P
- P.E.O. Sisterhood (Vocal music): M1905.P2+
- Pacific islands (National music): M1844+
- Pageants
- History and criticism: ML3543
- Music: M1520+
- Paleography: ML93+
- Palestine
- Literature on music: ML3754
- National music: M1810+
- Palm Sunday
- Instrumental music (Organ): M14.4.P4
- Vocal music
- Antiphonaries: M2149.4.P34
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.P4
- for children: M2191.P3
- Pan hu
- Instruction and study: MT335.P3
- Pan-pipes, see Panpipes
- Panama-California Exposition (San Diego, 1915)
- Vocal music: M1677.2.S3 1915
- Pandean pipes, see Panpipes
- Pange lingua: M2079.L735
- Panis angelicus: M2079.L737
- Panpipes
- History and criticism: ML990.P3
- Instrumental music
- with piano: M270.S95+
- Pan's pipes, see Panpipes
- Pantomimes, see Ballets
- Paraguay (Literature on music): ML239.P3
- Paraphrases, see Arrangements under individual instruments
- Parents' and Teachers' Association (Vocal music): M1920.P2+
- Parodies
- Librettos: ML50.9
- Part singing (Instruction and study): MT875
- Part-songs
- History and criticism: ML2600+
- Sacred: M2060+
- Special texts: M2079; M2099
- Secular: M1547+; M1627+
- for children: M1997+
- see also Choruses
- Partitas, see Suites
- Party songs, Political (United States): M1659.7+
- Passion Sunday (Propers): M2148.3.P3
- Passionist liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.P4
- Passiontide (Vocal music)
- Antiphonaries: M2149.4.C35+
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.L5
- see also Lent
- Pasticcios (Analytical guides): MT100+
- Pater noster: M2079.L74
- Patriotic monuments (Vocal music)
- United States: M1677.3
- Patriotic music, see National music
- Patriotic occasions (Vocal music): M1629.5
- Patriotic societies and organizations (Vocal music)
- United States: M1676+
- Patriotic songs, see National songs
- Patrons of Husbandry (Vocal music): M1905.P3+
- Peace (Vocal music): M1977.P4+
- Peace Jubilee, Boston (Vocal music): M1637.2+
- Peals (Archaeology): CC255
- Pedagogics, see Instruction and study
- Pedal (Instruction and study)
- Organ: MT187
- Piano: MT227
- Pedal pieces (Organ): M11.2
- Peking opera: M1805.3+
- Pelittone, see Tuba
- Penny whistle
- History and criticism: ML990.P45
- Instruction and study: MT358.P45
- Instrumental music: M110.P46
- Pentecost
- Instrumental music (Organ): M14.4.W4
- Vocal music
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.W4
- Roman Catholic liturgy
- Propers: M2148.3.P45+
- Vespers: M2149.5.V56
- Pentecostal Holiness (Hymnals): M2131.P4
- Percussion instruments
- Bibliography: ML128.P23
- Discography: ML156.4.P4
- Dictionaries: ML102.P4
- History and criticism: ML1030+
- Construction: ML1031
- Instruction and study: MT655+
- Music: M145+
- for children: M1385.P5
- with
- orchestra (Solo): M1038+; M1138+
- piano: M284.P4+
- see also individual percussion instruments
- Bibliography: ML128.P23
- Performance practice:
- Bibliography: ML128.P235
- History and criticism: ML457
- Performers
- Biography: ML394+; ML416
- Discography: ML156.7
- Performing
- in musical theater (Instruction and study): MT956
- Performing groups, Vocal and instrumental, see Vocal and instrumental performing groups
- Periodicals: ML1 (United States), ML5 (foreign); a few classified by subject (especially those about a single composer)
- Bibliography: ML128.P24
- Pershing Rifles (Vocal music): M1676.P3
- Persia, see Iran
- Peru
- Literature on music: ML236+
- National music: M1693+
- Philadelphia. Centennial Exhibition (1876)
- Vocal music: M1677.2.P4 1876
- Philately, Musical, see Musical philately
- Philippine Islands
- Literature on music: ML3758.P5
- National music: M1822+
- Philosophy and physics of music: ML3800+
- Phonodiscs, see Sound recordings
- Phonofiddle (Instruction and study): MT725.P5
- Phonograph
- History and criticism: ML1055
- Instruction and study: MT703
- Singing and voice culture: MT853
