Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How To Conduct Research in the IU Libraries University Archives

Manuscript Collections

The IU Libraries University Archives is the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and culture of IU. To search finding aids for the records of the university and campus organizations, as well as the personal papers of IU faculty, staff, and students, go to Archives Online. Learn how to request materials under the "Searching and Accessing Collections" tab in this guide.

Detail of watercolors from Pering letter 1883

Detail of watercolors from a letter from Cornelius and Susannah Pering to the Edwards family of Chard (August 27, 1833) 

Photograph Collection

The Archives Photograph Collection comprises approximately 2.5 million images and is an ongoing project to provide access to the collection. Currently, there are 50,000 images online. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University's Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty. Nearly all of the images document the history of IU.

President Bryan riding his horse Bessie to campus.

President Bryan riding his horse, Bessie, to campus. (ca 1910)

This is an excellent resource for finding images of people, buildings, maps, clubs, architectural drawings, and events. Be sure to use the "Refine Your Search" at the right of the page to modify by date, topic, name, etc. All of our photos have not yet been scanned and uploaded, so you will want to contact Brad Cook, Photograph Curator, with any questions. Email: bcook@indiana.edu 

Photograph collections held by other IU departments and repositories can be found at Image Collections Online or the IU Digital Collections.