Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLAV P223 Introduction to Polish Culture

This is a quick guide to library resources created for students of the class "Introduction to Polish Culture."

Bruno Schulz (1892-1942)

Fryderyk Chopin (1810-1849)

Czeslaw Milosz (1911-2004)

Tadeusz Kosciuszko (1746-1817)

Krzysztof Baczynski (1921-1944)

Adam Mickiewicz (1798-1855)

Art of Polish animation

Polish avant-garde cinema

Polish tangos

Visions of avant-garde film

Wislawa Szymborska (1923-2012)

The Warsaw Uprising (1944)

Olga Tokarczuk (1962- )

Introduction to the Library

"Resources A-Z": A complete list of the library's electronic resources.
 
Subject Collections:
 
Services:  
Recommend books and films for purchase
Borrowing books for you from other libraries
Delivering electronically to you print journal articles and book chapters
 
Librarian for Slavic and East European Studies
 Wookjin Cheun (Wells E560, wcheun@indiana.edu, 812-855-9413) 

How to Find Books in the Library?

 Use IUCAT or OneSearch@IU

Use "Advanced Search" mode.

Use "Subject Headings" when searching. Useful "Subject Headings" are:
Personal names (Chopin, Frederic; Mickiewicz, Adam)
Historical events (WWII; Vietnam War)
Country names (Poland; Russia)
Disciplines (Anthropology; Political science)
Time periods (1939-1945; 1989- )
Types of materials: “Sources,” “Encyclopedias,” “Dictionaries” etc.
“popular culture”
“intellectual life”
“national characteristics, Polish” (or, American, German, Russian, British, etc)
 
Refine search results applying different criteria such as language, subject, publication year, format, etc.

How to Find Newspaper Articles?

Use the following to find newspaper articles. The first three are individual newspapers. Then comes BBC News, a widely known online news service. Nexis Uni and Factiva are so-called "aggregators": they allow you to search many newspapers at once. The last one in this section is a world-wide directory of newspapers.
 

The New York Times (register first at libraries.indiana.edu/new-york-times-online if you haven't yet).
The Wall Street Journal (register first at librararies.indiana.edu/resources/wsj if you haven't yet).
The Guardian 
BBC Poland
Nexis Uni
: searches a large number of newspapers at once.
Factiva: similar capabilities as Nexis Uni.

Find World Newspapers Online

How to Find Journal Articles?

Use the following to find journal articles. The first two are multidisciplinary, but the third one area-studies-specific. 
 

Academic Search
JSTOR
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies

Reference Resources

Reference resources--encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies--are useful for gathering background information about your project topic; fact checking; quick summaries and answers. The first three here are Poland-specific, while the next four can be used for much beyond topics specifically related to Poland. In the last two, both available here in pdf, you should be able to find quick summaries and interesting statistical information about various aspects of contemporary Polish culture.  

 

Historical Dictionary of Poland (2003)
Kaleidoscope of Poland: A Cultural Encyclopedia (2015)
Historical Dictionary of Polish Cinema (2015)

Oxford Reference Online
Gale Virtual Reference Online
Europa World Plus

Citation Styles

For more information on citation styles visit "Help With Writing Sources" on the library website.