A Bibliography of Writings about the Oboe, 17th-19th Centuries: Secondary Sources
Compiled by Geoffrey Burgess, Laura Goetz, and David Lasocki
This bibliography was compiled for Proceedings of the International Double-Reed Symposium Utrecht 1994 (Utrecht: STIMU, 1997), ed. David Lasocki. ML929.5 .I58 We are grateful to STIMU for granting permission to load the bibliography on our web site.
This bibliography includes articles, books, and dissertations about historical instruments, performance practice, historical performers, and repertory in which the oboe and bassoon play a major role. It excludes sources about early woodwind makers or modern players of historical instruments, catalogues of individual collections, and historical sources in which the double-reed instruments have a minute role. The division of responsibility for compiling the entries was as follows: Laura Goetz (to 1800), Geoffrey Burgess (1801-1900), David Lasocki (additional material, editing).
Adkins, Cecil. "Oboes Beyond Compare: The Instruments of Hendrik and Fredrick Richters." Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society 16 (1990): 42-117.
Altenburg, W. "Eine Original-Oboe von Theobald Boehm." Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau 20 (1900). Reprinted in: Holz- und Metallblasinstrumente. Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau, 1881-1945, ed. Gunther Dullat. Siegburg: Verlag der Instrumentenbau-Zeitschrift, 1986, 34-37.
Anon. "Über die Hoboe." Allgemeine Musikalische Zeitung 5 (1812): col. 70-74.
Anon. "The Rise and Progress of the Hautboy." Quarterly Musical Magazine and Review 9 (1827): 464.
Bainbridge, William. Observations on the Cause of Imperfections in Woodwind Instruments, Particularly in German Flutes; with Remarks on the Embouchure also Remarks on Oboe, Clarionet and Bassoon Reeds. London: author, [1823].
Baines, Anthony. "James Talbot's Manuscript (Christ Church Library Music Ms 1187)." Galpin Society Journal 1 (1948): 9-26.
________. Woodwind Instruments and their History. London: Faber & Faber, 1959. 3rd ed, 1967, corrected 1977. Reprint, New York: Dover, 1991.
Bate, Philip. The Oboe: An Outline of its History, Development and Construction. London: Ernest Benn, 1955. 3rd ed. London: Ernest Benn; New York: Philosophical Library, 1975.
Bate, Philip, and Niall O'Laughlin. "Oboe." The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, ed. Stanley Sadie, vol. 2, 792-808. London: Macmillan; New York: Grove's Dictionaries of Music, 1984.
Bechler, Leo, & Bernhardt Rahm. Die Oboe und die ihr verwandten Instrumente nebst biographischen Skizzen der bedeutendsten ihrer Meister: eine musikgeschichtliche Betrachtung. (Anhang by Philipp Losch: Musikliteratur für Oboe und Englisch Horn). Leipzig: C. Merseburger, 1914. Reprint, Buren: Frits Knuf, 1978. Reprint, Walluf bei Wiesbaden: Sandig Reprint, 1977; Schaan, Liechtenstein: Sandig Reprint, 1987.
Becker, Heinz. "Oboe. C. Die europäischen Oboeninstrumente." Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart, vol. 9 (1961), cols. 1781-1813.
Benade, Arthur H. "Woodwinds: The Evolutionary Path Since 1700." Galpin Society Journal 47 (1994): 63-110.
Berlioz, Hector. Traité d'instrumentation et d'orchestration. Paris: H. Lemoine et cie, 1844. (The section on oboe originally printed in Revue et Gazette Musicale, 1841, 550-51). Translated by Mary Cowden Clarke as A Treatise on Modern Instrumentation and Orchestration. London: Novello, 1856.
Bernardini, Alfredo. "Due chiavi per Rossini? Storia e sviluppo dell'oboe a Bologna prima del 1850." Il flauto dolce 17-18 (October 1977-April 1988): 18-32.
________. "The Oboe in the Venetian Republic, 1692-1797." Early Music 16, no. 3 (August 1988): 372-87.
________. "Oboe Playing in Italy from Origins to 1800." A dissertation for the University of Oxford, as part of the European Baroque Orchestra Course, 1985.
________. "Vier Oboistenporträts als Quelle zum Studium der Zwei-Klappen-Oboe." Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott 5, no. 1 (1990): 30-42.
________. "Zwei Klappen für Rossini? Zur Geschichte der Oboe in Bologna vor 1850." Tibia 11, no. 2 (1992): 95-107. Supplement: "Nachtrag zu meinem Artikel 'Zwei Klappen für Rossini? Zur Geschichte der Oboe in Bologna vor 1850.'" Tibia 18, no. 3 (1993): 529-30.
