Music Classification Numbers by Subject

• Sackbut (History and criticism): ML990.S3
• Sacred music
  • Aesthetics: ML3865+
  • Bibliography: ML128.C54
    • Discography: ML156.4.R4
  • Dictionaries: ML102.C5
  • History and criticism (Medieval period): ML178
  • Vocal: M1999+
    • Bibliography: ML128.S2
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2060+
      • for children: M2190+
    • History and criticism: M2900+
    • Hymnals: M2115+
    • Liturgy and ritual: M2147+
    • Songs for one voice: M2102+
• Sacred opera (Librettos): ML48+
• Sadly stood the Mother weeping, see Stabat mater
• Safety (Vocal music): M1977.S15+
• Sailors (Vocal music): M1977.S2+
• St. Antonius the Great (Offices): M2149.5.A6
• St. Joseph (Vespers): M2149.5.V545
• St. Louis. Louisiana Purchase Exposition (1904)
  • Vocal music: M1677.2.S25 1904
• St. Nicolas of Flü, see Nikolaus, von der Flüe, Saint
• St. Patrick's Day (Vocal music): M1629.3.S3+
• Salon orchestra: M1350
• Salve regina: M2079.L79
• Salzburg (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.2.S34
• San Antonio. Hemisfair (1968)
  • Vocal music: M1677.2.S28 1968
• San Diego. Panama-California Exposition (1915)
  • Vocal music: M1677.2.S3 1915
• San Francisco. Golden Gate International Exposition (1939)
  • Vocal music: M1677.2.S4 1939
• San hsien
  • History and criticism: ML1015.S3
  • Instruction and study: MT654.S26
• San Marino (Literature on music): ML325.S2
• Sanctus: M2079.L8
• Santur (Instrumental music): M142.S3
• Sanza (History and criticism): ML1015.S35
• Sarangi (History and criticism): ML927.S4
• Sarrusophone (Instruction and study): MT415
• Satire (Literature on music): ML65
• Saudi Arabia
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML189; ML3742
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML527
  • National music: M1797+
• Saws (Musical use)
  • Instruction and study: MT722
• Saxhorn
  • Instruction and study: MT492
  • Instrumental music: M100+
    • with piano: M266+
• Saxoflute (Instruction and study): MT358.S4
• Saxophone
  • Bibliography: ML128.S247
  • History and criticism: ML975+
    • Construction: ML976
  • Instruction and study: MT500+
    • for children: MT801.S4
  • Instrumental music: M105+
    • with
      • orchestra (Solo): M1034.S4+; M1134.S4+
      • piano: M268+
• Saz (History and criticism): ML1015.S4
• Scala Collection, see Francis Maria Scala (1820-1903) Collection
• Scales
  • History and criticism: ML3812
  • Instruction and study
    • Composition: MT45
    • Piano: MT231
• Scandinavia
  • Hymnals: M2140
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML310+; ML3700+
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML513+
  • National music: M1768+
• Scandinavian-American music: M1668.6
  • Literature on music: ML3555
• Scenarios: ML47+
• Scenery
  • in musical theater (Instruction and study): MT955
• School music: M1992+
  • Bibliography: ML128.S25
    • Discography: ML156.4.S4
  • for children
    • Instruction and study: MT918+
    • Song books: M1994+
    • Songs: M1994.5+
• Score reading and playing (Instruction and study): MT85
• Scores (Bibliography): ML128.S29
• Scotland
  • Literature on music: ML288+; ML3655
  • National music: M1746+
• Scottish Rite (Vocal music): M1900.M37+
• Scrapbooks (Literature on music): ML46
• Sea songs: M1977.S2
  • History and criticism: ML3780
• Seasons (Vocal music)
  • Sacred (Choruses, part-songs, etc.): M2065+; M2075+; M2085+; M2095+
  • Secular: M1977.S4+
• Second hand dealers (Music), see Dealers (Music)
• Secondary schools (Secular music)
  • for children: M1992+
• Secret fraternal societies (Vocal music): M1900+
• Secretaries (Vocal music): M1977.S43+
• Secular choral music, seeSecular music -- Vocal Secular music
  • History and criticism (Medieval period): ML180+
  • Vocal: M1497+
    • Aesthetics (Choral music): ML3874
    • for children: M1990+
    • History and criticism: ML182+; ML1600+
• Sées (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.2.S4
• Self-instructors Instrumental, seeindividual instruments under Instrumental techniques
  • Singing and voice culture: MT893
• Senior citizens (Vocal music): M1977.S45+
