Refugee Studies

Source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Offers coverage at local, regional, national and international levels.  Covers a range of disciplines, including political science, journalism, English, history, environmental studies, sociology, economics, education, business, health, and social sciences. Enables researchers to track subjects geographically and over time, analyze trends and statistics.  

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

• NEW YORK TIMES
• WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern and Western editions)
• CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
• USA TODAY
• WASHINGTON POST

Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather.

WNC contains materials provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. For earlier and additional information, consult ET2 (East Tower 2) staff. Back issues of the FBIS Daily Reports are on Microfiche, in the ET2: Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (IUB Herman B Wells Library 2nd Floor). Email: libgpd@indiana.edu. IUB has subscribed to the full text product from Readex. Content will be added through 2009 and covers 1974-1995.

Additional access options:

• Access to the New York Times Online (newyorktimes.com and via apps)
• Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Account use and renewal:

Once your account is activated, you can access all content from a web browser, as well as via smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. To retain access via apps and the website, you must validate your account every 90 days by logging in using your IU credentials via https://guides.libraries.indiana.edu/wall-street-journal.

Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://now.wsj.com/mobile/

After creating an account, you will be able to save articles. They will be permanently stored in your WSJ account and can be accessed via WSJ.com from any web browser on any device. To locate saved articles on WSJ.com, after logging in, click the arrow next tor your name in the right-hand corner to expand the drop-down menu, then select "Saved Articles."

Wall Street Journal Online is not available for unaffiliated users.

One Mail instructions:

If you setup your WSJ account using your @indiana.edu email address, you will need to update the address to your @iu.edu email address before December 31, 2025. Please use the following instructions to update your account:

1. From a web browser, visit the Wall Street Journal via IU Bloomington's subscription link.
2. Authenticate through IU Login
3. In the top-right of the screen, click on your name and then select Customer Center from the drop down menu.
4. From the left menu, select Account Settings.
5. In the Contact Information box, click the Edit button next to your existing email.
6. Enter your @iu.edu email address in the Email and Confirm Email fields and then press Save.
7. A message will appear indicating that a verification was sent to your @iu.edu email address.
8. Within a few minutes you will receive an email with the subject line “Please verify your email address for WSJ”.
   1. Click the link included in the email message which will take you to a WSJ log screen.
9. Enter your WSJ account password to complete the email update and verification process.

Additional access options:

Access to the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2000
Access to the Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition, 1984 - current