Scholarly articles
Understandable is the absence of any significant scholarly articles on the current political crisis in Ukraine. Therefore, this page may be more properly titled 'The background and context of the crisis in Ukraine.' The publications listed in this box, identified in ABSEES, are all available online to current IU users.
American bibliography of Slavic and East European studies
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES)
This link opens in a new window
Provides information on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet republics, with a collection of indexed sources published in the United States, Canada and some European countries.
Academic search premier
- Academic Search (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of magazine, newspaper, and scholarly journal articles for most academic disciplines.
Other significant databases for finding articles
- Russian Central Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to over 800,000 articles from the Russian press in both English and Russian.
- Central and Eastern European Online Library
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to a searchable online archive of academic e-journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences from and about Central and Eastern Europe.
- Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text electronic versions of major Russian periodicals on social sciences and humanities.
- European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to European scholarship in Slavic and East European studies
Recent journal articles
Balmaceda, Margarita M. "Will cheap Russian gas save Ukraine?" Problems of post-Communism 61, no. 2 (2014): 61-67.
Charap, Samuel, and Keith Darden. "Russia and Ukraine." Survival 56, no. 2 (2014): 7-14.
Diuk, Nadia. "Euromaidan." World affairs 176, no. 6 (2014): 9-16.
Gardels, Nathan. "Putin's three gurus vs. the G-8." NPQ: New perspectives quarterly 31, no. 2 (2014): 2-7.
Redman, Nicholas. "Russia's breaking point." Survival 56, no. 2 (2014): 235-44.
Rywkin, Michael. "Ukraine: Between Russia and the West." American foreign policy interests 36, no. 2 (2014): 119-26.
Saari, Sinikukka. "Russia's post-orange revolution strategies to increase its influence in former Soviet republics: Public diplomacy po russkii." Europe-Asia studies 66, no. 1 (2014): 50-66.
Shulman, Stephen. "Nation versus class in Ukraine." Nations & nationalism 20, no. 1 (2014): 154-71.