• Septets
  • Instrumental: M700+
  • Vocal
    • Sacred: M2018+
    • Secular: M1528+

  Serbia (Literature on music): ML3611.S47

• Serbian church (Liturgy and ritual): M2159.3
  • see also Orthodox churches
• Serge Koussevitzky Music Foundation: ML30.3+
• Sergei Rachmaninoff Archives, see Rachmaninoff Archives
• Serials: ML1+
• Serpent (Instruction and study): MT520
• Services (Sacred vocal music): M2010+
• Seventh-day Adventist hymnals: M2131.S3
  • see also Adventist hymnals
• Sextets
  • Instrumental: M600+
  • Vocal
    • Sacred: M2018+
    • Secular: M1528+
• Shakers (Hymnals): M2131.S4
• Shakuhachi
  • History and criticism: ML990.S5
  • Instruction and study: MT358.S52
  • Instrumental music: M110.S45
    • with
      • orchestra: M1034.S5
        • string orchestra (Solo): M1134.S5+
      • piano: M270.S5+
• Shamisen
  • History and criticism: ML1015.S52
  • Instrumental music: M142.S45
• Shehnai (Instrumental music): M110.S47
• Sheng
  • History and criticism: ML1089.S5
  • Instruction and study: MT684
    • for children: MT801.S5
  • Instrumental music: M175.S5
    • with orchestra (Solo): M1039.4.S5
• Shepherds (Vocal music): M1977.S48+
• Shino, see Shinobue
• Shinobue
  • Instruction and study: MT358.S55
  • Instrumental music
    • with piano: M270.S47+
• Shophar (Instrumental music)
  • Calls: M110.S5
  • with piano: M270.S5+
• Shorthand (Music), see Stenography (Musical instruction and study)
• Siberia (Literature on music): ML309.S5
• Side drum
  • Instruction and study: MT662+
  • Instrumental music: M146
• Sight reading (Instruction and study): MT236
• Sight singing (Instruction and study): MT870
• Sigma Alpha Iota Collection: ML31.S5+
• Signals (Instruction and study): MT735
• Siku
  • History and criticism: ML990.S58
  • Instruction and study: MT358.S6
• Simplified editions
  • Piano: M38.3
  • Violin: M44.3
  • Violoncello: M54.3
• Sinfonietta, see Symphonies
• Singers: ML400; ML420
  • Bibliography: ML128.S295
• Singing and voice culture (Instruction and study): MT820+
  • for children: MT898+
  • History: MT823
• Singing commercials (Vocal music): M1977.S5+
• Single Tax movement (Vocal music): M1664.S4+
• Singspiele
  • History and criticism: ML1950
  • Librettos: ML48+
  • Music: M1500+
  • see also Operettas
• Sisters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.S58
• Sisters of the Good Shepherd liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.S6
• Sitar
  • History and criticism: ML1015.S6
  • Instrumental music: M142.S5
    • with orchestra: M1037.4.S58
• Siwa (History and criticism): ML990.S6
• Skiffle (History and criticism): ML3536
• Skiing (Vocal music): M1977.S727+
• Skydiving (Vocal music): M1977.S73+
• Slavic-American music: M1668.7
• Slovak hymnals (United States): M2132.S3
• Slovenia (Literature on music): ML3611.S62
• Small drum (Instruction and study): MT662+
• Smoking (Vocal music): M1977.S55+
• So la, see So na
• So na
  • Instruction and study: MT377
  • Instrumental music: M110.S6
• Soccer (Vocal music): ML1977.S75+
• Social and economic conditions of the musical profession, see Economic conditions of the musical profession
• Socialism (Vocal music): M1664.S67+
• Societies: ML25+
  • Vocal music: M1900+
• Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barber Shop Quartet Singing in America (Vocal music): M1920.S54+
• Society of Friends (Quakers)
  • History and criticism: M3167.5
  • Hymnals: M2131.F9
• Society of Mayflower Descendants (Vocal music): M1676.S54
• Society of the Cincinnati (Vocal music): M1676.S55
• Sociological aspects
  • of music, see Musical life
• Software, Computer, see Computer software
• Soldiers (Vocal music): M1977.S6+
• Soldiers' songs, see War songs
• Solemnity of the Most Holy Rosary (Vespers): M2149.5.V57
• Solfeggio (Instruction and study): MT870
• Solmization (Instruction and study): MT44
• Solo cantatas, see Cantatas -- History and criticism; Cantatas -- Secular music -- Solo cantatas
• Solo instruments: M6+
  • for children: M1375+
  • History and criticism: ML549+
    • with
      • band: M1205+
      • orchestra: M1004.5+
      • string orchestra: M1105+
• Solo voices, see Duets, Trios, etc.