- Vocal music: M1977.P45
- Phonorecords, see Sound recordings
- Phonotapes, see Sound recordings
- Phonowires, see Sound recordings
- Photography (Vocal music): M1977.P47+
- Phrasing (Instruction and study): MT75
- Piano: MT235
- Singing and voice culture: MT892
- Physical education and music, see Music and physical education
- Physical fitness (Vocal music): M1977.P5+
- Physical influence of music: ML3920
- Physics of music: ML3800+
- Physiology: ML3820
- and hygiene of voice (Instruction and study): M821
- of the hand (Instruction and study)
- Piano: MT221
- Violin: MT261
- P'i p'a
- History and criticism: ML1015.P5
- Instruction and study: MT654.P5
- Instrumental music: M142.P6
- with orchestra (Solo): M1037.4.P5
- Pianists: ML397; ML417
- Piano
- Analytical guides: MT140+
- Bibliography: ML128. P3
- Discographiy: ML156.4.P5
- Graded lists: ML132. P3
- Dictionaries: ML102.P5
- History and criticism: ML650+
- Construction: ML652+
- Instruction and study: MT220+
- Accompaniment: MT239
- for children: MT745+
- Four hand-two pianos: MT 242
- Instrumental music: M20+
- Duets: M200+
- Five and more hands: M213
- Four hand-two pianos: M214+
- Three hands: M205
- for children: M1378+
- Quartets: M410+
- Quintets: M510+
- Sextets: M610+
- Trios: M310+
- Two pianos: M214+
- with orchestra (Solo): M1010+; M111O+
- Duets: M200+
- Piano, Toy, see Toy piano
- Piano accordion, see Accordion
- Piano harp (Instruction and study): MT557
- Piano trade, see Music trade
- Piano-zither (Instruction and study): MT634.P5
- Pianograph, see Music recorders
- Pianola (Instrumental music)
- with orchestra (Solo): M1039.4.P5
- Piccolet (Instruction and study): MT358.P5
- Piccolo
- Instruction and study: MT357
- Instrumental music: M11O.P5
- with
- orchestra (Solo): M1034.P5+; M1134.P5+
- piano: M270. P45+
- with
- Pictorial works: ML89
- Pie Jesu: M2079.L745
- Pieces
- Band: M1245+; M1258+
- Duets: M204; M221; M233
- Orchestra: M1045+
- Piano: M25+
- String orchestra: M1145+
- Pillar of Fire (Hymnals): M2131.P5
- P'illyul (Instrumental music): M110.P54
- Pipe
- Instruction and study: MT358.P6
- for children: MT801.P55
- Instrumental music: M11O.P56
- with piano: M270.P5+
- Instruction and study: MT358.P6
- Pipe organ, see Organ
- P'iri, see P'illyul
- Pittsburgh (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.2.P6
- Plain chant, see Chants (Plain, Gregorian, etc.)
- Player piano
- History and criticism: ML1070
- Instruction and study: MT700
- Rolls (Catalogs): ML158
- Playing by ear (Piano)
- Instruction and study: MT239
- Plectral instruments
- History and criticism: ML1000+
- Construction: ML1001; ML1016+
- Instruction and study: MT539+
- Music: M115+
- Accompaniment: M1623+
- Duets: M272+; M292+
- Orchestra: M1360
- Quartets: M425+; M465+
- Quintets: M525+; M565+
- Sextets: M625+; M665+
- Trios: M325+; M365+
- with orchestra (Solo): M1036+; M1136+
- see also individual plectral instruments
- History and criticism: ML1000+
- Plucked dulcimer, see Appalachian dulcimer
- Poems on music: P
- Poets
- Songs for one voice: M1619.5
- Poland
- Literature on music
- History and criticism: ML297+; ML3677
- National music: M1755.3+
- Literature on music
- Police (Vocal music): M1977.P7+
- Polish Catholic Church (Liturgy and ritual): M2155.6
- Political movement songs (United States): M1659.7+
- Political music, see National music
- Political party songs (United States): M1659.7+
- Political songs (United States): M1659.7+
- see also National songs -- United States
- Polkas
- History and criticism: ML3465
- Music: M31; M1048; M1148; M1248; M1264
- Pollution (Vocal music): M1977.C53+
- Polonaises
- Bibliography: ML128.P6
- Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.P6
- Polyphonic playing (Piano)
- Instruction and study: MT238
- Polyphony
- History and criticism: ML446
- Instruction and study: MT55
- Polytonality: ML3811
- Instruction and study: MT46
- Popular music: M1627+
