Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH A443 A590 Imaging Race

Welcome!

The Lilly Library is the Rare Book and Manuscript Library of Indiana University. With over 450,000 rare books and over 8.5 million pieces of manuscript, our collections are rich, diverse, and full of potential for research projects.

Often the best way to get started using the Lilly Library's collections is to request a consultation with a Lilly librarian. You can schedule an appointment by emailing our Reference Department at liblilly@indiana.edu

You can also begin to explore our collections on our website.

The Lilly Library is open to everyone, but you must first register as a user. You can do so here. When you register, you can also learn about our policies and procedures for using our rare materials.

Collections of Interest

The Lilly Library, for the most part, does not separately collect photographs. However, many manuscript collections (including those related to film, literary figures, and historical archives) include photographs within them. The PDF linked above lists some of these collections. Others can be found by searching/browsing the manuscript collections on our website or speaking with a librarian.

Other resources include:

Frank M. Hohenberger Photograph Collection: Our largest collection of photographs, consisting primarily of photographs by Frank Michael Hohenberger, 1876-1963, Brown County photographer and newspaperman. Hohenberger was born in Ohio in 1876 and orphaned at five years of age. He spent his boyhood as a printing apprentice and later worked several years on newspapers in Dayton, Ohio, Louisville, Kentucky, and finally for the Indianapolis Star. In 1917 he left Indianapolis to start a small photography business in Nashville, Indiana, concentrating on the subject matter of Brown County. The next forty-seven years were spent recording the life, customs, and scenes of the hills of Brown County, with side trips and hired assignments in other areas of Indiana, Kentucky, South Carolina, and Mexico. From 1923 to 1954 he wrote a column for the Sunday Indianapolis Star, “Down in the Hills O' Brown County.” The articles were frequently illustrated with his photographs. Most of the photographs have been digitized and are available to view online.

Edward S. Curtis, The North American Indian: Edward Sheriff Curtis was an American photographer and ethnologist whose work focused on the American West and on Native American peoples. In 1906, J. P. Morgan provided Curtis with $75,000 to produce a series on Native Americans. This work was to be in 20 volumes with 1,500 photographs. The Lilly Library holds one of the 222 completed 20-volume sets.

Photography books: We have many books of photographs in our collection. You can browse IUCAT or ask to see the shelflist (card catalog drawer with books arranged in call number order). Most photography books are shelved in the TR range.