Library Research Guides: BUS C570 Strategic Marketing Management: Industry Information: Hybrid/Electric Cars

Industry Research

Use the database below to find industry profiles

Mintel Reports (Mintel Oxygen)
- Check out Analyst Reports in the following areas
  - Sector: Automotive
  - Theme: Ethical & Green
  - Demographics reports
- Search by keyword or browse via Category Overview
IBISWorld
- Includes industry profiles on US and Global Automotive Sales
- Contains Key Success Factors and Major Markets by industry
MarketLine Advantage
- Find country-specific industry profiles by Industry or Country Name
- Includes marketplace descriptions and major company profiles
Passport GMID
- Interactive dashboard allows users to build customized reports by industry and geographic location
- Tip: Start with "Find Analysis" search box and select "Industries," then limit geographically

Mintel Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Consumer reports containing analyst projections, demographic breakdowns, and marketing strategies on a variety of topics.
Mintel Reports offers product and industry market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, supply chain, market-share size and trends, and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market. Reports may be downloaded as RTF (rich-text format) files; tabular data may also be saved as CSV (comma-separated values) files.

Access and downloading instructions:
1. All users will have to agree to the Academic permissions and prohibitions, which prohibits systematic copying, use without attribution, use for commercial purposes, or distribution to non-IUB students and employees.
2. After accepting the above permissions and prohibitions, you must create an individual profile in order to download reports.
3. Select "Log into your profile..." to create a new (or log into an existing) Mintel profile.
4. After logging in, downloading is available by either using the direct download option for a report or by using the My Presentations feature which also offers the direct download option for the report.
IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Over 700 industry reports. US-focused, but contains a limited amount of globally-oriented reports.
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Contains country-specific industry reports in addition to information on companies, countries, and products.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending over all major marketplaces and industries. A searchable online business information service using published desk research and secondary data sources to create three different types of profiles. Company profiles include company overviews, business descriptions, company history, executive listings, product listings, locations, news, and commentary. Industry profiles contain: 5-year historical and 5-year forecast market values and/or volumes; market segmentations; company and/or product market shares; explanatory text identifying major trends and significant growth points; and analysis of each market's competitive landscape, including main players, distribution channels, and regulatory issues. Each country profile includes a description of the country's economic performance and GDP, an assessment of its potential for development, and detailed market and industry analysis of the country's business environment. Profiles are supplemented by a "news & comment" section.
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
- This link opens in a new window
Passport GMID focuses on global industry profiles broken down by region and country.

Article Searching

Explore the hybrid & electric car industry via Article Databases

Search a variety of keywords for wider research coverage
- "hybrid cars"
- "alternative fuel vehicles"
- "hybrid-electric vehicle" or "HEV"
- "sustainable transportation"
Use filters in database to limit by Geography, Publication Date, and Source Type
Limit by "Full-Text Only" for online access

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Article database containing industry profiles, trade publications, news articles, and other business-oriented resources.
Provides access to peer-reviewed business journals, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886.
ABI/INFORM Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Access to thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. Notable periodicals include The Economist, Sloan Management Review, and the Wall Street Journal.

BUS C570 Strategic Marketing Management

Get Help

Industry Research

Article Searching

Featured Databases

IU Libraries

BUS C570 Strategic Marketing Management

Industry Research

Article Searching

Social media

Additional resources

Featured Databases

IU Libraries