Best, Terence. "Further Studies on Handel's Solo Sonatas." Händel-Jahrbuch 30 (1984): 75-79.
________. "Handel's Chamber Music: Sources, Chronology and Authenticity." Early Music 13, no. 4 (November 1985): 476- 99.
________. "Handel's Solo Sonatas." Music & Letters 58 (October 1977): 430-38. In German as "Händels Solosonaten." Händel-Jahrbuch 23 (1977): 21-43. Nachtrag, 26 (1980): 121-22.
Blake, Cevedra Mark. "The Baroque Oboe d'Amore." Ph.D. dissertation, University of California, Los Angeles, 1981.
Boehm, Theobald. "Schema zur Bestimmung der Lochstellung auf Blasinstrumenten (1862)," ed. Karl Ventzke. Tibia 5, no. 1 (1980): 3-20.
Bouterse, Jan. "Some Remarks on the W. Beukers Baroque Oboe (Museum code: 808/69) in the Victoria and Albert Museum in London." FoMRHI Quarterly 72 (July 1993): 28-35.
________. "Three Boxwood Oboes by Hendrik Richters." FoMRHI Quarterly 75 (April 1994): 48-57.
Boyer, Margareth Anne. Jacques Hotteterre's L'art de préluder: A Translation and Commentary. M.M. thesis, Conservatory of Music, University of Missouri-Kansas City, 1979.
Braun, Werner. "Bemerkungen über die richtige Behandlung und Blasart der Oboe." Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung 25 (1823): 165-72.
________. "Entwurf für Seine Typologie der `Hautboisten.'" In Der Sozialstatus des Berufsmusikers vom 17. bis 19. Jahrhundert, gesammelte Beiträge, ed. Walter Salmen, 46-63. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1971. English translation as "'The Hautboist'; An Outline of Evolving Careers and Functions." In The Social Status of the Professional Musician From the Middle Ages to the Nineteenth Century, 123-58. Sociology of Music, no. 1, ed. Walter Salmen. Annotated and translated by Herbert Kaufmann and Barbara Reisner. New York: Pendragon Press, 1983.
Breig, Werner. "Zur Gestalt von Johann Sebastian Bachs Konzert für Oboe d'Amore." Tibia 18, no. 2 (1993): 431-48.
Brindley, Giles. "A Method for Analysing Woodwind Cross- Fingerings." Galpin Society Journal 22 (1969): 44-46.
Burgess, Geoffrey. "Gustave Vogt (1781-1870) und Konstruktionsmerkmale französischer Oboen im 1. Viertel des 19. Jahrhunderts." Tibia 19, no. 1 (1994): 14-26.
_______. "Berlioz und die Oboe: Bemerkungen über den Umgang eines meisterhaften Orchestriers mit Klang." Tibia 21, no. 2 (1996): 81-93: 21, no. 3 (1996): 161-67.
________. "On Writing a History of the Oboe in the Nineteenth Century." FoMRHI Quarterly 76 (July 1994): 26-44.
________. "A New Edition of the Mozart Oboe Concerto, K. 314: A Checklist to Correct the Boosey & Hawkes Edition." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 14 (1986): 57-65.
________. "A Profile of Mr. Ling or English Oboe Reeds around 1800." FoMRHI Quarterly 47 (April 1987): 68-96.
________. "The Trio Sonatas of Jan Dismas Zelenka." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 16 (1988): 6-18.
________. "Update to International Checklist of Locations and Citations of Early Oboe Reeds and Accessories." FoMRHI Quarterly 48 (July 1987): 27.
________, and Peter Hedrick. "The Oldest English Oboe Reeds? An Examination of Nineteen Surviving Examples." Galpin Society Journal 42 (1989): 32-69. In German as "Die ältesten englischen Oboenrohre? Eine Untersuchung von 19 noch erhalten Exemplaren." Tibia 15, no. 2 (1990): 81-106.
Byrne, Maurice. "Reed Makers." Galpin Society Journal 37 (1984): 99-101.
Caldini, Sandro. "The Oboe in Vivaldi's Instrumental Music." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 21 (1993): 85-89.
Carse, Adam. The Orchestra from Beethoven to Berlioz. Cambridge: W. Heffer, 1948; New York: Broude Brothers, 1949.
Charlton, David. "The Classical Era: Woodwind and Brass." In The Norton/Grove Handbooks in Music Performance Practice Music After 1600, ed. Howard Mayer Brown and Stanley Sadie, vol. 2, 252-66. Basingstoke: Macmillan; New York: W.W. Norton, 1990. Also "The 19th Century: Woodwind and Brass," vol. 2, 409-23.
Combs, Julia C. "Nineteenth-Century Chamber Music for Oboe: A Checklist." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 15 (1987): 57-62.
