Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Classification Numbers by Subject

M

  • Ma t'ou ch'in, see Morin khuur
  • Maccabees, Woman's Benefit Association of the (Vocal music): M1905.W6+
  • McKim Fund Collection: ML31.M24+
  • Madonna, see Mary, Virgin
  • Madrigals: M1547+
    • Bibliography: M2079.L6
  • Magnificat: M2079.L6
  • Mail carriers (Vocal music): M1977.M3+
  • Malabaric (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.85
  • Male choruses, see Men's voices
  • Malta (Literature on music): ML325.M3
  • Managers: ML406; ML429
  • Mandola
    • Instruction and study: MT611
    • Instrumental music: M142.M25
  • Mandolin
    • History and criticism: ML1015.M2
    • Instruction and study: MT600+; MT734
      • for children: MT801.M3
      • Orchestra and orchestration: MT74
    • Instrumental music: M130+
      • Accompaniment: M1623
      • Orchestra: M1360
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1037.4.M3; M1137.4.M3
        • piano: M278+
  • Mandolin guitar (Instruction and study): MT634.M35
  • Mandolin harp (Instrumental music): M175.M3
  • Mandoloncello (Instruction and study): MT612
  • Manuals (Instruction and study): MT10
  • Manufacturers of instruments: ML404; ML424
  • Manuscripts
    • Bibliography: ML135
    • Music: M1.A1+; M1490; M2147; M2156
      • Facsimiles: M2+
    • Text: ML93+
  • Maracas (Instruction and study): MT725.M4
  • Marches
    • Bibliography: ML128.M25
    • Music: M28; M1046; M1146; M1247; M1260
  • Marching bands and maneuvers (Instruction and study): MT733.4
  • Marching routines (Band): M1269
  • Marian feasts (Vocal music)
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.M33
    • Propers: M2148.3.M3
    • Vespers: M2149.5.V55
  • Marimba (History and criticism): ML1048
  • Maronite (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.86
  • Marseillaise (Song)
    • History and criticism: ML3621.M37
  • Martenot (Musical instrument), see Ondes Martenot
  • Martial music, see Wars -- Vocal music
  • Mary, Virgin (Vocal music)
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.M33; M2079.L975
    • Roman Catholic liturgy
      • Antiphonaries
        • Little office: M2149.5.L52
        • Vespers: M2149.5.V55
      • Propers: M2148.3.B59
        • Assumption: M2148.3.A88
        • Immaculate Heart: M2148.3.I46
        • Marian feasts: M2148.3.M3
  • Masonic songs: M1900+
  • Masques
    • Librettos: ML52+
    • Music: M1520+
  • Mass, Common
    • of a confessor not a bishop (Propers): M2148.3.C65
      • one or more Popes (Propers): M2148.3.P66
  • Mass on the day of death or burial (Propers): M2148.3.D4
  • Masses
    • History and criticism: ML3088
    • Vocal music: M2010+
      • Kyriales: M2148.5+
      • Propers: M2148.3
  • Matins (Antiphonaries): M2149.2.M4
    • Office for the dead: M2149.5.D44
  • Maundy Thursday, see Holy Thursday
  • Maxims, see Aphorisms
  • May Day (Vocal music): M1977.M37+
  • Mazdaznan hymnals: M2131.M2
  • Mbira
    • Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.M65
    • History and criticism: ML1015.M25
    • Instruction and study: MT654.M38
    • Instrumental music: M142.M3
  • Mechanical instruments
    • History and criticism: ML1050+
    • Instruction and study: MT700+
    • Music: M174+
  • Media vita: M2079.L61
  • Medical songs: M1977.M4+
  • Medieval music
    • Bibliography: ML128.M3
    • History and criticism: ML170+
  • Medleys: M39
  • Medtner Collection, see Nicolai Karlovich Medtner (1880-1951) Collection
  • Meissen (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.2.M4
  • Melkite (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.75
  • Mellophone (Instrumental music)
    • with piano: M270.M4+
  • Melodica
    • Instruction and study: MT533.M4
    • Instrumental music: M110.M44
  • Melodramas
    • Aesthetics: ML3861
    • History and criticism: ML1700+; ML2050
  • Melody
    • Aesthetics: ML3851
    • History and criticism (Composition): ML440
    • Instruction and study
      • Composition: MT47
      • Playing (Piano): MT228
    • Psychology: ML3834
  • Melody flute (Instruction and study): MT358.M4
  • Melody instruments
    • for children: M1385.M3
    • see also Unspecified (Melody) instruments
