Therse publications are in several formats, including HTML, PDF, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word and text.
- Health Resources and Services AdministrationHere HRSA defines rural populations.
- Rural Rental AssistanceRural Rental Assistance is used to reduce the rent paid by low-income families who live in eligible Rural Rental Housing (RRH) and Farm Labor Housing (FLH) projects financed by the Rural Housing Service. To receive assistance, monthly rent payments must exceed 30 percent of a household's adjusted monthly income.
- REAPThe Rural Energy for America Program (REAP) provides financial assistance to agricultural producers and rural small businesses in America to purchase, install, and construct renewable energy systems, make energy efficiency improvements to non-residential buildings and facilities, use renewable technologies that reduce energy consumption, and participate in energy audits and renewable energy development assistance.
- Rural Business Cooperative ServiceUSDA’s Rural Business-Cooperative Service offers programs to support business development and job training opportunities for rural residents.
Census Data Tools
Print (and microfilm) materials available at IU Libraries
Census materials are located in Wells Library, on the 2nd Floor of East Tower, within Government Information, Maps, and Microform Services.
Decennial Census: The data collected across the United States population every 10 years. The information collected from the 2010 Decennial Census is also available online. IU's collection includes the microfilm editions of the U.S. Decennial Census Publications 1790-1970.
The Economic Census is taken every 5 years and measures American business and economy. Please note that not every industry is included in this census. The U.S. Census Bureau gives a thorough overview of these industries.
Census reference books located in Wells Library:
Electronic resources available through IU Libraries
- Historical Statistics of the United States
This link opens in a new window
Directs users to quantitative facts and statistics on American history. Users can download existing tables, create custom tables, and use advanced searching options to find completely revised and cross-referenced information. - ICPSR
- This link opens in a new window
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) supplies the numeric raw data from a variety of sources, including survey research, censuses, and administrative records. PLEASE NOTE: User must create an account while on campus before they can access ICPSR while off campus. Please click "more" for additional details. - ProQuest Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Access to statistical content information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Includes tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, and datasets. Results are ranked by relevance. Faceted search results can then be filtered by document type, source, date published, geographic area, and more.
- International Historical Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data on the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia and Oceania covers the years 1750-2010. - SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
- Indiana Map
This link opens in a new window
GIS atlas for Indiana. Over 250 layers of geographic and geologic information users can work with to create maps based on Indiana’s population, demographics, transportation, hydrology, biology, geology, and environment.
- Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.
Open U.S. Government Data Tools
- Census.gov
- This link opens in a new window
The home of the U.S. Census Bureau data. Find census and survey data, as well as infographics, a thorough look into the workings of the Census Bureau, and links to much more. The best place to start broad Census research.
- Data.govProvides a focused look at the census and survey data found on a specific community. Includes data related to population, income, geography, and more from the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. Site replaces American FactFinder and DataFerret, both of which have been decomissioned.
- QuickFactsJust as it sounds, gives easy access to statistics and data from various censuses, surveys, and estimates across the United States.
State Government Resources
State Government Resources
- Indiana Rural Summit 2013Attendees heard from Indiana’s rural voices on best and innovative practices as well as speakers which included: Indiana Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann, Caught in the Middle author Richard Longworth, and Jack Hess of the Institute for Coalition Building.
- Indiana Rural Development CouncilAnnual Reports
- Indiana Office of Community and Rural AffairsThe Indiana Office of Community and Rural Affairs works with Indiana communities to build relevant and economically thriving places where people want to live, work and grow.
- Indiana State Data CenterThe Indiana State Data Center makes the Census as well as other federal and state statistics on such topics as demographics and economics available through a statewide network of affiliates located in state agencies, universities, libraries, local planning agencies, small business development centers, and non-profit organizations.
Entrepreneurship
About Entrepreneurship:
- Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
- This link opens in a new window
Tool for business students and researchers, providing insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Contains full text for business journals, magazines and reference books, case studies and company profiles. - IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
For Entrepreneurs:
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
- IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Please note: Mintel allows access for IUB faculty, staff, and students only. Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. Note: Users must create a personal profile in order to download content from Mintel. Please see more below for additional instructions.
- PrivCo
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: INDIVIDUAL REGISTRATION WITH AN OFFICIAL INDIANA UNIVERSITY EMAIL ACCOUNT IS REQUIRED TO ACCESS THIS RESOURCE. PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
- Winmo
- This link opens in a new window
Provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on advertisers and advertising agencies. - Reference Solutions
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed business and consumer data on businesses in both the U.S. and Canada. Includes directory information, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
Education
Education Resources
- Civil Rights Data CollectionSchool & district enrollment, grades offered, number of students and type of school by student race, ethnicity, sex, and disability.