________. "Six Oboe Sonatas by Giuseppe Sammartini (Sibley Manuscript S. 189) with Critical Commentary and a Performing Edition of Sonata Five." D.M.A. dissertation, North Texas State University, 1985.
Comettant, Oscar. La musique, les musiciens et les instruments de musique. Poitiers: H. Oudin, 1869.
Conrey, Georges A. "The Paris Conservatory: its Oboe Professors, Laureates (1795-1984)." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 14 (1986): 7-17.
Craig, Steven Douglas. "Florian Gassmann and His Quartets for Oboe and Strings." D.M.A. thesis, College-Conservatory, University of Cincinnati, 1984.
Croft-Murray, Edward. "An Early Eighteenth-Century Drawing of Wind Instruments." Galpin Society Journal 33 (1980): 130.
Dahlqvist, Reine. "Taille, Oboe da Caccia and Corno Inglese." Galpin Society Journal 26 (1973): 58-71.
Davis, Willaim Jerryl. "A Study of the Solo and Chamber Literature for the Oboe d'Amore from 1720-c1760 With Modern Performance Editions of Select Unpublished Works." D.M.A. dissertation, Eastman School of Music, 1977.
Day, C.R. A Descriptive Catalogue of the Musical Instruments Recently Exhibited at the Royal Military Exhibition. London: Eyre & Spottiswoode, 1890.
Denton, John William. "The Use of Oboes in the Church Cantatas of Johann Sebastian Bach." D.M.A. dissertation, Eastman School of Music, 1977.
Dolcet, Josep. "Katalonische Oboenvirtuosen am Hof Karl Eugens von Württemberg: Die Brüder Pla." Tibia 17, no.1 (1992): 32-37.
________. "L'obra dels germans Pla. Bases per una catalogació." Annuario musical (1987): 131-88.
Drechsel, F.A. "Uber den Bau der Oboe." Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau 52 (1932): 258-59. Reprinted in: Holz- und Metallblasinstrumente. Zeitschrift für Instrumentenbau, 1881-1945, ed. Gunther Dullat, 99-101. Siegburg: Verlag der Instrumentenbau-Zeitschrift, 1986.
Ecochard, Marc. "L'embouchure et l'intonation du hautbois baroque." Flûte à bec et instruments anciens 17 (December 1985-February 1986): 3-8.
Eliason, Robert E. "Oboes, Bassoons, and Bass Clarinets made by Hartford, Connecticut, Makers Before 1815." Galpin Society Journal 30 (1977): 43-51.
Ennulat, Egbert M. "William Ling, A Rediscovered English Mozart?" Journal of Musicological Research 5 (November 1984): 35- 50.
Eppelsheim, Jürgen. Das Orchester in den Werken Jean- Baptiste Lullys. Münchner Veröffentlichungen zur Musikgeschichte, 7. Tutzing: Hans Schneider, 1961.
Evans, Kenneth Gene. "Instructional Materials for the Oboe, 1695- ca. 1800." Ph.D. dissertation, State University of Iowa, 1963.
Everett, Paul. "Vivaldi's Paraphrased Oboe Concertos of the 1730s." Chigiana 41 (1989): 197-216.
Fétis, François-Joseph. Fabrications des Instruments de musique, Rapport de M. Fetis, Exposition Universelle de Paris, en 1855. 1855.
________. Manuel des compositeurs, directeurs de musique, chefs d'orchestre & de musique militaire ou traité méthodique de l'harmonie des instrumens. Paris: M. Schesinger, 1837.
________. Rapports du Jury international, Exposition Universelle, 1867, Groupe II, classe 10. Paris, 1868.
________. "Variétés: Machine à faire les anches de hautbois et de basson." Revue musicale, 13 July 1824, 221.
Finkelman, Michael. "Three Centuries of Original Music for Lower Oboes." M.L.S. thesis, State University of New York at Buffalo, 1985.
Fitzpatrick, Horace. "Jacob Denner's Woodwinds for Göttweig Abbey." Galpin Society Journal 21 (1968): 81-87.
Fleurot, François. Le hautbois dans la musique française 1650-1800. La Vie Musicale ein France sous les Bourbons. Paris: Picard, 1984.
Folkman, Benjamin. "The So-Called Haydn Oboe Concerto: A Curious Modern Edition." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 15 (1987): 53-56.
Gérard, Michel. "Du hautbois à trois clefs au hautbois à treize clefs." Thèse de doctorat, Université des Sciences Humaines de Strasbourg, Institut de Musicologie, 1983-84.
Giannini, Tula. "A Letter from Louis Rousselet, 18th-Century French Oboist at the Royal Opera in England." Newsletter of the American Musical Instrument Society 16, no. 2 (June 1987): 10- 11.
