It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly journal articles from a wide-range of disciplines; includes some general/popular publications.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Provides full-text of
-The Federal Register 1936-2007
- Federal Register Indexes 1939-2004
- Code of Federal Regulations and Supplements 1938-1983
- Compilation of Sections Affected 1949-2004
- List and Index to Presidential Executive Orders (1789-1941) (Lord)
- Public Papers of the President (1931-2001) including FDR's
United States Government Manual 1935-2005
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents 1965-2004
Also treaties and other items. For full information, see https://libraries.indiana.edu/heinonline
Start broad; Type in your research topic alone (e.g., "living wage ordinances"). Investigate the following:
What disciplines (e.g., law, sociology, economics/business, public affairs, etc.) are studying my topic?
What perspective do each of these disciplines take? What are the most appropriate perspective(s) for my audience and purpose?
In what types of publications are articles about my topic being published? Which publications are most appropriate for my audience and purpose?
Select and read a couple of articles based on your answers to the above questions. Start to get an understanding of your issue's background.
Narrow your search to locate more background information by adding keywords like "history," "overview," or "background" to your research topic. Or, add keywords that may have come to your attention during your initial search and reading. Note any viewpoints that might be identified.