Librarian Profile
Indiana University
1025 E 10th Street
Bloomington, IN 47405
812-856-6867
IUB Libraries' Career Reference Collection & More
The Career Reference Collection is located on the 3rd floor of the Wells Library West Tower. The collection includes practice test books for graduate school entrance exams (GRE, MCAT, LSAT, GRE) and others (TOEFL), books on choosing a career and job hunt best practices (resume and cover letter writing, interviewing), directories for graduate schools and financial aid. CRC books can be checked out for 3 days with no renewals. – It is a small collection, easily browsed.
Library Books! Use IUCat to find print and electronic books from the IU Libraries that can help you make career and other life decisions. Here is a quick introduction to IUCat searching: Finding Books.
- IU Bloomington Career Development CenterThis is the place to start your exploration into careers and for help planning your life after IU! – get help choosing a major, one-on-one career advising, information on career events and career courses, an extensive online resource library, part-time and seasonal job postings, and much more.
Online from the IUB Libraries
These online resources are available to all IUB Students. Many of them are interactive.
To take full advantage of their features you may be required to create a free personal account. Each resource will guide you through the process.
If you have any questions about these resources, use any of the Ask-A-Librarian venues to contact the Reference Department.
- Gale Directory Library
This link opens in a new window
Online collection of premier directories providing information on companies, publishers, associations. Includes descriptions of associations, professional societies, and nonprofit organizations, at local, state, national and international levels. - College Source
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international catalogs from colleges, graduate institutions, law, medical and specialty schools.
- Peterson's Test Prep
- This link opens in a new window
Includes over 100 practice tests and courses and information on over 4,000 accredited schools. PLEASE NOTE: Users must create individual accounts to take practice tests.
- LearningExpress
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: users must create a free account to fully access the resource. Interactive online database of practice tests, such as TOEIC and the GRE, and tutorial courses with scoring, complete answer explanations, and analysis of results.
- Compensation Research GuideThis guide, from the IUB Business/SPEA Information commons, provides a description of research strategies and a select listing of sources to use when conducting compensation research for position negotiation and/or other career-related activities. It is not a comprehensive listing of all the compensation, salary, and benefit information available.
Out on the Web
Here are some of the many resources available on the Web that librarians and career counselors have found to be trustworthy and useful.
- Glassdoor for StudentsGlassdoor holds a growing database of millions of company reviews, CEO approval ratings, salary reports, interview reviews and questions, benefits reviews, office photos and more. Unlike other jobs sites, all of this information is entirely shared by those who know a company best — the employees. Add to that millions of the latest jobs — no other site allows you to see which employers are hiring, what it's really like to work or interview there according to employees, and how much you could earn.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookUpdated annually by the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics. Includes information --description, outlook, salary, educational requirements, etc.-- on hundreds of occupations.
- Career OutlookUpdated quarterly. Describes occupations/careers, tracks employment trends, earnings data. Based on statistics and research from the U.S. federal government. -- Former title: Occupational Outlook Quarterly.
- U.S. News & World Report: Best Graduate SchoolsAlthough not held in high-esteem by many, this has been published annually since the 1980s!
- ETS-Educational Testing ServiceGRE, TOEFL, TOEIC
- IUB CDC Online Resource LibraryWeb Resources evaluated recommended by the advisers at the IU Bloomington Career Development Center. -- Job Hunting, Career Selection, Graduate School and more!