Goossens, Leon, and Edwin Roxburgh. Oboe. Yehudi Menuin Music Guides. London: Macdonald; New York: Schirmer Books, 1977. 3rd rev. ed., London: Kahn & Averill, 1993.
Goritzki, Ingo. "Mozarts Oboenkonzert unter neuen Aspekten." Tibia 4, no. 2 (1979): 302-08.
Groth, Earl. "The Baroque Oboe -- A Study." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 1 (1973): 50-71.
Grush, James. "A Guide to the Study of the Classical Oboe." D.M.A., Boston University, 1972.
Hailperin, Paul. "Some Technical Remarks on the Shawm and the Baroque Oboe." Submitted for the Diploma of the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, 1970.
________. "Three Oboes d'Amore From the Time of Bach." Galpin Society Journal 28 (1975): 26-36.
Halfpenny, Eric. "The English 2- and 3-Keyed Hautboy." Galpin Society Journal 2 (1949): 10-26.
________. "The French Hautboy: A Technical Survey." Galpin Society Journal 6 (1953): 23-34; 7 (March 1955): 50-59.
________. "A Seventeenth-Century Oboe Consort." Galpin Society Journal 10 (1957): 60-62.
________. "A Seventeenth-Century Tutor for the Hautboy." Music & Letters 30, no. 4 (1949): 355-363.
________. "The `Tenner Hoboy.'" Galpin Society Journal 5 (1952): 17-27.
Harris-Warrick, Rebecca. "A Few Thoughts on Lully's Hautbois." Early Music 18, no. 1 (February 1990): 97-106.
Haynes, Bruce. "The Addition of Keys to the Oboe, 1790-1830." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 22 (1994): 31-46.
________. "Baroque Oboe Reed-Making." The Double Reed 2 (April 1979): 18-24.
________. "Beyond Temperament: Non-keyboard Intonation in the 17th and 18th Centuries." Early Music 19, no. 3 (August 1991): 357-81.
________. "Bressan, Talbot and the `The Galpin' Oboe." Galpin Society Journal 43 (1990): 112-23.
________. "Double Reeds, 1660-1830: A Survey of Surviving Written Evidence." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 12 (1984): 14-33.
________. "Early Double-Reeds: Prospectus for a Survey of the Historical Evidence." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 9 (1981): 43-47.
________. "Interim List for Baroque Oboe." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 7 (1979): 51-62.
________. "Johann Sebastian Bachs Oboenkonzerte." Bach- Jahrbuch 78 (1992): 23-43.
________. "Johann Sebastian Bach's Pitch Standards: The Woodwind Perspective." Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society 11 (1985): 55-114. In French as "Les diapasons à l'époque de Jean-Sebastien Bach: L'apport des instruments à vent." Flûte à bec et instruments anciens 22 (1987): 11-19; 23 (1987): 4-8; 24 (1988): 11-18; (November 1988): 11-17.
________. "Lully and the Rise of the Oboe as Seen in Works of Art." Early Music 16, no. 3 (August 1988): 324-38.
________. "Making Reeds for the Baroque Oboe." Early Music 4, no. 1 (January 1976): 31-34; 4, no. 2 (April 1996): 173-82.
________. "Mozart and the Oboe." Early Music 20, no. 1 (February 1992): 43-62.
________. "Mozart's Oboe Solos." Musick 13 (Summer-July 1991): 12-14.
________. Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography. Berkeley, California: Fallen Leaf Press, 1986. 2nd ed., rev. and expanded, 1992.
________. "Oboe Fingering Charts 1695-1816." Galpin Society Journal 31 (1978): 68-93.
________. "The Oboe Solo Before 1800: A Survey." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 17 (1989): 7-14.
________. "A Preliminary Checklist of Iconography for Oboe-Type Instruments, Reeds, and Players, c1630-1830." FoMRHI Quarterly 45 (October 1986): 58-73.
________. "Questions of Tonality in Bach's Cantatas: The Woodwind Perspective." Journal of the American Musical Instrument Society 12 (1986): 40-67.
________. "Telemann's Kleine Cammer-Music and the Four Oboists to Whom It Was Dedicated." Musick 7, no. 4 (Spring- March 1986): 30-35. Reprinted in Journal of the International Double Reed Society 15 (1987): 27-32.
________. "Tonality and the Baroque Oboe." Early Music 7, (July 1979): 355-58.
________. "Von Mozart zu Beethovens Neunter: Die technische Entwicklung der Oboe zwischen 1790 und 1830." Tibia 18, no. 4 (1993): 617-27. English translation forthcoming in Journal of the International Double Reed Society.
