C
- CCM, see Contemporary Christian music
- C.I.O., see Committee for Industrial Organization
- Cadenzas (Collections): M1004.6+
- see also individual instruments under Orchestra -- Single solo instruments and two or more like solo instruments
- Cajun music: M1668.8
- Calliope (Instrumental music): M175.C3
- Camaldolese liturgy and ritual, see Camaldolite liturgy and ritual
- Camaldolite liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.C34
- Camp Fire Girls (Vocal music): M1977.B6+
- Campaign songs (United States)
- Bibliography: Ml128.C13
- United States: M1659.7+
- Campanology (Archaeology): CC255
- Camping (Vocal music): M1977.C3+
- Canada
- Literature on music
- History and criticism: ML205+; ML3563
- Instruments and instrumental music: ML478
- National music: M1678+
- Students' songs: M1970
- Literature on music
- Canal Zone (National music): M1672.C2
- Canals (Vocal music): M1977.C34+
- Candlemas (Vocal music)
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.C2
- Processions (Roman Catholic ceremony): M2150.4.C35
- Canons (Instruction and study): MT59
- Cantatas
- Analytical guides: MT110+
- Bibliography: ML128.C15
- for children: M1996
- History and criticism: ML2400; ML3260
- Librettos: ML54+
- National music: M1629.5
- Sacred music: M2020+
- Secular music: M1610
- Solo cantatas: M1611+
- Unaccompanied: M2081+
- Cantate Domino canticum novum, cantate Domino: M2079.L25
- Cante hondo (Dancing)
- Dancing: GV1796.F55
- History and criticism: ML3712
- Cantus Passionis (Antiphonaries): M2149.4.C35+
- Canun (Instrumental music)
- with orchestra (Solo): M1037.4.C3
- Capuchin liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.C36
- Carillon
- History and criticism: ML1039
- Instruction and study: MT710
- Instrumental music: M172
- Carmelite liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.C37
- Carols
- Dictionaries: ML102.C3
- see also Christmas -- Carols
- Castanets
- Instruction and study: MT724.C4
- Instrumental music: M175.C35
- Cataloging (Music librarianship): ML110+
- Catalogs
- Collectors: ML97
- Dealers: ML97; ML150+
- Sound recordings: ML156+
- Exhibitions: ML141; ML462
- Instruments: ML155; ML462
- Libraries: ML136+
- Manuscripts: ML94+
- Portraits: ML140
- Publishers: ML145
- Thematic: ML134
- Bibliography: ML128.T48
- Catches (History and criticism): ML2770
- Catholic Church, Roman, see Roman Catholic Church
- Celesta (Instrumental music): M175.C44
- with piano: M284.C4+
- Cembalo, see Harpsichord
- Cemeteries (Vocal music): M1977.C4+
- Centennial Exhibition (Philadelphia, 1876)
- Vocal music: M1677.2.P4 1876
- Central America
- Hymnals: M2134
- Literature on music
- History and criticism: ML220; ML3572
- Instruments and instrumental music: ML484
- National music: M1684+
- Century of Progress International Exposition (Chicago, 1933)
- Vocal music: M2677.2.C3 1933
- Ceramics, Musical, see Musical ceramics
- Ceremonies and occasions, Special (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2150+
- Ceskoslovenská Církev (Hymnals): M2131.C33
- Chaconne (Composition)
- Instruction and study: MT64.C48
- Chaldean (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.82
- Chaldean church (Liturgy and ritual): M2160.3
- see also Orthodox churches
- Chalumeau (History and criticism): ML990.C5
- Chamber music: M177+; M900+
- Analytical guides: MT140+
- Arrangements (Piano): M38; M211
- Bibliography: ML128.C4
- Discography: ML156.4.C4
- Graded lists: ML132.C4
- for obsolete instruments: M990
- History and criticism: ML1100+
- Instruction and study: MT728
- for children: MT810
- Chamber orchestra: M1000+
- Chance compositions: M1470
- Chance music, see Chance compositions
- Chang go, see Changgo
- Change ringing (Archaeology): CC255
- Chansons, see Songs
- Chanting (Plain, Gregorian, etc.)
- Instruction and study: MT860
- Chants (Plain, Gregorian, etc.)