• Solor, see Bansuri
• Solos with accompaniment, see Reduced orchestra
• Sona, see So na
• Sonatas
  • Composition (Instruction and study): MT62
  • History and criticism
    • Chamber music: ML1156
    • Organ: ML645
    • Piano: ML745
    • Violin: ML895
  • Music
    • Organ: M8
    • Piano: M23; M202
    • Violin: M219
    • Violoncello: M231
  • see also Sonatas under individual instruments
• Sonatinas, see Sonatas
• Song bells, see Xylophone
• Songs
  • Aesthetics: ML3875
  • and music about persons, prominent or notorious: M1627.5
    • United States: M1659+
  • Bibliography: ML128.S3
    • Graded lists: M132.S6
  • Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.S6
  • Dictionaries: ML102.S6
  • History and criticism: ML2500+
    • Solo: ML2800
  • Music
    • Accompaniment
      • Orchestra: M1611+; M2102+
      • Piano: M1614; M1616; M1619+; M2110+
      • Plectral: M1623+
      • Wind instruments: M1624.7
    • Cycles: M1621.4; M2113.4
    • for children: M1997+; M2193+
    • International: M1627
    • National: M1628+
    • Sacred: M2102+
    • Secular: M1611+
    • Society: M1900+
    • Special character: M1900+
    • Topical: M1977+
    • Unaccompanied: M1621.2; M2113.2
    • see also Part-songs
• Songsters: M1627+
• Sons of Italy in America, Order of (Vocal music): M1676.S56
• Sons of the American Revolution (Vocal music): M1676.S6
• Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War (Vocal music): M1676.S7
• Sororities (Vocal music)
  • United States: M1960
• Soul music
  • Discography: ML156.4.S6
  • History and criticism: ML3537
• Sound recordings
  • Catalogs: ML156+
  • History and criticism: ML1055
  • Libraries: ML111.5
• Sounds, Musical, see Musical sounds
• Sources, Musical: M2+
  • History and criticism: ML167+
• Sousaphone, see Tuba
• South Africa (National music): M1834
• South America
  • Hymnals: M2134
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML230+; ML3575+
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML486
  • National music: M1680+; M1686+
• South Korea, see Korea (South)
• Soviet Union
  • Hymnals: M2139
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML300+; ML3680+
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML507+
  • National music: M1756+
  • Students' songs: M1972
• Space (Vocal music): M1977.S63+
• Spain
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML315+; ML3710+
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML518
  • National music: M1779+
  • Students' songs: M1967
• Spanish-American War, 1898 (Vocal music): M1643+
• Special ceremonies and occasions (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2150+
• Special techniques
  • Instrumental, see individual instruments under Musical instruction and study -- Studies and exercises
  • Singing and voice culture: MT855+
• Special texts (Sacred vocal music)
  • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2079+; M2099+
    • Songs for one voice: M2114
• Spinet, see Harpsichord
• Spirit music (Parapsychology): BF1315
• Spiritualist hymnals: M2131.S5
• Spokane. Expo 74 (Vocal music): M1677.2.S65 1974
• Sports (Vocal music): M1977.S7+
• Spring (Vocal music): M1977.S417+
• Stabat mater
  • History and criticism: ML3090
  • Vocal music (Choruses, part-songs, etc.): M2079.L82
• Staccato playing (Piano)
  • Instruction and study: MT228
• Stage bands, see Big bands
• Standardization: ML71
• Star-Spangled Banner
  • Bibliography: ML128.S6
  • History and criticism: ML3561.S8