  • Melograph, see Music recorders
  • Meloharp (Instruction and study): MT634.M44
  • Memorial Day (Vocal music): M1629.3.M3
  • Memorizing (Instruction and study): MT82
  • Men (Vocal music): M1977.M44
  • Mennonite Church
    • History and criticism: ML3169
    • Hymnals: M2131.M4
  • Men's colleges (Vocal music)
    • United States: M1946+
  • Men's voices
    • History and criticism: ML2660
    • Sacred vocal music: M2029+; M2063; M2073; M2080.6; M2083; M2093
    • Secular vocal music: M1538+; M1550; M1560; M1576
      • Unaccompanied: M1580; M1590
  • Mercedarian liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.M5
  • Meta-harp (Instruction and study): MT634.M48
  • Metaphysics: ML3800+
  • Methodist church
    • History and criticism: ML3170
    • Vocal music
      • Hymnals: M2127
      • Liturgy and ritual: M2175
  • Methodology: ML3915
  • Methods (Instruction and study): MT20+
    • for
      • children (Singing and voice culture): MT925; MT935; MT937
      • several instruments in one work: MT172
    • see also individual instruments; Systems and methods under Singing and voice culture
  • Metronome (History and criticism): ML1080
  • Mexican troubles, 1914-1917 (Vocal music): M1645
  • Mexican War, 1845-1848 (Vocal music): M1635+
  • Mexico
    • Literature on music
      • History and criticism: ML210+; ML3570
      • Instruments and instrumental music: ML482
    • National music: M1682+
  • Middle ages: ML170+
  • Middle East (National music): M1828
  • Military music: UH40
    • Bibliography: ML128.M4
    • see also Band -- Music
  • Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States (Vocal music): M1676.M48
  • Military Order of the Purple Heart (Vocal music): M1676.M5
  • Miller Foundation, see Dayton C. Miller Foundation
  • Miners (Vocal music): M1977.M5+
  • Minnesingers: ML183
  • Minstrel music: M1365
  • Minstrels (Modern)
    • History and criticism: ML2870
  • Minuet (Composition)
    • Instruction and study: MT64.M5
  • Miserere mei, Deus: M2079.L62
  • Missiles (Vocal music): M1977.S63+
  • Mixed voices
    • Sacred vocal music: M2020+; M2062; M2072; M2080.5; M2082; M2092
    • Secular vocal music: M1530+; M1549; M1552; M1575
      • Unaccompanied: M1579; M1582
  • Modern music
    • History and criticism: M197+
  • Modern schisms from the Roman Catholic Church: M2155+
  • Modern Woodmen of the World (Vocal music): M1905.W7+
  • Modes, see Church modes
  • Modulation (Instruction and study): MT52
    • Organ: MT191.M6
  • Moldavia (Literature on music): ML309.M6
  • Monaco (Literature on music): ML325.M6
  • Monism (Hymnals): M2131.M6
  • Months (Vocal music): M1977.M54+
  • Montreal. Expo 67 (Vocal music): M1677.2.M65 1967
  • Moose, Loyal Order of (Vocal music): M1905.M7+
  • Moral Re-armament (Hymnals): M2131.M7
  • Morals (Vocal music): M1977.M55+
  • Moravian church
    • History and criticism: ML3172
    • Vocal music
      • Hymnals: M2128
      • Liturgy and ritual: M2177
  • Morin khuur (Instruction and study): MT335.M67
  • Mormon church, see Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
  • Morning services
    • Church of England: M2168.2
    • Protestant Episcopal Church in the U.S.A.: M2016.2+
  • Motets, see Choruses, Part-songs
  • Mothers (Vocal music): M1977.M57+
  • Mother's Day (Sacred vocal music)
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.M6
    • for children: M2191.M6
  • Motion picture music
    • Bibliography: ML128.M7
      • Discography: ML156.4.M6
    • Composition (Instruction and study): MT64.M65
    • History and criticism: ML2075
    • Instruction and study: MT737
    • Instrumental music: M176
    • Vocal music: M1527+
  • Motives (Dictionaries): ML102.T5
  • Motor transportation (Vocal music): M1977.M6+
  • Mountain dulcimer, see Appalachian dulcimer
  • Mountaineering (Vocal music): M1977.M63+
  • Mouth harmonica, see Harmonica
  • Mouth organ, see Harmonia
  • Mouth organs
    • History and criticism: ML1088+
    • Instruction and study: MT682+
  • Moving pictures (Music), see Motion picture music
  • Mozarabic liturgy and ritual: M2154.6.M7
  • Mridanga
    • History and criticsm: ML1038.M74
    • Instruction and study: MT725.M7
  • Münster (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.2.M83