Haynes, Bruce, and Hansjürg Lange. "The Importance of Original Double Reeds Today." Galpin Society Journal 30 (1977): 145- 51.
Hedrick, Peter. "Henri Brod's Méthode pour le hautbois reconsidered." Consort 30 (1974): 53.
________. "Henri Brod on the Making of Oboe Reeds." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 6 (1978): 7.
________. "A Ten-Keyed Oboe by Guillaume Triebert." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 17 (1989): 19-28.
Hildebrand, Renate. "The Oboe Ensemble in German Military and City Music up to 1720." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 9 (1981): 1-5. First appeared in German as "Das Oboensemble in der Deutschen Regimentsmusik und in den Stadtfeifereien bis 1720." Tibia 3, no. 1 (1978): 7-12.
Hilkenbach, Dietrich. "Die Boehm-Oboe: Illusion oder verpaste Chance?" Tibia 7, no. 1 (1982): 21-29.
Houle, George. "The Oboe Sonatas of Giuseppe Sammartini." \Journal of Musicology 3 (Winter 1984): 90-103.
Humiston, Robert Groff. "A Study of the Oboe Concertos of Alessandro Besozzi and Johann Christian Fischer with a Thematic Index of 201 Eighteenth-Century Oboe Concertos Available in Manuscript or Eighteenth-Century Editions." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Iowa, 1968.
Jaeger, Marsha. "The Four Solo Oboe Concertos from Tomaso Albinoni's Opus IX." D.M.A. dissertation, University of Cincinnati, 1978.
Jenkins, David. "Woodwind Instruments in France 1690-1750: Their Makers, Theoreticians, and Music." Ph.D. dissertation, 2 vols., University of Edinburgh, 1973.
Jerome, Wilbert Davis. "The Oboe Concerto Before 1775: Pedagogy and Study." Ph.D. dissertation, Bryn Mawr College, 1973.
Jones, David. "A Three-keyed Oboe by Thomas Collier." Galpin Society Journal 31 (1978): 36-43.
________. "Über die Herstellung von Reproduktionen Barocker Oboi d'Amore und Oboi da Caccia." Tibia 9, no. 1 (1984): 13-20.
Joppig, Gunther. Die Entwicklung der Doppelrohrblatt-Instrumente con 1850 bis heute und ihre Verwendung in Orchester- und Kammermusik. Frankfurt am Main: Verlag Das Musikinstrument, 1980.
________. Oboe und Fagott: Ihre Geschichte, ihre Nebenisntrumente und ihre Musik. Bern & Stuttgart: Hallwag, 1981.
Karp, Cary. "Baroque Woodwind in the Musikhistoriska Museet, Stockholm." Galpin Society Journal 25 (1972): 80-86.
________. "Structural Details of Two J. H. Eichentopf Oboi da Caccia." Galpin Society Journal 26 (1973): 55-57
Kennedy, Julian. "Old Oboes, New Problems." Context: A Journal of the Postgraduate Students of the University of Melbourne School of Music 6 (Summer 1993-94): 13-18.
Kenyon de Pascual, Beryl. "Juan Bautista Pla and José Pla -- Two Neglected Oboe Virtuosi of the 18th Century." Early Music 18, no. 1 (February 1990): 109-110.
________. "El primer oboe español que forma parte de la Real Capilla: Don Manuel Cavazza." Revista de musicologia 7, no. 2 (1984): 431-34.
Kilmer, Richard E. "The Oboist's Catalogue of Arias from the Cantatas of Johann Sebastian Bach." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 5 (1977): 19-37.
Kirkpatrick, Mary. "Another Oboe by Jonathan Bradbury: Restoration and Comparison." Galpin Society Journal 33 (1980): 106-110.
Kirnbauer, Martin. Flöten- und Rohrblattinstrumente bis 1750. Bd. 2: Katalog der europäischen Musikinstrumente im Germanischen Nationalmuseum Nürnberg. Quellenkatalog zur Musikgeschichte 24. Wilhelmshaven: Noetzel, 1989. See especially section "Notes on Oboe making by Karl F. Golde."
Klebel, Bernhard. "Oboe und Oboespiel zur Zeit des Jungen Haydn." In Der Junge Haydn (Kongressbericht, Graz 1970). Beiträge für Aufführungspraxis, 1. Graz: Akademische Druck- und Verlagsanstalt, 1972.
Koch, Heinrich Christoph. Musikalisches Lexikon. Frankfurt: A. Hermann dem Jüngeren, 1802. s.v. "Oboe."
Koch, Hans Oskar. "Die Spezialtypen der Blasinstrumente in der 1. Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts im deutschen Sprachraum." Staatsexamensarbeit dissertation, Hochschule für Musik und Theater, 1969.