- Consolidated State Performance ReportsAnnual state performance reports with data on English learner programs.
- National Household Education Surveys ProgramEarly child education, school readiness, family involvement in education, and before- and after-school activities.
- State Education ReformsAssessments, standards, accountability, readiness, charter schools, and school choice by state.
- Educational Administration Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic research database covering areas related to educational administration; includes educational leadership, educational management and educational research. - Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- This link opens in a new window
Web version of EDUCATION INDEX with abstracts and full text. Covers 427 core international education periodicals. Full text from 1993 for 133 titles. - Education Research Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Includes full text for books, monographs and education-related conference papers. - Education Week
- This link opens in a new window
Education Week is a collocation of news materials on education in the United States, including articles from Education week and Teacher magazine AP newswire stories, blogs, white papers, etc. (OCLC) - ERIC (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Covers over 1085 periodicals and nearly a half a million documents. Fulltext documents since 1993. - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology, and interdisciplinary research in social sciences.
- National Center for Education Statistics"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
Public Health
Research in Public Health Resources
- PubMed
- This link opens in a new window
Free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature.
- Hospitality and Tourism Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for information covering all areas of hospitality and tourism. Includes periodicals, company & country reports, and books. - Health and Wellness (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer health information on diseases and health conditions, alternative medicine, drugs and other health-related resources. - Global Health
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health is a bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health research and practice. The resource covers literature on developing countries, sociological aspects, and a wide range of biomedical topics, with an international reach. - Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
- This link opens in a new window
Index to health topics in medical journals, consumer health magazines and general interest periodicals, with full text from many titles. - APA PsycArticles
- This link opens in a new window
Online database containing more than 27,500 searchable full-text articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations from 1988+.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Information on health-related issues including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. - MEDLINE (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
The OVID interface to Medline, the primary source of world-wide literature on biomedicine and health care. - Leisure Tourism Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Database of full text records, book chapters, news, bibliographic information and abstracts for all aspects of leisure and tourism. - AgeLine
- This link opens in a new window
An online database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, dissertations, and videos.
Housing, Transportation & Community Development
Housing, Transportation & Community Development Resources
- Geographic Guide (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)Find labor statistics by region.
- County Business Patterns (CBC) (Census)"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. "
- Current Employment Statistics (CES)"[P]roduces detailed industry estimates of employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls. CES State and Metro Area produces data for all 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and about 450 metropolitan areas and divisions."
- Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau)"HMDA data are the most comprehensive source of publicly available information on the U.S. mortgage market."
- Indiana Geological & Water SurveyThe Indiana Geological and Water Survey (IGWS) has served the people of Indiana since 1837. Established in Indiana Statute in 1993 as an institution of Indiana University, and under the direction of the Office of the Vice Provost for Research, the IGWS is committed to providing unbiased and reliable earth science information through directed research, service, and education.
- Local Area Unemployment Statistics (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)"[M]onthly and annual employment, unemployment, and labor force data for Census regions and divisions, States, counties, metropolitan areas, and many cities, by place of residence."
- Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (Census)"[P]roduces new, cost effective, public-use information combining federal, state and Census Bureau data on employers and employees."
- Occupational Employment Statistics (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)"[E]mployment and wage estimates annually for nearly 800 occupations."
- Population and Housing Unit Estimates (Census)"[E}stimates of the population for the United States, states, metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas, counties, cities, towns, as well as for Puerto Rico and its municipios."
- Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)A "quarterly count of employment and wages reported by employers covering more than 95 percent of U.S. jobs, available at the county, MSA, state and national levels by industry."
- Regional Economic Accounts (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)"The regional economic accounts tell us about the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth. The estimates of gross domestic product by state and state and local area personal income, and the accompanying detail, provide a consistent framework for analyzing and comparing individual state and local area economies."
- Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates (SAIPE) Program (Census)"[S]ingle-year estimates of income and poverty for all U.S. states and counties as well as estimates of school-age children in poverty for all 13,000+ school districts."
- State of the Cities Data Systems (SOCDS) (U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development)"[D]ata for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs."
- STATS INDIANAAn information service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at IU's Kelley School of Business.
- Trade Statistics (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)A "variety of data series and reports for both public and government use."
- Census of Agriculture (U.S. Dept of Agriculture)A "complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them."
Useful Databases
- Social Services Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. Abstracts and indexes serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
- Digital Library of the Commons
- This link opens in a new window
A gateway to the international literature on the commons, common-pool resources and common property. - Criminal Justice Database
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Includes U.S. and international scholarly journals, and correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
- This link opens in a new window
Online tables and charts of basic statistics about the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.