- Dictionaries: ML102.C45
- History and criticism: ML3082
- Music
- Church of England: M2168.6
- Manuscripts: M2147
- Protestant Episcopal Church in the U.S.A.: M2016.6
- Roman Catholic Church: M2150.2; M2153.2
- Chapter (Masonic)
- Vocal music: M1900.M32+
- Charades, see Musical games
- Charango
- History and criticism: ML1015.C37
- Instruction and study: MT599.C45
- Charts (Instruction and study): MT15
- Chemistry (Vocal music): M1977.C43+
- Cheng
- History and criticism: ML1015.C47
- Instruction and study: MT654.C47
- Instrumental music: M142.C49
- Chevé-Galin method, see Galin-Paris-Chevé method
- Chi na, see So na
- Chicago (Expositions)
- Vocal music: M1677.2.C3 1893+
- Children
- and music: ML83
- Children's Day (Sacred vocal music for children): M2191.C4
- Children's Fund (United Nations)
- Vocal music: M1920.U48+
- Children's instruments, see Toy orchestra
- Children's music, see Music for children
- Children's voices (Vocal music)
- Sacred: M2190+
- Secular: M1546.5; M1990+
- Chile
- Literature on music: ML233+
- National music: M1691+
- Chimes
- History and criticism: ML1039
- Instruction and study: MT720.C5
- Instrumental music: M172
- see also Bells
- Ch'in
- History and criticism: ML1015.C5
- Instruction and study: MT654.C5
- Instrumental music: M142.C5
- Chin ch'ien pan (Instruction and study): MT725.C5
- China
- Literature on music
- History and criticism: ML336+; ML3746
- Instruments and instrumental music: ML531
- National music: M1804+
- Literature on music
- Chinese lute, see P'i p'a
- Chinese operas: M1805.3+
- Ching hu
- Instruction and study: MT335.H8
- Instrumental music: M59.H8
- with orchestra (Solo): M1019.H8
- Choir training
- for children (Instruction and study): MT915
- Choral books, see Hymnals
- Choral music
- Graded lists; ML132.C5
- History and criticism: ML1500+
- see also Choruses
- Choral services, see Services (Sacred vocal music)
- Choral symphonies (Unaccompanied): M1610; M2081+
- Chorales
- Bibliography: ML128.C46
- History and criticism
- Non-denominational: ML3265
- Protestant: ML3184
- Roman Catholic: ML3084
- Instruction and study
- Organ: MT191.C5
- Protestant (Singing and voice culture): MT865
- Chord organ, see Electronic instruments
- Chord playing (Instruction and study)
- Piano: MT229
- Viola: MT289
- Violin: MT269
- Violoncello: MT309
- Chord zither see Guitar zither
- Chorus and part singing (Instruction and study): MT875
- Choruses
- Bibliography: ML128.C48
- Librettos: ML54+
- Music
- in tonic sol-fa notation: M1608; M2101
- Sacred: M2020+; M2060+
- for children: M2190+
- Secular: M1530+; M1547+
- for children: M1997+
- Unaccompanied: M1578+; M1610
- Unison: M1609
- with recitation
- Sacred: M2020.3; M2023.3
- Secular: M1530.3; M1533.3; M1538.3; M1540.3; M1543.3; M1544.3
- see also Choral music
- Chottae, see Taegum
- Christian Catholic Apostolic Church in Zion (Hymnals): M2131.C43
- Christian music, Contemporary, see Contemporary Christian music
- Christian popular music, see Contemporary Christian music
- Christian Reformed Church (Hymnals): M2124.C5
- Christian rock music (History and criticism): ML3187.5
- Christian Science
- History and criticism: ML3161.5
- Hymnals: M2131.C5
- Christmas
- Carols
- History and criticism: ML2880+
- Instrumental music
- Organ: M14.4.C5
- Vocal music
- Sacred
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2065; M2075; M2085; M2095
- for children: M2191.C5
- Roman Catholic liturgy: M2150.4.C5
- Offices: M2149.5.C5
- Propers: M2148.3.C5+
- Vespers: M2149.5.V525
- Songs for one voice: M2114.5
- Secular: M1629.3.C5
- Sacred
- Carols
- Christ's Church of the Golden Rule (Hymnals): M2131.C44
- Church choirs, Formation of, see Formation of church choirs
- Church dedication, see Dedication of churches
- Church modes: ML3812
- Instruction and study: MT45
- Church music, see Sacred music
- Church of Christ, Scientist, see Christian Science
- Church of England
- Vocal music
- Liturgy and ritual: M2167+
- Services: M2016+
- see also Protestant Episcopal Church in the U.S.A.
- Vocal music
- Church of God (Anderson, Indiana)
- Hymnals: M2131.C57
- Church of God (Holiness)
- Hymnals: M2131.C6
- Church of God General Conference (Hymnals): M2131.C63
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
- History and criticism: ML3174
- Vocal music
- Hymnals: M2129
- Liturgy and ritual: M2179
- Church of the Brethren
- History and criticism: ML3161
- Hymnals: M2131.C65
- Church of the Nazarene (Hymnals): M2131.C68
- Church of the Social Revolution (Hymnals): M2131.S44
- Church organ, Blessing of a, see Blessing of a church organ
- Cimbalom
- Instruction and study: MT725.C55
- Instrumental music: M175.C5
- with
- orchestra (Solo): M1039.4.C55
- piano: M284.C45+
- with
- Circulars (Literature on music): ML45
- Circumcision (Propers): M2148.3.C6
- Circus (Vocal music): M1977.C45+
- Cistercian liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.C6
- Cithara
- Instrumental music
- with orchestra: M1037.4.C58
- Instrumental music
- Cither harp (Instruction and study): MT634.C4
- Cithern
- Instruction and study: MT599.C5
- Music: M142.C58
- Cities
- Societies: ML28
- Songs: M1657; M1658.5
- Civil defense (Vocal music): M1977.C46+
- Civil rights (Vocal music): M1977.C47+
- Civil War, 1861-1865
- Instrumental music: M20.C58+
- Vocal music: M1637+
- Clarinet
- Bibliography: ML128.C58
- Discography: ML156.4.C6
- History and criticism: ML945+
- Construction: ML946
- Instruction and study: MT380+
- for children: MT801.C6
- Instrumental music: M70+
- for children: M1385.C6
- with
- orchestra (Solo): M1024+; M1124+
- piano: M248+
- Bibliography: ML128.C58
- Classification (Music librarianship): ML110+
- Clavecin, see Harpsichord
- Clavicembalo, see Harpsichord
- Clavichord, see Harpsichord
- Clavioline (Instrumental music): M175.C54
- with piano: M284.C5+
- Cleveland. Great Lakes Exposition (1936)
- Vocal music: M1677.2.C6 1936
- Club courses: MT34
- Clubs (Vocal music): M1920+
- Coach horn (Instrumental music): M110.C5
- Coeducational colleges (Vocal music)
- United States: M1957+
- Collections
- Individual composers: M3+
- Miscellaneous: M1; M5
- see also individual instruments, mediums, or forms
- Collects: M2079.L27
- College operas: M1504
- College songs, see Students' songs
- Colleges, Music ln, see Music in colleges and universities
- Cologne (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.2.C64
- Colombia (Literature on music): ML234+
- Color and music, see Music and color
- Columbia the gem of the ocean: M1630.3.C6
- Columbus Day (Vocal music): M1629.3.C6
- Comic operas
- History and criticism: ML1850; ML1950
- Librettos: ML48+
- Music: M1500+
- Comic songs, see Humorous songs
- Commandery (Masonic)
- Vocal music: M1900.M35+
- Commercials, Singing, see Singing commercials
- Committee for Industrial Organization (Vocal music): M1664.L3+
- Common Mass, see Mass, Common
- Commune, 1871 (France)
- Songs (History and criticism): ML3621.C65
- Communion, First, see First communion
- Communion services
- Instrumental music (Organ): M14.4.H5
- Vocal music
- Church of England: M2168.4
- Protestant Episcopal Church in the U.S.A.: M2016.5
- Communism (Vocal music): M1977.C48+
- Communist Party (Vocal music): M1664.C6+
- Community music
- Bibliography: ML128.C59
- History and criticism: ML3500
- Instruction and study: MT87
- Vocal: M1977.C5
- Competitions
- Bibliography: ML128.C59
- Literature on music: ML75.5+
- Music, see Music competitions
- Prize, see Prize competitions
- Compline (Antiphonaries): M2149.2.C6
- Composers
- Analytical guides: MT92
- Biography: ML390; ML410+
- Collected works: M3+
- Discography: ML156.5
- Spirit composers (Parapsychology), see Spirit music
- Compositions
- Facsimiles: ML96.4+
- History and criticism: ML430+
- Instruction and study: MT40+
- by
- mechanical means (Textbooks): MT41
- spirit composers, see Spirit music
- for children: MT155
- by
- Manuscripts: ML96+
- Computer music
- Composition (Instruction and study): MT56
- History and criticism: ML1380
- Computer production of music notation: MT39
- Computer software (Literature on music): ML74.3+
- Computer sound processing (Instruction and study): MT723
- Computers
- and music: ML74
- Bibliography: ML128.C62
- Computers as musical instruments (History and criticism): ML1093
- Concert operas, see Operas
- Concertina
- Bibliography: ML128.C8
- History and criticism: ML990.C6
- Instruction and study: MT681+
- Instrumental music: M154
- with string orchestra (Solo): M1139.4.C6
- Concertos
- History and criticism: ML1263
- Music
- Band: M1205
- Orchestra: M1042
- Single instruments, see Solo instruments with band, orchestra, etc.