________. "Sonderformen der Blasinstrumente in der deutschen Musik vom späten 17. bis zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts." Diss. Ruprecht-Karl Universität zu Heidelberg, 1980/82.
Krause, Robert James. "A Biographical Dictionary of European Oboists Before 1900." D.M.A. dissertation, University of Miami, 1981.
Langwill, Lyndesay. An Index of Musical Wind-Instrument Makers. 6th ed. Edinburgh: author, 1980.
Lasocki, David. "The French Hautboy in England, 1673-1730." Early Music 16 (August 1988): 339-57.
________. "Händels Sonaten für Holzbläser in Neuem Licht." Tibia 5, no. 3 (1980): 166-76. In English as "New Light on Handel's Woodwind Sonatas." American Recorder 21, no. 4 (1981): 163-70. In Italian as "Le sonate per legni di Händel: Lo studio comparato di parti autografe, manoscritti e antiche edizioni a stampa getta una nuova luce sull'autenticità e sull'esatta destinazione strumentale di queste composizioni." I fiati 1, no. 2 (October-November 1994): 32-40.
Lasocki, David, and Betty Bang Mather. The Classical Woodwind Cadenza: A Workbook. New York: McGinnis & Marx, 1978.
Lavoix, H. Histoire de l'instrumentation depuis le seizieme siécle jusqu'à nos jours. Paris: Firmin-Didot et Cie., 1878.
Lehrer, Charles-David. "Beethoven's 1792 Oboe Concerto in F Major." The Double Reed 5, no. 2 (1982): 36-37.
________. "An Introduction to the 16 Oboe Concertos of Gustave Vogt and a Discussion of the Nineteenth Century Performance Practices Preserved Within Them." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 16 (1988): 19-51.
________. "A List of Henri Brod's Compositions with a Short Discussion of his Oboe Concertos." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 19 (1991): 5-17.
________. "Mozart's F-Major Oboe Concerto, KV 239." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 13 (1985): 3-32.
________. "The 19th Century Oboe Concerto in Czarist Russia: Works of Johann Heinrich Luft." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 17 (1989): 75-95.
________. "The Repertory of the Oboe Soloist in the 19th Century: The Hidden Structure." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 12 (1984): 3-13
________. "The Rondo Finale: An Alternative to Ritornello Form in the Late 18th Century Oboe Concerto and its Descendants." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 15 (1987): 73-82.
________. "The Twelve Oboe Concertos of Stanislas Verroust." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 18 (1990): 59-87.
Lesure, François, ed. "Concerts de hautbois et musettes au milieu du XVIIe siécle." Revue de musicologie 7 (1955): 83-84.
Loraine, Keith. A Handbook on Making Double Reeds for Early Winds. Berkeley, CA: Musica Sacra et Profana, 1982.
Lumsden, Alan. "The Baroque Era: Woodwinds and Brass." In The Norton/Grove Handbooks in Music Performance Practice Music After 1600, ed. Howard Mayer Brown and Stanley Sadie, vol. 2, 80-96. Basingstoke: Macmillan; New York: W.W. Norton, 1990.
MacGillivray, J. A. "The Woodwinds." In Musical Instruments Through the Ages, 216-50. Harmondsworth, Middlesex: Pelican, 1961.
Mahillon, Victor. Documents et rapports des membres du jury publiés par la commission royale de Belgique, Groupe IV, classe 33, Instruments de musique, Expositions internationale, coloniale et d'exportation générale. Bruxelles: Weissenbruch, 1883.
________. Eléments d'acoustique musicale et instrumentale. Brussels: C. Mahillon, 1874.
Manning, Dwight. "Johann Friedrich Fasch and His 12 Oboe Concertos." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 23 (1995): 87-93.
Marx, Hans-Joachim. "Zur Echtheit des Oboenkonzertes HWV 287 von Georg Friedrich Händel." In Beiträge zur Geschichte des Konzerts: Festschrift Siegfried Kross zum 60. Geburtstag, 33- 40. Bonn: Schröder, 1990.
Marx, Josef. "The Tone of the Baroque Oboe: An Interpretation of the History of Double-Reed Instruments." Galpin Society Journal 4 (1951): 3-19.
Mather, Betty Bang. Interpretation of French Music from 1675- 1775 for Woodwind and Other Performers; Additional Comments on German and Italian Music. New York: McGinnis & Marx, 1973.
Mather, Betty Bang, and David Lasocki. The Art of Preluding, 1700-1830, for Flutists, Oboists, Clarinettists and Other Performers. New York: McGinnis & Marx, 1984.
________. Free Ornamentation for Woodwind Instruments, 1700-1775. New York: McGinnis & Marx, 1976.
Mathiesen, Penelope. "Pursuing the Oboe da Caccia." Winds of Yore. Continuo 15 (October 1991): 7-9.
Mohr, Wilhelm. "Hat Bach ein Oboe-d'Amore Konzert Geschrieben?" Neue Zeitschrift für Musik 133, no. 9 (1972): 507-08.
Montagu, Jeremy. "An Oboe by Hendrik Richters." Galpin Society Journal 43 (1990): 124-34.
Moore, J. Robert. "Six Sonatas for Transverse Flute, Oboe, Violin and Basso Continuo, Op. 20, Volume II, by Johann Christian Schickhardt (ca. 1682-1762): A Performance Edition with Historical Commentary, including an Ornamented Solo Part, Figured Bass Realization and a Comparison with other Contemporary `Sonate da Camera.'" 2 vols. D.M.A. thesis, Eastman School of Music, 1981.
Moreno, Emilio. "La primera, hasta ahora desconocida, sonata para oboe y bajo continuo española? La sonata de Pla." Revista de musicologia 9, no. 2 (1986): 561-75.
Myers, Herbert W. "The Practical Acoustics of Early Woodwinds." D.M.A. dissertation, Stanford University, 1981.
Nimetz, Daniel. "The Wind Music of Carlo Besozzi [with] Volume II: A Critical Edition of 24 Sonatas." Ph.D. dissertation, University of Rochester, Eastman School of Music, 1967.
Oldham, Guy. "Two Pieces for 5-Part Shawm Band by Louis Couperin." In Music Libraries and Instruments, Hinrichsen's Eleventh Music Book, 233-38. London: Hinrichsen Edition, 1961.
Page, Janet K. "`To Soften the Sound of the Hoboy': The Muted Oboe in the 18th and Early 19th Centuries." Early Music 21, no. 1 (February 1993): 65-80.
Palmer, Frederic R. "Reconstructing an 18th-Century Oboe Reed." Galpin Society Journal 35 (1982): 100-11.
Parke, William T. Musical Memories. London: H. Colburn & R. Bentley, 1830. Reprint, New York: Da Capo, 1970.
Pauer, Ernst. Amtlicher Bericht uber die Industrie- und Kunst- Ausstellung zu London im Jahre 1862. Berlin, 1863.
Peters, Rainer. "... Hautbois ... war mein Lieblingsinstrument (Handel): Anmerkungen zu Georg Friedrich Händels Oboesonate c-Moll." Tibia 21, no. 1 (1996): 28- 29.
Pierre, Constant. La Facture instrumentale à l'exposition universelle de 1889, Notes d'un musicien sur les instruments à souffle humain nouveaux & perfectionnes. Paris: Librairie de l'Art Independant, 1890.
Piguet, Michel. "The Baroque Oboe." Recorder and Music Magazine 2, no. 6 (August 1967): 171-72.
________. "Die Oboe im 18. Jahrhundert: Versuch einer Chronologie verschiedener Oboentypen anhand von Messungen und Betrachtungen von neunzehn Instrumenten aus der Sammlung M. Piguet." Basler Jahrbuch für historische Musikpraxis 12 (1988): 81-107.
Pisaro, Kathryn Gleasman. "Thomas Vincent: Portrait of an Eighteenth-Century Musician." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 20 (1992): 80-84.
Post, Nora. "Interview with Fernand and Marie Gillet." The Double Reed 5, no. 3 (1982): 36-38.
________. "The 17th-Century Oboe Reed." Galpin Society Journal 35 (1982): 54-67. Reprinted in Journal of the International Double Reed Society 13 (1985): 57-67.
Prinz, Ulrich. "Anmerkungen zum Instrumentarium in den Werken Johann Sebastian Bachs." In 300 Jahre Johann Sebastian Bach, 89-98. Tutzing: Hans Schneider, 1985.
Robison, John O. "The Lost Oboe Works of J. S. Bach." Parts 1-5. Bach: Quarterly Journal of the Riemenschneider Bach Institute 13 (April 1982): 2-5; (July 1982): 3-11; (October 1982): 30-35; 14 (January-July 1983): 22-28, 18-28.
Rosset, Lucienne. "Antonino Pasculli, the `Paganini of the Oboe.'" The Double Reed 10, no. 3 (Winter 1987): 44-47.
Sandman, Susan Goertzel. "The Wind Band at Louis XIV's Court." Early Music 5, no. 1 (January 1977): 27-37.
________. "Wind Band Music Under Louis XIV: The Philidor Collection, Music for the Military and the Court." Ph.D. dissertation, Stanford University, 1974.
Schneider, Wilhelm. Historisch-technische Beschreibung des musicalischen Instrumente. Neisse & Leipzig: Hennings, 1834.