- Agricola
- This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is a database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). It contains over 6 million records encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied discipline.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science Database
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources related to environmental science, engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
- Green Planet: Environment and Sustainability Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Nature and environmental videos from around the world meant to promote environmental education through film. - Government Finance Statistics Manuals and Guides
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries.
Rural Sociology
Books pertaining to Rural Sociology
Databases
- International Bibliography of the Social SciencesIncludes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
- Alternative Press Index Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index Archive offers both international and interdisciplinary coverage of a variety of alternative sources, indexing information on topics of cultural, economic, political and social change.
- Family Studies AbstractsBibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts to journal articles and citations to book reviews in the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers.
Food Systems and Access
Food Systems and Access
- Indiana Foodways GIS Project
- Supported by an OVPR Collaborative Research Grant, this project includes maps and spatial data related to food production and access in Indiana.
- Dr. Dan Knudsen in the Geography Department is currently working on a research project addressing food access for SNAP beneficiaries in rural Indiana.
- Dr. James Farmer also works on food systems and access
- SNAP recipients by Congressional district from USDA
- USDA reports on food security
- Feeding America reports and maps on food security
Mapping Resources
Mapping Resources
-
CARTOEasy to use. Allows for time-animated maps
-
ESRI StoryMapsGreat for narrative mapping
-
MapboxMapbox Studio is great for creating custom basemaps
-
StoryMap JSAnother narrative mapping tool
-
Google My MapsVery easy to use... for when you need to drop some points on a map.
Relevant IU Libraries Books in Print
Relevant IU Libraries Books in Print
- American nations: a history of the eleven rival regional cultures of North AmericaThe author describes eleven rival regional "nations" in the United States (Yankeedom, New Netherland, the Midlands, Tidewater, Greater Appalachia, the Deep South, New France, El Norte, the Left Coast, the Far West, and First Nation), and how these deep roots continue to influence our politics today.
- Challenges for rural America in the twenty-first centurySponsored by the Rural Sociological Society
- Communities of work: rural restructuring in local and global contextsGlobal and comparative study series
- Economic restructuring and family well-being in rural AmericaA compilation of policy-relevant research by a multidisciplinary group of scholars on the state of families in rural America in the twenty-first century. Examines the impact of economic restructuring on rural Americans and provides policy recommendations for addressing the challenges they face.
- Hollowing out the middle: the rural brain drain and what it means for AmericaDiscusses the hollowing out of small-town America, a phenomena in which young people graduate from high school and leave their small hometowns, many never to live there again, and discusses why it is important to the country to keep rural heartland towns growing and thriving.
- Investing in people : the human capital needs of rural AmericaRural studies series of the Rural Sociological Society
- Rural America in a Globalizing World: Problems and Prospects for the 2010s"This fourth Rural Sociological Society decennial volume provides advanced policy scholarship on rural North America during the 2010's, closely reflecting upon the increasingly global nature of social, cultural, and economic forces and the impact of neoliberal ideology upon policy, politics, and power in rural areas. The chapters in this volume represent the expertise of an influential group of scholars in rural sociology and related social sciences. Its five sections address the changing structure of North American agriculture, natural resources and the environment, demographics, diversity, and quality of life in rural communities. "-- Provided by publisher.
- Rural communities : legacy and changeCommunities in rural America are a complex mixture of peoples and cultures, ranging from miners who have been laid off in West Virginia, to Laotian immigrants relocating in Kansas to work at a beef processing plant, to entrepreneurs drawing up plans for a world-class ski resort in California's Sierra Nevada. Rural Communities: Legacy and Change uses its unique Community Capitals framework to examine how America's diverse rural communities use their various capitals-natural, cultural, human, social, political, financial, and built-to address the modern challenges that face them. Each chapter opens with a case study of a community facing a particular challenge, and is followed by a comprehensive discussion of sociological concepts to be applied to understanding the case. This narrative, topical approach makes the book accessible and engaging for undergraduate students, while its integrative approach provides them with a framework for understanding rural society based on the concepts and explanations of social science This fifth edition is updated throughout with 2013 census data and features new and expanded coverage of health and health care, food systems and alternatives, the effects of neoliberalism and globalization on rural communities, as well as an expanded resource and activity section at the end of each chapter.
- Rural Education for the Twenty-First Century: Identity, Place, and Community in a Globalizing WorldA collection of essays examining the various social, cultural, and economic intersections of rural place and global space, as viewed through the lens of education. Explores practices that offer both problems and possibilities for the future of rural schools and communities, in the United States and abroad.
