Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How To Conduct Research in the IU Libraries University Archives

Resources

Useful Links:

SAA's Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research

The Society of American Archivists created this guide to show how archives function, how to identify appropriate archives for your research , and how to access historical materials and research at an archives. Repositories and their collecting scopes and practices may differ, but the principles in this guide should assist you in accomplishing your research goals at any archival institution.

IU Board of Trustees Minutes

The Trustees minutes includes official acts, resolutions, policies, agreements, and other business records pertaining to the governance of Indiana University. 

Bloomington Faculty Council Minutes

The digitized BFC collection features two key documents: BFC minutes and circulars. The BFC minutes are verbatim transcriptions of the monthly BFC meetings from each academic year. The circulars are supplementary documents that often serve as the basis of discussions at BFC meetings and range in scope from Memorial Resolutions to policy changes in the Academic Calendar or Faculty Handbook.

Blogging Hoosier History

The Indiana University Archives' blog features stories on collections, as well as "Sincerely Yours - Letters from the Archives."

IU Chronology

The IU Chronology spans from 1785 to the present and provides information on all of the Indiana University campuses.

IU Websites on Archive-It

The Indiana University Web Sites collection is an extension of the holdings of the University Archives which is responsible for the appraisal, acquisition, preservation and use of University records of permanent value and the private records of individuals and organizations associated with Indiana University. The Archive includes sites created by the University community.

IU Commencement speakers (1892-present)

The IU Commencement speakers is a list of individuals who spoke either at the spring or winter commencement at Indiana University - Bloomington.

Databases:

Archives Online

This site is a portal for accessing descriptions of Special Collections and Archives - ones chiefly containing materials other than books - from libraries, archives, and other units at Indiana University Bloomington and from other institutions around the state of Indiana.

Ancestry Library Edition

As the world’s largest online family history resource, it gives instant access to hundreds of years of history in billions of historical documents and millions of historical photos from all over the world.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid includes over 4 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Archives Photograph Collection

This database is an ongoing project to provide access to the collection; images are added daily. The majority of these were shot by Indiana University’s Photographic Services Department, Athletic Department, and News Bureau. The remaining images were shot mostly by local professional photographers, alumni, and faculty. Nearly all of the images document the history of IU. 

NewspaperARCHIVE

NewspaperARCHIVE is the world's largest online newspaper archive. It spans more than 400 years of family history, small-town events, world news and more. NewspaperARCHIVE works best in Microsoft Edge (i.e. Internet Explorer). 

HathiTrust

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Image Collections Online

Image Collections Online serves as a showcase for various image collections curated by the libraries, departments, and cultural institutions of Indiana University. Launched in December 2011, Image Collections Online includes historical photographs from the Liberian Collections and images of cultural objects from the Lilly Library at IU Bloomington.

Indiana Magazine of History

Published continuously since 1905, the Indiana Magazine of History is one of the nation's oldest historical journals. Since 1913, the IMH has been edited and published quarterly at Indiana University, Bloomington. Today, the IMH features peer-reviewed historical articles, research notes, annotated primary documents, reviews, and critical essays that contribute to public understanding of midwestern and Indiana history.

IU Digital Collections

IU Digital Collections Search provides a discovery interface for searching and browsing across selected digital collections created by the IU Libraries.

IUScholarWorks

IUScholarWorks is an open access repository service provided by the IU Libraries for disseminating and preserving the intellectual output of Indiana University scholars. The repository is designed to hold and deliver scholarly materials in digital form (text, data, image, etc.), that will not change over time and that are adequately described with standard keywords and descriptors.

Resources in the Reading Room

Reference Files:

The Reference Files are located on the west side of the wall. These files are organized alphabetically by subject and contain very useful information that may direct you to other sources. The subjects can be a little tricky to find depending on what they are, so do not hesitate to ask an archivist for help. For example: "Bryan Hall" will be filed under "Buildings & Grounds - Bryan Hall." 

Arbutus Yearbooks:

The Arbutus Yearbooks are located on the north side of the wall in the reading room. 

IU Bulletins:

The IU Bulletins are located on the north side of the wall in the reading room and contain valuable information about faculty and departments. Later bulletins can be accessed online: http://bulletins.iu.edu/iub

Indiana Alumni Magazine:

The Indiana Alumni Magazine is located on the north side wall in the reading room. If you know the date of an event or subject, you can search the magazine during the appropriate years to see if there is an article on the subject.

Secondary Sources on IU History:

There are many secondary sources on IU History in the reading room on the north side wall and on the island shelf near the west side of the wall. Many of these secondary sources are available in the Wells Library through IUCAT, if you would like to check-out a physical copy. All materials in the Archives are non-circulating. 

Indiana Daily Student (IDS):

The Indiana Daily Student from 1867-1923 can be searched in the NewspaperARCHIVE; however, the later papers will need to be searched on microfilm. Microfilms can be accessed on the 2nd floor of the East Tower in the Wells Library. The Archives also has an index for the IDS that goes through 1938, which will help fill the gap between what is in the NewspaperARCHIVE and the microfilm.