Schedule a Research Consultation
Get Help
Business/SPEA Library
1315 E. Tenth Street, Room 150
Bloomington, IN 47405
812.855.1957
libbus@indiana.edu
Business/SPEA Library
Getting to Know the Client and Business Environment
- MarketLine Advantage
This link opens in a new window
Original industry and company reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. - IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. - Mergent Intellect
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, and the ability to access industry profiles. (Find information previously accessed through Hoover's here.)
Who is the target recruit? What is important to them?
- Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Market research reports covering US and International markets with an emphasis on consumer products and industries. See this video for an overview of this database. - Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources. Includes market research, dossiers, industry reports, and digital market outlooks and forecasts. - SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work. - Simmons Insights
- This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. consumer demographics, attitudes and behaviors, media use, and buying habits
Journal and News Articles on Industry Trends and Marketing
- ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. - Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Regional, national and international business, financial, banking and industry publications. - EBSCO Management Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from 1,200 business sources and 10,000 company profiles.
Article Search
ABI/INFORM, Business Source Complete and EBSCO Management are examples of literature databases. In databases like these, the language you use when searching matters more than you might think. Use the tips on the Effective Searching tab to improve your results.
| For this concept | Start with words like |
| employees | (employees or workforce) |
| recruiting | "employee recruit*" |
| consulting | (consulting or advis*) |
| retention | (retention or turnover) |
| job seeking | ("job seek*" or "job hunting" or "employment seeking") |
| strategies | (strateg* or "best practice" or trend) |
| underrepresented workers | (minority or underrepresented or divers*) |
| DEI | (DEI or diversity or equity or inclusion) |
Examples:
(consulting or advis*) and (employees or workforce) and (minority or underrepresented or divers*)
("employee retention" or turnover) and (strateg* or "best practice" or trend)
Note: Not every combination of search terms will be useful, and these suggestions and examples are not exhaustive: You will need to come up with additional terms for other ideas you are interested in researching.
Doing multiple searches and looking at several pages of results is the key to success.
- Proquest Business
- This link opens in a new window
Allows users to search across six ProQuest business databases: ABI/INFORM Complete, EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business, ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal, and The Women's Wear Daily Archive.
General Library Resources
Use the "Research" tab to find databases by subject/discipline. The Business subject page has a curated list of business databases, or consult the A-Z Database link for a list of all the Indiana University Bloomington subscription databases. These resources must be accessed through the Libraries website or portals like this guide.
- IUCAT This link opens in a new windowSearch for books on your topic owned by the IUB Libraries. Use the Finding Books guide for tips on how to search and use this resource.
- OneSearch@IUSearch across thousands of publications (many will not be retrieved in a Google search!) for background information. Use the Database Search Tips for how to effectively search this resource.
• Business/SPEA Citation Guide
Examples of how to cite business information in both MLA and APA citation formats.