Singer, Julien. "De Technik des Oboenspiels im Laufe der letzten vier Jahrhunderte: Eine Studie anhand von Büchern und Lehrmethoden von 1535 bis heute." Oboe, Klarinette, Fagott 6, no. 4 (1991): 171-84.
Smith, David Hogan. Reed Design for Early Woodwinds. Bloomington and Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, 1992.
Spitzer, John. "Improvised Ornamentation in a Handel Aria With Obbligato Wind Accompaniment." Early Music 14, no. 4 (1988): 514-22.
Storch, Laila. "100 Years F. Lorée: 1881-1981." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 9 (1981): 28-42.
Strauss, Richard. Instrumentationslehre; rev. trans. of Berlioz, Traité. Berlin: Peters, 1904. English translation by Theodore Front. New York: E.F. Kalmus, ca. 1948.
Swack, Jeanne Roberta. "The Solo Sonatas of Georg Philipp Telemann: A Study of the Sources and Musical Style." Ph.D. dissertation, Yale University, 1988.
Talbot, Michael. "Albinoni's Oboe Concertos." The Consort 29 (July 1973): 14-22.
Tarr, Edward H. "Bartolomeo Bismantova und die früheste bekannte Grifftabelle für Oboe." Tibia 12, no. 2 (1987): 413-21.
Taylor, Kenneth L. "The Baroque Oboe Reed -- One Approach." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 2 (1974): 38-42.
Thom, Eitelfriedrich. "Die Oboe d'Amore in Telemanns Werken." Telemann-Renaissance. Werke und Wiedergabe, 41-46 Magdeburg: Arbeitskrieg Georg Philipp Telemann in Kulturbild der DDR, 1973.
Thomas, Orlan E. "Music for Double-Reed Ensembles from the Seventeenth Century and Eighteenth Centuries: `Collection Philidor.'" D.M.A. dissertation, University of Rochester, Eastman School of Music, 1973.
Topp, Morten. "Obostemmerne im Händels Messias." Musik a Forskning 12 (1986-87): 5-139.
Vas Dias, Harry A. "Rohrbau für Barock-Oboen." Tibia 5, no. 2 (1980): 107-113. In English as "Making Reeds for the Baroque Oboe." Journal of the International Double Reed Society 9 (1981): 48-52.
Ventzke, Karl. Boehm-Instrumenten: Ein Handbuch uber Theobald Boehm und uber Klappeninstrumente seines Systems. Frankfurt am Main: Verlag Das Musikinstrument, 1982.
________. Boehm-Oboen und die neueren französischen Oboesysteme. Frankfurt am Main, 1969.
________. "Henri Brod (1799-1839): Ein Oboenvirtuose als Oboenbauer." Tibia 2 (1977): 347-50.
________. "Zur Biographie der Oboenbauer Triebert in Paris (1810-1878)." Tibia 10 (1985): 293.
Warner, Thomas E. An Annotated Bibliography of Woodwind Instruction Books, 1600-1830. Detroit Studies in Music Bibliography, 11. Detroit: Information Coordinators, 1967.
________. "Indications of Performance Practice in Woodwind Instruction Books of the 17th and 18th Centuries." Ph.D. dissertation, New York University, 1964.
________. "Two Late Eighteenth-Century Instructions for Making Double Reeds." Galpin Society Journal 15 (1962): 25-33.
Waterhouse, William. The New Langwill Index: A Dictionary of Musical Wind-Instrument Makers and Inventors. London: Tony Bingham, 1993.
Wind, Thiemo. "Alessandro Besozzi: Portrait of a Virtuoso." Tibia 11 (1986): 13ff.
________. "Het Hobo-Ensemble Rond 1700." Tijdschrift voor Oude Muziek 2 (May 1987): 41-42.
Wurst, Patricia Ann. "A Study of the Baroque Oboe and Baroque Performance Practice as Applied to the Preparation of Performance Editions of Three Cantatas from Der Harmonische Gottesdienst by Georg Philipp Telemann." Ph.D. dissertation, New York University, 1982.
Young, Phillip T. 4900 Historical Woodwind Instruments: An Inventory of 200 Makers in International Collections. London: Tony Bingham, 1993. Earlier version published as Twenty-Five Hundred Historical Woodwind Instruments: An Inventory of the Major Collections. New York: Pendragon Press, 1982.
________. "Some Further Instruments by the Denners." Galpin Society Journal 35 (1982): 78-85.
________. "Woodwind Instruments by the Denners of Nürnberg." Galpin Society Journal 20 (1967): 9-16.
Zeekaf, Lou. "Kurze Einführung in die Spielcharakteristika der Barockoboe der Wiener Bläserschule." Ars Musica 4 (1991): 42-51.