  • Musette (Instruction and study): MT373
  • Music
    • and
      • color: ML3840
        • see also Music with color apparatus
      • computers, see Computers and music
      • international auxiliary language or literature in universal languages: ML75
      • physical education: ML3923
    • for
      • children
        • Bibliography: ML128.J8
          • Discography: ML156.4.C5
        • Instruction and study
          • Singing and voice culture: MT898+
          • see also under individual instruments
        • Sacred vocal music: M2190+
        • Secular vocal music: M1990+
        • see also Instrumental music for children; Instrumental music for children under individual instruments, mediums or forms
      • the blind
        • Bibliography: ML128.B47
        • Notation (Instruction and study): MT38
      • in
        • colleges and universities (Instruction and study): MT18
        • industry: ML3922
        • special education: MT17
        • the fine arts: ML85
          • Aesthetic relations: ML3849
        • the home: ML67
        • theaters (Instruction and study): MT960
      • Instrumental or vocal, printed or copied in manuscript, before 1700: M1490
      • Popular, see Popular music
      • Spirit (Parapsychology), see Spirit music
      • with
        • color apparatus, etc.: M1480
    • Music, computer, see Computer music
    • Music appreciation
      • Bibliography: ML128.A7
      • Instruction and study: MT5.5+; MT90+
    • Music box
      • History and criticism: ML1066
      • Instrumental music: M174.M85
    • Music competitions (Bibliography): ML128.M74
    • Music foundations: ML29+
    • Music hall orchestra: M1350
    • Music hall songs: M1622
    • Music industry (History and criticism): ML3790
    • Music librarianship: ML110+
    • Music libraries: ML136+
      • Catalogs: ML136+
    • Music literature: ML1+
    • Music notation, Computer production of: MT39
    • Music printed or copied in manuscript in the United States: M1.Al+
    • Music printers: ML405; ML427
    • Music printing and publishing
      • Bibliography: ML112+
      • Vocal music (Publishing): M1977.M8+
    • Music publishers: ML405; ML427
      • Catalogs: ML145
    • Music schools, see Institutions (Music) -- Educational
    • Music therapy: ML3920
      • Bibliography: ML128.M77
    • Music trade (Dictionaries): ML102.M85
    • Music writing exercises: MT35
    • Musical ceramics: ML86
    • Musical charades, see Musical games
    • Musical clocks (History and criticism): ML1067
    • Musical comedies, see Musical revues, comedies, etc.
    • Musical drama, see Operas
    • Musical farce, see Comic operas
    • Musical games
      • Instruction and study: MT948
      • Vocal music: M1985
    • Musical glasses, see Glass harmonica
    • Musical instruction, see Instruction and study
    • Musical journalism: ML3785
    • Musical life: ML3795
    • Musical numismatics: ML86
    • Musical philately: ML86
    • Musical prodigies: ML81
    • Musical revues, comedies, etc.
      • Bibliography: ML128.M78
      • Dictionaries: ML102.M88
      • Instruction and study: MT955
      • Production (Instruction and study): MT955
    • Musical saw (Instrumental music): M175.M9
    • Musical shorthand, see Stenography (Musical instruction and study)
    • Musical sketches, see Compositions
    • Musical sounds: ML3807
    • Musical sources, see Sources, Musical
    • Musical theater (Instruction and study): MT955+
    • Musicians
      • Biography: ML385+
      • Caricatures: ML87+
      • Examinations: MT9
        • by government boards: ML71
      • Houses: ML87+
      • Iconography: ML87+
      • Letters: ML95+
      • Portraits: ML87+
        • Catalogs: ML140
      • Registration: ML71
      • Writings: ML90
    • Musicology: ML3797
      • Bibliography: ML128.M8
    • My country 'tis of thee, see America (My country 'tis of thee)
    • My soul doth magnify, see Magnificat
    • Mystic Order of Veiled Prophets of the Enchanted Realm (Vocal music): M1900.M38+
    • Mystic Shrine (Vocal music): M1900.M4+

Questions?

In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk

Phone: (812) 855-2971

Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu