Library Research Guides: ANTH E400 Fashion Beauty Power: Museum Reviews

The New York Times

New York Times Online
- This link opens in a new window
Access to nytimes.com and via apps. Additional access options for the New York Times are available.

IUB Affiliates: To register for access, go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT. Students will be prompted to provide their anticipated graduation date in order to complete the registration process. Once activated, you can access all content at NYTimes.com from a Web browser, as well as via NYTimes.com smartphone and tablet apps, from any location. Students will need to renew the IUB Group Pass annually. Faculty will need to renew every 4 years.

Click more for complete activation and renewal instructions, access for unaffiliated users, and additional access options.
Smartphone and tablet apps can be downloaded for free by visiting: https://www.nytimes.com/services/mobile/index.html (Please note e-reader apps are excluded from our Academic Group Pass.)

New IUB Affiliated Users - One-Time Activation of NYTimes.com IUB Group Pass
1. Go to http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT
2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address. (Note: If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your IU email address, you may log in with those credentials)
3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear
4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location

Returning IUB Affilated Users
Once you have activated your IUB Group Pass account, it should allow you full access until your expiration date with no further action on your part. However, if for any reason while on NYTimes.com you are served the message that you are reaching the limit of free articles on the site, please do the following: Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your Group Pass. If you log out of your account or visit NYTimes.com on a device where you are not logged in, you can simply log in to your account to continue enjoying access.

If your Group Pass has expired: Visit http://go.iu.edu/registerNYT to activate a new pass. Make sure you are logged in to the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your IUB Group Pass.

Unaffilated users may access up to 10 free articles (including blog posts, slide shows and other multimedia features) each month on NYTimes.com. This free, limited access resets at the beginning of each calendar month.

Content Availability:
1851-1922: unlimited article availability
1923-1980: up to five articles per day per user
1981-present: unlimited article availability

Additional access options for the New York Times:
Access to the New York Times from 2008 to the present (with a lag time of about three months)

Digitized microfilm of the NYT with a 3-month embargo. Note: The IUB Library holds the physical microfilm for the NYT as well. The microfilm copy is especially important given that some articles are not available in the ProQuest resource because of the Supreme Court's Tasini ruling concerning the copyright rights of independent journalists and writers. ProQuest entries carry a note referring one to the microfilm copy.

Access to the New York Times from 1851 - 2013 (plus access to the Times Index from 1851 - 1993)

All IU students have the ability to register for a free New York Times account via the IU Libraries website. You can do so here. Follow the directions to set up your account.

Once you have an account, you can browse for museum reviews by following these steps:

1. Navigate to the New York Times homepage

2. Scroll to the bottom and find the Arts column:

3. Under Arts, click on Art and Design:

On this page, you have the option of browsing through the latest Art and Design articles to look for museum reviews. You can also use the search box which will allow you to search archived articles, spanning 1851 to the present:

New York Times with Index (1851-2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of New York Times articles from 1851-2010, plus searching using the Times Index 1851-1993.

If you would like more control over your search, consider using the library's New York Times with Index resource. This database will allow you to conduct advanced searches of New York Times articles from 1851-2010

Academic Search (EBSCO)

Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full-text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Academic Search Premier will allow you to find museum reviews across multiple newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.

ANTH E400 Fashion Beauty Power

On This Page:

The New York Times

Academic Search (EBSCO)

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

ANTH E400 Fashion Beauty Power

The New York Times

Academic Search (EBSCO)

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries