Slavic and East European Studies Collection at IU

Online collection of 500 hours of video from 18 years of broadcasts. Each news segment within the collection serves as a standalone short documentary on a specific news topic. Also includes 175 hours of bonus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning.

Founded in 1848, the AP is one of the oldest and largest news organization in the world.

Collections include:
European Bureaus Collection: From Vienna, its chief listening post, and also from Prague and Warsaw, the Associated Press (AP) covered Eastern Europe during World War II and the Cold War. This collection is composed almost entirely of rare wire copy, recording the declining influence of the Soviet Union, the last days of the Iron Curtain, and the political and economic restructuring of the former Soviet satellites.

Middle Eastern Bureaus Collection: offers access to records from some of the Associated Press’s (AP) most active international bureaus – Jerusalem, Ankara, and Beirut, as well as their surrounding areas – delivering the exclusive stories behind the headlines from 1967 to 2005.

News Features & Internal Communications: This collection provides access to internal Associated Press publications dating from the turn of the twentieth century, offering insight into the AP, its staff, and the history of news coverage.

U.S. City Bureaus Collection: The U.S. City Bureaus Collection offers access to records from the AP's domestic bureaus, dating from 1931 to 2004.

Washington Bureau Collection, Part I: This collection provides access to Associated Press (AP) records documenting the administrations of eleven US presidents (1938-2009), including an extensive assortment of wire copy covering press conferences, travel, speeches, campaigns, and messages to Congress.

Washington Bureau Collection, Part II: This collection covers significant news reporting on the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of World War I and the post-war period in America and abroad.

Also includes access to the following series: Nature's Great Events, Life, Frozen Planet, Life Story, Africa, and Spy in the Wild. As well as access to the following single programs: Tiny Giants, Walking With Dinosaurs: Prehistoric Planet, Wild Africa, Earthflight, and Incredible Predators.

Highlights include: “We Will Rise: Michelle Obama's Mission to Educate Girls Around the World;” an interview series with female leaders including Beyonce, Sheryl Sandberg, Oprah, Tina Brown, Michelle Wie, Nancy Pelosi; series like “Future Finance”, “Passion to Portfolio”, “Eco Solutions;" specials on human trafficking, global poverty, and other human rights issues around the world; features on global cities, travel, world cultures, religion, food, and lifestyles outside the western hemisphere.

Includes: news, analysis, commentary, editorials, statistics, demographics, letters to the editor, obituaries, and historical photographs, special surveys and supplements on Countries and Industries, sections including Science and Technology, classified and display advertising profiling major companies, and job opportunities.

Founded to serve the city of London, the Financial Times eventually broadened its coverage to global financial and economic issues. Incorporating its rival the Financial News in 1945, the Financial Times expanded in the post-war years, reporting on topics such as industry, energy and international politics in full for the first time. In the final decades of the twentieth century, coverage of management, personal finance and the arts was added.

Forbes Magazine covers the business and financial world. Also includes analysis on business leaders, politics, entertainment, technology, communication, culture, and style.

Documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience.

Keesing’s World News Archive contains articles detailing world events and international developments. The archive begins in 1931 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives (1931-1987) and continues as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. Events covered include government changes, war, treaties, appointments, diplomatic initiatives, international agreements, security, legislation, budgets, natural disasters, environmental issues, and scientific discoveries.

Provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) including the Bloomington Herald Times, and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Includes cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for articles in the following major newspapers beginning in January 1, 1995:

• NEW YORK TIMES
• WALL STREET JOURNAL (Eastern and Western editions)
• CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
• USA TODAY
• WASHINGTON POST

Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather.

Includes access to newspapers from the United States, Canada, United Kingdom & Ireland, Australia, and Panama.

This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.

Includes contributors from Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas, providing authoritative analysis of the issues commanding global attention and promoting viable solutions to the world’s urgent problems.

From 1877 - 2000, every backfile issue of The Washington Post has been digitized from cover to cover, including news stories, editorials, photos, graphics, and advertisements. You can search using basic keyword, guided, publication-specific searches, and relevancy search techniques to locate information. You may also browse through issues page by page, as one would browse a printed edition.

Launched in 1855, the Telegraph is generally seen by press historians as the start of a new era of journalism that emerged following the repeal of stamp duty and signalling the first step towards the mass-market journalism of the Daily Mail. The Telegraph employed of several renowned special correspondents over the years; Winston Churchill, who reported from India in 1897, Rudyard Kipling, who braved the trenches of the First World War, and Clare Hollingworth, who, as the first female war correspondent, relayed the start of the Second World War from Poland. During the twentieth century, there was the infamous uncensored interview with Kaiser Wilhelm of 1908, in which the German chancellor successfully alienated Britain, France, Russia, and Japan. In 1942, the newspaper published the cryptic crossword puzzle responsible for recruiting Allied codebreakers during the Second World War.

The world's most available, extensive and complete archive of major network television news. The database currently includes 725,000 records, including abstracts at the story level of regular evening news and special news program. These broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaigns, national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001. All broadcasts are copyright protected for class and research use. The database will list results of individual story-level records. From each of these records you can press the button to display the listing of the entire program. Online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999 to the present, as indicated by the Video clip available. You can request complete programs or compilations of selected items to be copied onto videotape. The news archive charges a fee to recover the cost of providing this service.

Also includes a collections of local and regional newspapers, cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.

WNC contains materials provided by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS). Reports are full text, English translations of foreign news sources and information. Many of the materials are copyrighted. For earlier and additional information, consult ET2 (East Tower 2) staff. Back issues of the FBIS Daily Reports are on Microfiche, in the ET2: Government Information, Maps and Microform Services (IUB Herman B Wells Library 2nd Floor). Email: libgpd@indiana.edu. IUB has subscribed to the full text product from Readex. Content will be added through 2009 and covers 1974-1995.

World Newspaper Archive is a fully-searchable collection of historical newspapers from around the globe. It was created in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries- one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories.

World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films give scholars insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.