  • Music: M1630.3.S68+
• State songs: M1657+
• Statesmen (Vocal music)
  • United States: M1659
• Statistics (Musical life): ML3795
• Steel band (Instrumental music): M1363
• Steel drum (Instruction and study): MT725.S7
• Stenography (Musical instruction and study): MT35
• Stokowski Collection, see Leopold Stokowski Collection
• Straw fiddle, see Xylophone
• String instruments
  • Bibliography: ML128.S7
  • History and criticism: ML750+
    • Construction: ML755
  • Instruction and study: MT259+
    • for children: MT801.S8
  • Music: M40+
    • Duets: M217+; M286+; M290+; M294+
    • Quartets: M410+; M420+; M430+; M440+; M450+; M460+; M470+; M480+
    • Quintets: M510+; M520+; M530+; M540+; M550+; M560+; M570+; M580+
    • Sextets: M610+; M620+; M630+; M640+; M650+; M660+; M670+; M680+
    • Trios: M310+; M320+; M330+; M349+; M360+; M370+; M380+
    • with orchestra (Solo): M1012+; M1112+
  • see also individual string instruments
• String orchestra: M1100+
  • Pieces: M1145+
  • Solo instrument(s) with string orchestra: M1105+
• String quartets
  • Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.S7
  • History and criticism: ML1160
  • Music: M450+
• String quintets: M550+
• String sextets: M650+
• String trios: M349+
• Students' songs: M1940+
  • Bibliography: ML128.S75
• Style (Composition): ML430.5
• Subvention of music: ML62
• Suites
  • Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.S8
  • History and criticism: ML1258
    • Chamber music: ML1158
    • Organ: ML646
    • Piano: ML746
    • Violin: ML896
  • Music
    • Band: M1203; M1254
    • Detached: M1003
    • Orchestra: M1003
    • Organ: M9
    • Piano: M24; M203
    • String orchestra: M1103
    • Violin: M220
    • Violoncello: M232
• Summer (Vocal music): M1977.S418+
• Sunday (Vespers): M2149.5.V575
• Sunday schools
  • Methods of teaching music (Religious education): BV1534+
  • Song books: M2193
• Suo na, see So na
• Supervisors' manuals, see Teachers'-supervisors' manuals
• Surinam (Literature on music): ML239.S9
• Sursum corda: M2079.L85
• Sweden
  • Hymnals: M2140.S8
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML313+; ML3706
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML516
  • National music: M1774+
• Swedenborgian hymnals: M2131.S8
• Switzerland
  • Hymnals: M2141
  • Literature on music
    • History and criticism: ML320+; ML3720+
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML520
  • National music: M1784+
  • Students' songs: M1961
• Syllabi (History and criticism): ML161
• Symphonic poems
  • Band: M1201
    • Arrangements: M1254
  • Orchestra: M1002
  • String orchestra: M1102
• Symphonies
  • Analytical guides: MT125+
  • Bibliography: ML128.S9
  • Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.S9
  • Discography: ML156.4.S9
  • History and criticism: ML1200
  • Music
    • Band: M1254
    • Orchestra: M1001
    • String orchestra: M1101
  • see also Symphonic poems
• Synopses (Opera, ballet, opéra-ballet, etc.): MT95+
• Synthesizers with keyboards (Instruction and study): MT192+
• Syrian church (Liturgy and ritual): M2160.65
  • see also Orthodox churches
• Syrian (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.87
• Syrinx
  • Instruction and study: MT533.S95
  • Instrumental music
    • with piano: M270.S95+
  • Musical instrument, see Panpipes

In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk

Phone: (812) 855-2971

Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu