Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Classification Numbers by Subject

B

  • Baden-Württemberg (Literature on music): ML276+; ML3632
  • Baglama (Instruction and study): MT654.B3
  • Bagpipe
    • Bibliography: ML128.B17
    • History and criticism: ML980
    • Instruction and study: MT530
    • Instrumental music: M145
  • Bahá'ísm, see National Spiritual Assembly of the Baha'is of the United States
  • Bala, see Balo
  • Balafo, see Balo
  • Balafon, see Balo
  • Balafou, see Balo
  • Balalaika
    • History and criticism: ML1015.B24
    • Instruction and study: MT643+
    • Instrumental music: M142.B2
      • with
        • orchestra: M1037.4.B3
        • piano: M282.B3+
  • Balance of nature, see Ecology
  • Balaphon, see Balo
  • Balkan Peninsula
    • Literature on music: ML250+; ML3600+
    • National music: M1712+
  • Ballad operas
    • History and criticism: ML1950
    • Librettos: ML50.5
  • Ballads
    • History and criticism: ML2800+; ML2860
    • Vocal music: M1611+
  • Ballets
    • Aesthetics: ML3858
    • Analytical guides: MT95+
    • Bibliography: ML128.B2
    • History and criticism: ML3460
    • Librettos: ML52+
    • Music: M1520+
    • see also Masques
  • Balloons (Vocal music): M1977.B3+
  • Balo (Instruction and study): MT725.B3
  • Baltic states (Literature on music)
    • History and criticism: ML302; ML3681
    • Instruments and instrumental music: ML508
  • Bamsur, see Bansuri
  • Band
    • Bibliography: ML128.B23
      • Discography: ML156.4.B3
    • Dictionaries: ML102.B35
    • History and criticism: ML1300+
    • Instruction and study: MT733+
      • Instrumentation: MT73
    • Music: M1200+
      • Bibliography
        • Graded lists: ML132.B3
      • for children: M1420
      • Pieces: M1245+
      • Solo instrument(s) with band: M1205+
  • Bandola, see Bandura
  • Bandolon (Instruction and study): MT594
  • Bandoneon, see Bandonion
  • Bandonion
    • Instrumental music: M175.B2
      • for children: M1385.B34
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1039.4.B3; M1139.4.B3
        • piano: M284.B33+
  • Bandoura, see Bandura
  • Bandurria
    • History and criticism: ML1015.B26
    • Instruction and study: MT592+
    • Instrumental music: M142.B3
  • Banjo
    • History and criticism: ML1015.B3
    • Instruction and study: MT560+
      • for children: MT801.B3
    • Instrumental music: M120+
      • Accompaniment: M1623
      • for children: M1385.B35
      • with piano: M274+
  • Banjulele (Instruction and study): MT646
  • Bansuri
    • History and criticism: ML990.B32
    • Instruction and study: MT358.B36
  • Baptist church
    • History and criticism: ML3160
    • Vocal music
      • Hymnals: M2122
      • Liturgy and ritual: M2162
  • Barbershop quartets (History and criticism): ML3516
  • Baritone
    • Bibliography: ML128.B25
    • History and criticism: ML970+
    • Instruction and study: MT496+
    • Instrumental music: M110.B33
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1034.B37+; M1134.B37+
        • piano: M270.B37+
  • Barrel organ
    • History and criticsm: ML1058
    • Instrumental music: M174.B37
  • Baryton (Instrumental music): M59.B4
  • Baseball (Vocal music): M1977.S713+
  • Basketball (Vocal music): M1977.S714+
  • Bass clarinet (Instruction and study): MT392+
  • Bass guitar
    • Instruction and study: MT599.B4
    • Instrumental music: M142.B33
  • Bass horn, see Tuba
  • Bass trombone (Instruction and study): MT472
  • Bass tuba, see Tuba
  • Basset horn
    • History and criticism: ML990.B35
    • Instrumental music: M110.B35
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1034.B38+
        • piano: M270.B4+
  • Basso ostinato, see Ground bass
  • Bassoon
    • Bibliography: ML128.B26
    • History and criticism: ML950+
      • Construction: ML951
    • Instruction and study: MT400+
    • Instrumental music: M75+
      • with
        • orchestra (Solo): M1026+; M1126+
        • piano: M253+
  • Batchelder Collection, see John Davis Batchelder Collection
  • Baton twirling (Instruction and study): MT733.6
  • Batterie (Drums), see Side drum
  • Battle hymn of the Republic: M1630.3.B3
  • Battle-songs, see War songs
  • Bavaria (Literature on music): ML277+; ML3634
  • Bawdy songs: M1977.B38+
  • Bayan
    • Instrumental music: M174.B2
      • with orchestra: M1039.4.B4
  • Bazoo, see Kazoo
  • Beatitudes: M2079.L168
  • Beatus vir, qui non abiit: M2079.L168
  • Beauticians (Vocal music): M1977.B4+
  • The beautiful in music, see Aesthetics
  • Belgium
    • Literature on music
      • History and criticism: ML265+; ML3615+
      • Instruments and instrumental music: ML496
    • National music: M1726+
    • Students' songs: M1962
  • Bells
    • Archaeology: CC255
    • History and criticism: ML1040
    • Instruction and study: MT710+; MT720
      • for children: MT801.B5
    • Instrumental music: M147
      • with piano: M284.B4+
    • see also Handbells
  • Bells, Orchestral, see Bells
  • Benedic anima mea: M2079.L17
  • Benedicite omnia opera: M2079.L18
  • Benedictine liturgy and ritual: M2154.4.B45
  • Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament (Roman Catholic liturgy): M2150.3.B46
  • Benediction service (Anglican church): M2016.8
  • Benedictions (Roman Catholic Church): M2149.2.B5
  • Benedictus Dominus: M2079.L2
  • Benedictus qui venit: M2079.L21
  • Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, see Elks, Benevolent and Protective Order of
  • Berimbau (History and criticism): ML1015.B4
  • Bermuda (National music): M1681.5+
  • Bible
    • History and criticism (Hebrew): ML166
  • Bible School song books: M2193
  • Bibliography: ML112.8+
  • Bicentennial, 1776-1976 (American Revolution), see American Revolution Bicentennial, 1776-1976
  • Bicycling, see Cycling
  • Big band music (Bibliography): ML128.B29
  • Big bands
    • Dictionaries: ML102.B5
    • Discography: ML156.4.B5
    • History and criticism: ML3518
    • Instruction and study: MT86
  • Bijou aeolian organ (Instruction and study): MT682+
  • Bina, see Vina
  • Biobibliographical dictionaries: ML105+
  • Biography
    • Bibliography: ML128.B3
    • History and criticism: ML385+
    • Individual: ML410+
  • Bionomics, see Ecology
  • Bird song: QL698.5
  • Birds (Vocal music): M1977.B5+
  • Birthday books: ML66
  • Birthdays (Vocal music): M1977.B53+
  • Biwa
    • History and criticism: ML1015.B55
    • Instrumental music: M142.B5
  • Black music (Bibliography): ML128.B45
  • Bless the Lord, O my soul, see Benedic anima mea
  • Blessed be the Lord, see Benedictus Dominus
  • Blessed is He that cometh, see Benedictus qui venit
  • Blessed Sacrament, Benediction of the, see Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament
  • Blessed Virgin Mary, Queen, see Mary, Virgin
  • Blessing of a church organ (Roman Catholic ceremony): M2150.3.B6
  • Blind, Music for the, see Music for the blind
  • Blue Lodge (Vocal music): M1900.M31+
  • Blue Star Mothers (Vocal music): M1676.B5
  • Bluegrass music
    • Bibliography
      • Discography: ML156.4.C7
    • History and criticism: ML3519+
  • Blues
    • Bibliography: ML128.B49
      • Discography: ML156.4.B6
    • Dictionaries: ML102.B6
    • History and criticism: ML3520.8+
  • B'nai B'rith (Vocal music): M1905.B5+
  • Bodhran (Instruction and study): MT725.B55
  • Bohemia, see Czechoslovakia
  • Bolivia (Literature on music): ML239.B6
  • Bolivia-Moxos (Province)
    • Literature on music: ML239.B67
  • Bombardon (Instruction and study): MT480+
  • Bone pastor: M2079.L22
  • Bones (Instruction and study): MT725.B6
  • Bongo (Instruction and study): M663+
  • Bonum est: M2079.L23
  • Boogie woogie (Piano)
    • Instruction and study: MT239
  • Book of Common Prayer: M2167
  • Bouzouki (Instruction and study): MT654.B69
  • Bow (History and criticism): ML845
  • Bowing (Instruction and study)
    • Viola: MT287
    • Violin: MT267
    • Violoncello: MT307
  • Bowling (Vocal music): M1977.S715+
  • Boxing (Vocal music): M1977.S716+
  • Boy choir training, see Choir training for children
  • Boy Scouts (Vocal music): M1977.B6+
  • Brass instruments
    • Dictionaries: ML102.B7
    • History and criticism: ML933
    • Instruction and study: MT418+
      • for children: MT801.B72
    • Instrumental music: M80+
    • see also individual brass instruments
  • Brazil
    • Literature on music: ML232+
    • National music: M1689+
  • Breathing (Instruction and study): MT878
  • Brethren in Christ Church (Hymnals): M2131.B6
  • British Isles
    • Literature on music
      • History and criticism: ML285+; ML3650+
      • Instruments and instrumental music: ML501
    • National music: M1738+
    • Students' songs: M1964
  • Broadsides: M1628.2+; M1630.3.S69; M1739.3
  • Brotherhood week (Vocal music): M1977.B7+
  • Bugle
    • Instruction and study: MT452
    • Instrumental music: M1270
      • with piano: M270.B8+
  • Bulgaria
    • Literature on music: ML252+, ML3602
    • National music: M1712+
  • Bulgarian church (Liturgy and ritual): M2159.1
    • see also Orthodox churches
  • Bulgarian (Uniat) liturgy and ritual: M2160.72
  • Bullfights (Vocal music): M1977.B8+
  • Burial services (Sacred vocal music)
    • Anglican church: M2016.8
    • Roman Catholic liturgy: M2150.3.B87
      • Offices: M2149.5.D4+
      • Propers: M2148.3.D4
  • Business, Music as a, see Musical life
  • Button accordion, see Button-key accordion
  • Button-key accordion
    • History and criticism: ML1083
    • Instruction and study: MT681+
  • Buzuki, see Bouzouki
  • Byelorussian S.S.R. (Literature on music): ML309.B93
  • Byzantine music (History and criticism): ML188
  • Byzantine rite (Uniat): M2160.71+

Questions?

In Person: Cook Music Library reference desk

Phone: (812) 855-2971

Email: musiclib_ref@indiana.edu