Library Research Guides: Investigative Journalism: Census Data

Introduction to Census Research

When using Census data, it is important to have a firm grasp on what it is you want to accomplish through your research. To simply explore what information is available, the U.S. Census Bureau provides a broad yet strong explanation. Before you begin searching for particular data, determine the following factors:

Desired format of the data
Time period
Aggregated data versus information on individuals
Comparing multiple locations to each other versus comparing multiple characteristics of one location

Once you have specific questions in mind, the descriptions of the resources included in this guide should be able to point you in the right direction.

Census enumerator in 1950 interviewing a family

Open U.S. Government Data

Census.gov
- This link opens in a new window
The home of the U.S. Census Bureau data. Find census and survey data, as well as infographics, a thorough look into the workings of the Census Bureau, and links to much more. The best place to start broad Census research.
The U.S. Census Bureau is the United States' leading source of data about the nation's people and economy. In addition to the census conducted every ten years, the Bureau carries out many surveys to produce a general view and comprehensive study of the United States' social and economic conditions. It also works with counterpart governments throughout the world. The website carries census data and data from other surveys, reports analyzing the data, maps, tools to access the data, information about methodology, and more.

Data.gov
Provides a focused look at the census and survey data found on a specific community. Includes data related to population, income, geography, and more from the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. Site replaces American FactFinder and DataFerret, both of which have been decomissioned.
QuickFacts
Just as it sounds, gives easy access to statistics and data from various censuses, surveys, and estimates across the United States.

Electronic resources available through IU Libraries

Historical Statistics of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
Directs users to quantitative facts and statistics on American history. Users can download existing tables, create custom tables, and use advanced searching options to find completely revised and cross-referenced information.
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) provides quantitative facts about the U.S. and its states and territories. It expands and revises information provided in Historical Statistics of the U.S., previously produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census (1949, 1960, and 1975). Footnotes and explanatory information provide instructional information about the data and sources of the data. Data is downloadable in Excel or CSV. Users may create custom tables. Product is searchable.
ICPSR
- This link opens in a new window
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) supplies the numeric raw data from a variety of sources, including survey research, censuses, and administrative records. PLEASE NOTE: User must create an account while on campus before they can access ICPSR while off campus. Please click "more" for additional details.
ICPSR holdings include several time series and other types of aggregate data. ICPSR datasets were originally collected for specific research or administrative purposes. However, the data have research potential that outlives the original purposes for which they were collected. ICPSR preserves these valuable data resources and makes them publicly available for secondary analysis. ICPSR Direct is a new service providing direct access to the ICPSR data holdings for all students, faculty, and staff at ICPSR member institutions.

ACCESS: Off-campus access is available but users must first create an account on-campus and log in on-campus every 6 months.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
- This link opens in a new window
Access to statistical content information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Includes tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, and datasets. Results are ranked by relevance. Faceted search results can then be filtered by document type, source, date published, geographic area, and more.
International Historical Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
International Historical Statistics is collection of statistical data on the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia and Oceania covers the years 1750-2010.
The statistics include data on: population, migration, trade, imports and exports, labor force, unemployment, wholesale and consumer prices, education, schools, universities, higher education, agriculture, industry, energy,telecommunications, post, civil aviation, railways, motor vehicles, shipping, TV and radio, Finance, Currency, Government Expenditure, and national accounts.
SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
Web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. PLEASE NOTE: Users may "sign in as guest," or register for an individual account if they would like to save their work.
Allows users to:
-Access thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
-Develop interactive thematic maps and export high-resolution images to word processing or presentation software.
-Select, sort, and compare data across multiple locations and build custom reports that can be exported to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
-Explore historical census data to understand how regions change over time and use estimates and projections to analyze current and future trends.
-Make informed personal and business-related decisions by asking questions like “what are the social and demographic characteristics of my neighborhood?” and “where should I locate my retail store?”

Indiana Map
- This link opens in a new window
GIS atlas for Indiana. Over 250 layers of geographic and geologic information users can work with to create maps based on Indiana’s population, demographics, transportation, hydrology, biology, geology, and environment.

Social Explorer
- This link opens in a new window
Access to data maps, profile reports, demographic data, and data elements and variables. Includes interactive tools that allow users to create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyze data. Includes access to current and historical demographic data.

Local Resources

STATS Indiana
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data on Indiana, including census and population data, economic and labor reports, and county profiles.
Monroe County Public Library Catalog
- This link opens in a new window
The catalog of the holdings at Monroe County Public Library, Bloomington, Indiana. MCPL also has an Indiana Room.

Monroe County History Center
"[P]reserves, researches, interprets and presents the genealogy, history and artifacts of Monroe County, Indiana and provides an accessible learning environment for all to enjoy. "

Print (and microfilm) materials available at IU Libraries

Census materials are located in Wells Library, on the 2nd Floor of East Tower, within Government Information, Maps, and Microform Services.

Decennial Census: The data collected across the United States population every 10 years. The information collected from the 2010 Decennial Census is also available online. IU's collection includes the microfilm editions of the U.S. Decennial Census Publications 1790-1970.

The Economic Census is taken every 5 years and measures American business and economy. Please note that not every industry is included in this census. The U.S. Census Bureau gives a thorough overview of these industries.