- String orchestra: M1142
- Two or more different instruments: M1040+; M1140+
- Conducting
- History and criticism: ML458
- Instruction and study: MT85
- Conductors: ML402; ML422
- Confederate music
- Instrumental (Piano): M20.C61
- Vocal: M1641+
- Confirmation (Roman Catholic ceremony): M2150.3.C58
- Conga drums (Instruction and study): MT663+
- Congregationalist church
- History and criticism: ML3162
- Vocal music
- Hymnals: M2123
- Liturgy and ritual: M2163
- Congregations (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2154.4+
- Congresses: ML35+
- Consecration of a church, see Dedication of a church
- Conservation (Vocal music): M1977.C53+
- Conservatories, see Institutions (Music) -- Educational
- Construction
- of concert halls, seeDesign and construction of concert halls, opera houses, etc.
- instruments: ML1016
- see also individual instruments under History and criticism -- Construction; Manufacturers of instruments
- of concert halls, seeDesign and construction of concert halls, opera houses, etc.
- Contamination of environment, see Pollution
- Contemporary Christian music (History and criticism): ML3187.5
- Contrabass trombone (Instruction and study): MT472
- Contrabass tuba (Instruction and study): MT497
- Contrabassoon (Instruction and study): MT412
- Convicts (Vocal music): M1977.C55+
- Coolidge Foundation, see Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge Foundation
- Coptic church (Liturgy and ritual): M2160.4
- see also Orthodox churches
- Coptic (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.83
- Cor Jesu: M2079.L28
- Cornet
- Instruction and study: MT440+
- for children: MT801.C66
- see also Trumpet
- Instruction and study: MT440+
- Cornet à bouquin, see Cornett
- Corneta, see Cornett
- Cornett
- History and criticism: ML990.C65
- Instrumental music
- with piano: M270.C6+
- Coronation of a ruler (Roman Catholic ceremony): M2150.3.C6
- Corpus Christi (Vocal music)
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.C75
- Roman Catholic liturgy
- Propers: M2148.3.C67
- Vespers: M2149.5.V53
- Roman Catholic liturgy
- Choruses, part-songs, etc.: M2068.C75
- Correspondence of musicians, see Musicians -- Letters
- Correspondence school methods: MT33
- Costume
- in musical theater (Instruction and study): MT995
- Counterpoint
- History and criticism: ML446
- Instruction and study: MT55
- Countries
- Bibliography: ML120
- Biobibliography: ML106
- History and criticism: ML198+
- Instruction and study: MT3+
- Country and western music, see Country music
- Country music: M1630.18+
- Bibliography
- Discography: ML156.4.C7
- Dictionaries: ML102.C7
- History and criticism: ML3524
- Bibliography
- Cowboys (Vocal music): M1629+
- Credo in unum Deum: M2079.L3
- Creeds: M2079.L3+
- Creole music (History and criticism): ML3558
- Crimes (Vocal music): M1977.C7+
- Criminals (Vocal music): M1977.C7+
- Criticism
- Bibliography: ML159+
- Philosophy and physics of music: ML3880+
- see also History and criticism
- Critics: ML403; ML423
- Croatian sacred vocal music (Hymnals): M2142.C6
- United States: M2132.C6
- Crumhorn
- History and criticism: ML990.C8
- Instrumental music: M110.C78
- Chamber music: M990
- Cuatro puertorriqueño (Instruction and study): MT648
- Cuba (Literature on music): ML207.C8
- Cycles
- Instrumental music, see Suites
- Vocal music
- Sacred: M2113.4
- Secular: M1621.4
- Cycling (Vocal music): M1977.S7165+
- Cymbalom, see Cimbalom
- Cymbals
- Instruction and study: MT725.C9
- Instrumental music)
- with piano: M284.C94+
- Czakan (Instruction and study): MT358.C9
- Czechoslovak church (Liturgy and ritual): M2159.2
- see also Orthodox churches
- Czechoslovakia
- Literature on music
- History and criticism: ML247+; ML3590
- Instruments and instrumental music: ML493
- National music: M1704+
- Literature on music
Questions?
In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk
Phone: (812) 855-2971
Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu