Library Research Guides: Slavic and East European Studies Collection at IU: Home

Introducing Indiana University Libraries' SEE collection

The Slavic and East European studies collection is one of the most extensive research collections of its kind in the United States. Multidisciplinary and encompassing all formats, it is built and developed to provide support for teaching, learning, and original scholarly research including journal publications, PhD dissertations, and seminar papers. It collects publications in more than 15 different vernacular languages as well as in English, and rapidly expands into the online sphere. All the materials included in the collection are to be found through searches in IUCAT, the online library catalog of the Indiana University Libraries. Additional assistance and consultation for finding research sources is available. Please contact the librarian at wcheun@indiana.edu, 812-855-9413, Wells Library E560.

Basics

IUCAT This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Indiana University online catalog.
IUCAT, Indiana University's online library catalog, provides comprehensive access to millions of items held by the IU Libraries statewide, including books, recordings, US government publications, periodicals, and other types of material. Users can access IUCAT from any Internet-connected computer or device, whether in the libraries, on campus, or off campus.
OneSearch@IU
WorldCat
Thousands of libraries may be searched from this one catalog; Interlibrary Loan requests can also be made.
WorldCat is OCLC's Online Union Catalog. It is the world's most comprehensive bibliography, with more than 33 million bibliographic records from libraries around the world. Use WorldCat to do a comprehensive search of published material, to verify citations, or to identify other libraries that own an item.

Databases A-Z
All online resources at IUL, both subscription and open access

Library of Congress (LC) Classification Outline
"... the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress Classification."

• Useful Subclasses for SEE Studies

DAW - Central Europe
DB - Austria. Liechtenstein. Hungary. Czechoslovakia
DJK - Eastern Europe
DK - Russia. Soviet Union. Former Soviet Republics. Poland
DR - Balkan Peninsula
DX - History of Romanies
PG - Slavic Languages. Baltic Languages. Albanian Language