Library Research Guides: ARTH A443 A590 Imaging Race: University Archives

Welcome!

The IU Libraries University Archives' primary mission is to collect, organize, make accessible and preserve records documenting Indiana University's origins and development and the activities and achievements of its officers, faculty, students, and alumni. It is the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and culture of Indiana University.

We invite and encourage public, students, staff, faculty, and researchers to use our collections, whether the purpose is for teaching, research, or pure curiosity.

Collections of Interest

While researchers can explore almost any subject matter through the IU Archives collections, examples of topics relevant for this course include photographs documenting campus life such as athletics, housing, and activism; the activities of the administration including the establishment of international programs, and the military service of its alumni. The collection also includes the personal portfolios of other notable photographers with connections to Indiana University such as Will Counts, Charles Cushman, and Benjamin Wallace Douglas.

The following are examples of IU Archives collections which touch on course themes, but please contact an archivist to discuss additional possibilities:

Charles W. Cushman Photograph Collection
Charles Weever Cushman, amateur photographer and Indiana University alumnus, bequeathed approximately 14,500 Kodachrome color slides to his alma mater. The photographs in this collection bridge a thirty-two year span from 1938 to 1969, during which time he extensively documented the United States as well as other countries. Large sections of the collection document urban architecture and community life in cities such as Chicago, San Francisco and New Orleans.
Will Counts Photograph collection
Will Counts was a photographer nearly his entire life, and for 32 years served as a Professor of Journalism at Indiana University. He worked for the Arkansas-Democrat in Little Rock, Arkansas, and The Associated Press in Chicago, but is well known for the photographs he shot of desegregation at Little Rock's Central High School in 1957. His book, A Life is More Than A Moment, documents the event through his images and text.
Will Counts also authored several other books including The Magnificent 92 Indiana Courthouses, A Photographic Legacy, and Bloomington Past & Present.
IU Archives Photograph collection
The Indiana University Office of University Archives and Records Management holds a vast photograph and negative collection that comprises approximately two-million images. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty. Nearly all of the images document the history of Indiana University.
Benjamin Wallace Douglas collection
Benjamin Wallace Douglas (2/17/1882-12/6/1939) was born in Indianapolis, Indiana. His father William Willis Douglas was the founder of the Douglas and Carlon Printing House which later became the Hollenback Press. He graduated from Shortridge High School and attended the Central College of Physicians and Surgeons, but did not graduate from that institution. In 1904, he became a field agent for the Indiana State Board of Forestry and in 1907 became the Indiana State Entomologist. In 1911 he began growing fruit in Trevlac, Brown County, Indiana where he operated an orchard and cannery known as Hickory Hill Orchards. While Douglas was known as a conservationist and writer of books and articles, few people today realize that he was also an expert photographer who left his images to Indiana University just before his death in 1939.
C490 Indonesia Public Administration Program records, 1954-1965
The Public Administration Program in Indonesia was funded by a grant from the US Agency for International Development (USAID) and was coordinated by the Institute of Training for Public Service within the Indiana University Department of Government. The contract began in 1959 and expired in 1963. The program was designed to improve business and public administration education by assisting in the development of the National Institute of Administration in Djakarta, Indonesia
C502 Indiana University War Service Register records
The Alumni Office's War Service Register contains records and photographs relating to the men and women of Indiana University who served in a U.S. war between 1860 and 1945 (i.e., the Mexican War, the Civil War, the Spanish-American War, the first World War, or the second World War).
C624 IU Department of Athletics Manager’s Books, 1922-1971
This collection consists of Manager Books for Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country and Track, Football, Gymnastics, Swimming, and Wrestling from 1922-1971. The collection is organized in alphabetical order by sport [Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country and Track (individual volumes in Track also included in this set), Football, Gymnastics, Swimming, and Wrestling)] and then in chronological order. Each book contains manager reports, game scores, player statistics and other game records along with photographs and newspaper clippings and other press releases related to the team for that particular year.
C635 Roy Sieber papers, 1958-2010
Roy Sieber was a historian of African art who taught at Indiana University Bloomington from 1962 through 1983. Having been the first person to receive a degree in African art in the United States, Sieber was the creator of the study of African art history in the United States. This collection contains prints of his black and white photographs of African art in use and on display, slides of African art in museums, and annotated bibliographies written by his students exploring specific aspects of art in Africa.
C660 Clarence M. Flaten papers, circa 1890s-1982
Clarence Flaten (1910-1974) was Supervisor of Photography at the Indiana University Audio-Visual Center from 1949-1974 and a faculty member in the IU School of Education from 1958-1974. This collection documents Clarence Flaten’s family life, professional career at Indiana University, and military service in India during World War II through photographs, film, correspondence, course materials, publications, military personnel files, and other materials.
C718 Arthur R. Metz papers, 1853-2018
Arthur R. Metz was a student at Indiana University from 1904-1909 and one of the first recipients of the IU Distinguished Alumni Service Award. He was a doctor who served in multiple capacities including for hospitals, railroads, the military, corporations, and universities and also was a member of many medical organizations. The collection consists of Metz’s family records, school materials, personal and professional correspondence, personal photographs, military and travel materials and photographs, magazine and newspaper clippings, medical and organizational publications, and professional certificates.

ARTH A443 A590 Imaging Race

General Information

Outreach and Public Services Archivist

Welcome!

Collections of Interest

View all Library Hours