- Analytical guides: MT146
- Bibliography: ML128.P63
- Composition (Instruction and study): MT67
- Dictionaries: ML102.P66
- Discography: ML156.4.P6
- History and criticism: ML3470+
- Songs: M1630.18+
- Lyrics, see Lyrics (Popular songs)
- Popular music, Christian, see Contemporary Christian music
- Popular songs, see Popular music -- Songs
- Populist Party (Vocal music): M1664.P6+
- Portugal
- Literature on music
- History and criticism: ML317+; ML3717+
- Instruments and instrumental music: ML519
- National music: M1781+
- Students' songs: M1967
- Literature on music
- Positions (Instruction and study)
- Viola: MT288
- Violin: MT268
- Violoncello: MT308
- Post horn
- History and criticism: ML990.P67
- Instruction and study: MT456
- Potpourris: M39; M212; M1075; M1268
- Practice
- Bibliography: ML112.8
- Instrumental instruction: MT258
- Praefationes particulares (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2148.23
- Preludes
- Band: M1204; M1255
- Orchestra: M1004
- Organ: M10
- String orchestra: M1104
- Premonstratensian liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.P74
- Pre-piano instruments, see Harpsichord
- Presbyterian church
- History and criticism: ML3176
- Vocal music
- Hymnals: M2130
- Liturgy and ritual: M2181
- Presentation of Jesus Christ, Feast of the, see Candlemas
- Presidents (Vocal music)
- United States: M1659
- Primary schools (Vocal music)
- for children: M1992+
- Printers, Music, see Music printers
- Printing, Music, see Music printing and publishing
- Prizes
- Bibliography: ML128.P68
- Literature on music: ML75.5+
- Processionals: M2079.L75; M2149.6
- Prodigies, Musical, see Musical prodigies
- Production
- in musical theater (Instruction and study): MT955
- Program music
- Aesthetics: ML3855
- History and criticism: ML3300+
- see also Symphonic poems
- Programs
- Concerts: ML42
- Operatic performances: ML40+
- Progressive Party (New)
- Vocal music: M1664.P7+
- Prohibition movement (Vocal music): M1664.P8+
- Prominent persons, Songs about, see Songs and music about persons, prominent or notorious
- Pronunciation
- Dictionaries: ML109
- Instruction and study: MT883
- Proofreading: MT35
- Propers: M2012; M2148.2+
- Protest (Vocal music): M1977.P75+
- Protest songs (History and criticism)
- France: ML3621.P76
- Protestant chorale, see Chorales -- History and criticism -- Protestant
- Protestant churches
- Bibliography: ML128.P7
- History and criticism: ML3100+
- Vocal music
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2090
- Hymnals: M2122+
- Liturgy and ritual: M2161+
- Services: M2017+
- Songs for one voice: M2114.1
- see also Sacred music
- Protestant Episcopal Church in the U.S.A.
- Vocal music
- Hymnals: M2125
- Liturgy and ritual: M2169+
- Services: M2016+
- Vocal music
- Prussia (Literature on music): ML279+; ML3638
- Psalm
- 1: M2079.L168
- 31: M2079.L435
- 51: M2079.L62
- 67: M2079.L35
- 92: M2079.L23
- 95: M2079.L95
- 96: M2079.L25
- 100: M2079.L45
- 103: M2079.L17
- 110: M2079.L373
- 113: M2079.L535
- 130: M2079.L34
- 144: M2079.L2
- 150: M2079.L53
- Psalm books, see Hymnals
- Psalmody (History and criticism): ML3086; ML3186; ML3270
- Psalms (Vocal music)
- Antiphonaries: M2149.2.P8
- Psalters (Antiphonaries): M2149.2.P8
- Psaltery (History and criticism): ML1015.P8
- Psychoanalysis (Vocal music): M1977.P8+
- Psychology: ML3830+
- Public schools, see Elementary schools; Junior high schools; High schools
- Publishers, Music, see Music publishers
- Publishing, Music, see Music printing and publishing
- Puerto Rico
- Literature on music: ML207.P8
- National music: M1681.P6+
- Pung
- History and criticism: ML1038.P85
- Instruction and study: MT725.P8
- Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Feast of the, see Candlemas
Questions?
In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk
Phone: (812) 855-2971
Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu