Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BUS C570 Strategic Marketing Management

Instructor: Talbott

General Country Resources

Use these resources to explore the current economic and business climate of India and the US. 

Country Reports & Forecasts

Passport GMID
A library database that provides in-depth country-specific data and reports, including forecasts. Find city-level data for certain large cities.

Export.gov
Developed by the United States Department of Commerce's Commercial Service, the Export.gov website brings together resources to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies. The "Doing Business in..." guides and provide information about market conditions, purchasing power, consumer trends, distribution channels, navigating entry constraints, best sectors, key contacts, and more. Coverage varies by country.

Business Source Premier
TIP: Use the "Country Report" link to locate business forecasts, SWOT and PEST (political, economic, social, and technological) analyses, and country reports by location or publisher.

Doing Business
The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 189 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

Economist Intelligence Union (EIU)
Some freely available country analysis (historical, political, infrastructural, and economic trends, including business conditions) from The Economists' EIU website. Note that we do not subscribe this resource.

Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
A partnership between the London Business School and Babson College that provides country-specific reports and data on the state of entrepreneurship.

The World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-Library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of over 3,000 World Bank documents. The collection consists of over 1,400 World Bank publications and over 2,000 Policy Research Working Papers.

Data & Statistics

International Financial Statistics
The International Monetary Fund's source for international finance and economic data for IMF member countries. Available data varies by country. Annual, quarterly, and monthly data from 1948. TIP: Start searching for economic and trade data by selecting the "Country Table" link from the left-hand menu.

International Statistical Agencies
A portal of country-specific statistical agencies compiled by the United States Census Bureau.

OECDiLibrary
The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, an international governmental organization. Search for and extract data from across all OECD statistical databases.

UNdata
A data service that allows one to search the United Nations statistical databases.

UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

World Development Indicators (WDI Online)
WDI contains statistical time-series data for over 550 development indicators for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.