- Rural people and communities in the 21st century: resilience and transformationRural people and communities continue to play important social, economic and environmental roles at a time in which societies are rapidly urbanizing, and the identities of local places are increasingly subsumed by flows of people, information and economic activity across global spaces. However, while the organization of rural life has been fundamentally transformed by institutional and social changes that have occurred since the mid-twentieth century, rural people and communities have proved resilient in the face of these transformations. This book examines the causes and consequences of major social and economic changes affecting rural communities and populations during the first decades of the twenty-first century, and explores policies developed to ameliorate problems or enhance opportunities. Primarily focused on the U.S. context, while also providing international comparative discussion, the book is organized into five sections each of which explores both socio-demographic and political economic aspects of rural transformation. It features an accessible and up-to-date blend of theory and empirical analysis, with each chapter's discussion grounded in real-life situations through the use of empirical case-study materials. Rural People and Communities in the 21st Century is intended for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in rural sociology, community sociology, rural and/or population geography, community development, and population studies.
Open Access
Open Access Publishing
Open access publishing supports rural communities because it enables faculty, students, and scholarly publishers to share important research with the public at no cost to the reader. The IU Libraries' Scholarly Communication Department is responsible for managing open access publishing for the Libraries. This includes: Open educational resources like course materials and textbooks, open data, open journal articles, and open monographs. Learn more about open scholarship at IU Bloomington by visiting https://openscholarship.indiana.edu/
Visit the IU institutional repository: https://scholarworks.iu.edu/
Visit our open access journals: https://scholarworks.iu.edu/journals/
- Open Access Fact SheetSPARC fact sheet on open access. Learn more about SPARC here: https://sparcopen.org/open-access/
- Open Access at IUBlog post describing Indiana University's open access policy
What is Open Access?
The Budapest Open Access Initiative (BOAI) defines open access as:
By "open access"...we mean free availability on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of...articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself. The only constraint on reproduction and distribution, and the only role for copyright in this domain, should be to give authors control over the integrity of their work and the right to be properly acknowledged and cited.
Open Access Overview by Peter Suber
Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Knowledge in the Sciences and Humanities
Box inspired by Liberty McCoy @ University of La Verne
Resources for Finding Free, Open Scholarly Content
- Directory of Open Access JournalsVetted openly available scholarly journals
- Project Gutenberg
- This link opens in a new window
Free, full text, downloadable ebooks for books out of copyright in the U.S. Project. Project Gutenberg has the goal of making information, books, and other materials available to the public in forms that are easy to read, use, quote, and search. Includes access to electronic text listings, recent releases, newsletters, articles, and other archives.
- HathiTrust Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Shared digital library created and designed by partnership of major research libraries.
Finding Open Educational Resources
Starting Points for All Disciplines
- ECampusOntario Open Textbook Library - collection of 180 open textbooks and resources, many of which have been reviewed and vetted by educators
- Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota) - a large collection of openly-licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks in all subject areas
- OpenStax (Rice University) - peer-reviewed open textbooks in science, math, business, and the social sciences
- Open SUNY Textbooks (SUNY system) -open textbooks created by SUNY faculty in a variety of subject areas
- LibreTexts (UC Davis) - open textbooks built by faculty, students, and outside experts
- Directory of Open Access Books - aggregator of open access books in a wide range of subject areas
- HathiTrust Digital Library (use IU login as member institution) - digital access to thousands of titles held in academic libraries
Quick Search
Want to search across several repositories at once? SUNY's OASIS search helps instructors quickly find resources by aggregating over 100 sources.
Science and Engineering
- Biointeractive (Howard Hughes Medical Institute): resources (activities, case students, media) that focus on core concepts and processes in biology, with interdisciplinary resources that connect to environmental science, chemistry, and math and statistics.
- ChemCollective (Carnegie Mellon): virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
- Science Forward (Macaulay Honors College): videos, activities, data sets, and lessons that focus on building critical thinking across the scientific disciplines.
- OpenCourseware (TU Delft): courseware in Engineering and Applied Sciences that include lectures, exercises, readings, and other materials.
- EngineerTech: simulations on various topics in engineering technology.
- PhET Simulations: Physics, Physical science, Geology, Chemistry resources
Business and Economics
- LearningEdge Cases (MIT): case studies touching on areas such as strategy, sustainability, operations management and more.
Social Sciences and Humanities
- NOBA Psychology: modules that can be combined and customized to fit the scope and sequence of many psychology courses. Test banks, powerpoints, and instructor manuals available for many modules.
- COERLL (Centre for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning) (UTexas): textbooks, videos, lessons for teaching Chinese, Arabic, French, Spanish and other languages.
- Open Geography Education: geography resources
Math
- Check out the IU Libraries Open Mathematics Guide!
List adapted from the University of Guelph Library
Box inspired by Shatford Library @ Pasadena City College