Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Classification Numbers by Subject

F

  • Facetiae (Literature on music): ML65
  • Facsimiles
    • Music: M2+; M2147; M2156
    • Text: ML94.5; ML95.5; ML96.4+
  • Fall (Vocal music): M1977.S413+
  • Fantasies (Instrumental music): M39; M1075; M1268
  • Farmer-Labor Party (Vocal music): M1664.F15+
  • Farmers (Vocal music): M1977.F2+
  • Farmers' Alliance (Vocal music): M1664.F2+
  • Fathers (Vocal music): M1977.F26+
  • Father's Day (Sacred vocal music)
    • Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.F3
    • for children: M2191.F38
  • Faux bourdons: M2079.L388
  • Feast of the Presentation of Jesus Christ, see Candlemas
  • Federal Party (Vocal music): M1664.F4+
  • Festa d'Elche, see Elche, Festa d' (Bibliography)
  • Festivals: ML35+
    • Bibliography: ML128.F47
    • History and criticism: ML3500
    • see also Pageants
  • Festschriften (Literature on music): ML55+
  • Fiction, see PA-PZ
  • Fiddle Playing, see Fiddling
  • Fiddling (Instruction and study): MT279.5
  • Field music: M1270
    • Instruction and study: MT735
  • Fife
    • Instruction and study: MT356
    • Instrumental music: M110.F4
  • Fife and drum
    • Instruction and study: MT735
    • Instrumental music: M1270
  • Filipino Federation of America (Vocal music): M1676.F5
  • Film operas, etc.
    • Librettos: ML52.7
  • Fine arts, Music in the, see Music in the fine arts
  • Fingering (Piano)
    • Instruction and study: MT232
  • Finland
    • Literature on music: ML269+; ML3619
    • National music: M1729.3+
    • Students' songs: M1972
  • Fire prevention (Vocal music): M1977.F38+
  • Firefighters (Vocal music): M1977.F4+
  • First communion
    • Vocal church music
      • Roman Catholic ceremony: M2150.3.F57
  • First editions (Music): M3.3
  • Fishermen (Vocal music): M1977.F5+
  • Fizdale Collection, see Gold and Fizdale Collection
  • Flag Day (Vocal music): M1629.3.F4
  • Flageolet
    • Instruction and study: MT359
      • for children: MT801.F4
    • Instrumental music: M110.F5
  • Flamenco
    • Dancing: GV1796.F55
    • Dictionaries: ML102.F55
    • History and criticism: ML3712
  • Flowers (Vocal music): M1977.F54+
  • Fluegelhorn
    • Instruction and study: MT493
    • Instrumental music: M110.F53
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1034.F6+; M1134.F7+
        • piano: M270.F7+
  • Flute
    • Bibliography: ML128.F7
    • History and criticism: ML935+
      • Construction: ML936
    • Instruction and study: MT340+
      • for children: MT801.F5
    • Instrumental music: M60+
      • for children: M1385.F6
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1020+; M1120+
        • piano: M240+
  • Flutophone, see Tonette
  • Folk dance music (Discography): ML156.4.F45
  • Folk festivals, see Pageants
  • Folk music: M1627+
    • Bibliography: ML128.F74+
      • Discography: ML156.4.F5
    • Dictionaries: ML102.F66
    • History and criticism: ML3545+
  • Folk songs
    • Bibliography: ML128.F75
    • see also Folk music
  • Folk-style violin playing (Instruction and study): MT279.5
  • Football (Vocal music): M1977.S718+
  • Foreign wars, American songs on: M1675
  • Forest fires (Vocal music): M1977.F6+
  • Foresters (Vocal music): M1977.F6+
  • Foresters' fraternal organizations (Vocal music): M1905.W7+
  • Formation
    • of church choirs (Instruction and study): MT88
  • Forms
    • History and criticism: ML448; ML644+
    • Instruction and study: MT58+
      • Piano: MT224
    • see also individual instruments, instrumental groups, vocal music, chamber and other types of music, etc.
  • Forty hours adoration (Roman Catholic ceremony): M2150.3.F67
  • Foundations, Music, see Music foundations
  • Fourth of July (Vocal music): M1629.3.F5
  • Fragments (Unidentified compositions): M5000
  • France
    • Hymnals: M2137
    • Literature on music
      • History and criticism: ML270+; ML3620+
      • Instruments and instrumental music: ML497
    • National music: M1730+
    • Students' songs: M1962
  • Francis Maria Scala (1820-1903) Collection: ML31.S3+
  • Franciscan liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.F7
  • Fraternal Order of Eagles, see Eagles, Fraternal Order of
  • Fraternal societies, Secret, see Secret fraternal societies
  • Fraternities (Vocal music)
    • United States: M1960
  • Free Methodist hymnals: M2131.F8
    • see also Methodist church
  • Free-Soil Party (Vocal music): M1664.F8+
  • French-American music: M1688.8
  • Friends, Society of
    • History and criticism: ML3167.5
    • Hymnals: M2131.F9
  • Fromm Music Foundation Collection: ML30.23+
  • Fugues
    • Instruction and study: MT59
    • Organ: M10
  • Funeral music
    • Bibliography: ML128.F8
    • Organ: M14.4.F8
    • see also Burial services, Offices for the dead

Questions?

In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk

Phone: (812) 855-2971

Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu