A Bibliography of Writings about the Oboe, 17th-19th Centuries: Primary Sources (in Chronological Order)
Compiled by Geoffrey Burgess, Laura Goetz, and David Lasocki
This bibliography was compiled for Proceedings of the International Double-Reed Symposium Utrecht 1994 (Utrecht: STIMU, 1997), ed. David Lasocki. ML929.5 .I58 We are grateful to STIMU for granting permission to load the bibliography on our web site.
As the 19th century is notoriously difficult to cover bibliographically, some of the information about methods from that time is only provisional. The division of responsibility for compiling the entries was as follows: Laura Goetz (to 1800), Geoffrey Burgess (1801-1900), David Lasocki (additional material, editing).
Praetorius, Michael. Syntagma musicum ex veterum & recentorium ecclesiasticorum autorum lectione.... Tomus secundus: De Organographia. Wolfenbüttel: Elias Holwein, 1619.
________. Syntagma musicum. Band II: De Organographia, Wolfenbüttel 1619. Facsimile, ed. Wilibald Gurlitt. Documenta Musicologica. Erste Reihe: Druckschriften-Faksimiles, 14. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1958.
________. The Syntagma Musicum of Michael Praetorius. Volume Two: De Organographia, First and Second Parts. Translated by Harold Blumenfeld. New York: Bärenreiter, 1949. 2nd ed., New York: Bärenreiter, 1962. Reprinted: New York: Da Capo Press, 1980.
________. Syntagma Musicum, II: De Organographia, Parts I and II. Translated and edited by David Z. Crookes. Early Music Series, 7. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1986.
Mersenne, Marin. Harmonie universelle, contenant la théorie et la practique de la musique, où il est traité de la nature des sons, et des mouvemens, des consonances, des dissonances, des genres, des modes, de la compostion, de la voix, des chants, et de toutes sortes d'instrumens harmoniques, 3 vols. Paris: Sébastien Cramoisy, 1636. Édition facsimilé de l'exemplaire conservé à la Bibliothèque des Arts et Métiers et annoté par l'auteur. Introduction par François Lesure. Paris: Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique, 1963.
________. Harmonie Universelle: The Books on Instruments. Translated by Roger E. Chapman. The Hague: Martinus Nijhoff, 1957.
Köhler, Wolfgang. Die Blasinstrumente aus der Harmonie Universelle des Marin Mersenne: Übersetzung und Kommentar des "Livre cinquiesme des instruments à vent" aus dem "Traité des instruments." Celle: Moeck, 1987.
Trichet, Pierre. Le Traité des instruments de musique. [ca. 1644]. Unpublished manuscript, ms. 1070, Bibliothèque Sainte-Geneviève.
Lesure, François. "Le Traité des instruments de musique de Pierre Trichet, Les instruments à vent." Annales musicologiques 3 (1955): 283-387.
Borjon de Scellery, Charles-Emanuel. Traité de la musette, avec une nouvelle méthode, pour apprendre de soy- mesme à joüer de cét instrument facilement, & en peu de temps. Lyon: Jean Girier and Barthelemy Rivière, 1672. Paris, 1678. Facsimile, Genève: Minkoff Reprints, 1972.
B[anister], J[ohn II?]. The Sprightly Companion; Being a Collection of the Best Foreign Marches, Now play'd in all Camp ... Design'd Chiefly for the Hautboy; Yet Proper for the Flute, Violin, and other Instruments: Also Plain and Easy Directions for Playing on the Hautboy. The First of this kind Publish'd. London: Printed by J. Heptinstall, for Henry Playford, 1695. Facsimile with preface by Peter Hedrick. Columbus, Ohio: Early Music Facsimiles, 1987.
The Second Book of Theatre Musick: Containing Plain & Easie Rules with ye Best Instructions for Learners on ye Violin. Likewise All the New French Dances now in Use at Publick Balls & Dancing School; With Variety of ye Newest Ayres, Song Tunes & Dances, Perform' d in ye late Opera's at ye Theatres: All of them being proper to Play on ye Hautboy, A scale is added at ye End of ye Book for such as desire to Practice on ye Instrument. London: John Walsh, 1699.
Freillon-Poncein, Jean Pierre. La véritable manière d'apprendre à jouer en perfection du haut-bois, de la flûte et du flageolet, avec les principes de la musique pour la voix et pour toutes sortes d'instrumens. Paris: Jacques Collombat, 1700. Facsimile, Genève: Minkoff Reprint, 1972. Published with Amand van der Hagen, Méthode nouvelle et raisonnée pour le hautbois (Paris, ca. 1792). English translation with introduction by Catherine P. Smith as The True Way to Learn to Play Perfectly the Oboe, the Recorder, and the Flageolet Along with the Principles of Music for Voice and All Kinds of Instruments. Brooklyn: The Translations Center, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, 1969. English translation with introduction by Catherine Parsons Smith as On Playing Oboe, Recorder, & Flageolet (La véritable manière). Bloomington and Indianapolis: Indiana University Press, 1992.
Hotteterre, Jacques. Principes de la flûte traversière, ou flûte d'allemagne, de la flûte à bec, ou flûte douce, et du haut-bois, divisez par traitez. Paris: Christophe Ballard, 1707. Facsimile of Amsterdam: Estienne Roger, [1710] edition. Kassel: Bärenreiter, [1942]. Reprinted, 1973. Reissued on new plates in 1982 as part of the series Documenta musicologica (1. Reihe, Druckschriften-Faksimiles, 34). Facsimile of Paris: Ballard, 1720 edition. Genève: Minkoff Reprint, 1973. Published with [Charles] De Lusse, L'art de la flûte traversière (Paris, 1760). Translated and edited by David Lasocki as Principles of the Flute, Recorder & Oboe. London: Barrie & Rockliff; New York: Praeger, 1968. Translated by Paul Marshall Douglas as Rudiments of the Flute, Recorder, and Oboe. New York: Dover, 1968; 2nd ed. as Principles of the Flute, Recorder, and Oboe (Principes de la flûte), 1983.
The Compleat Tutor to the Hautboy or the Art of Playing on that Instrument Improved and Made Easy to the Meanest Capacity by Very Plain Rules and Directions for Learners. Also a Choice Collection of Trumpett-Tunes, Ayres, Marches & Minuetts. London: John Walsh and Joseph Hare, 1715.
Hotteterre, Jacques. L'art de preluder sur la flûte traversière, sur la flûte-a-bec, sur le haubois, et autres instruments de dessus ... Op. 7. Paris: composer & Boivin (also composer & Foucault), 1719. Facsimile, Genève: Minkoff Reprint, 1978. Modern edition by Michel Sanvoisin. Paris: Éditions Aug. Zurfluh, 1966.
B., T. [Thomas Brown?]. The Compleat Musick-Master: Being Plain, Easie, and Familiar Rules for Singing, and Playing on the Most Useful Instruments now in Vogue, according to the Rudiments of Musick. Viz, Violin, Flute, Haut-Boy, Bass-Viol, Treble-Viol, Tenor-Viol. Containing likewise a great Variety of Choice Tunes, and fitted to each Instrument, with Songs for two Voices: To which is added, a Scale of the Seven Keys of Musick, shewing how to Transpose any Tune from one Key to another. London: William Pearson, 1722.
[Prelleur, Peter]. Instructions Upon The Hautboy, In a more Familiar Method than any extant. Together with A Curious Collection of Marches, Minuets, Rigadoons, and Opera Airs; By Mr. Handel, and other Eminent Masters. London: Printing Office in Bow Church-Yard, 1730. [This is the fourth book in a series entitled The Modern Musick-Master.]
________. The Modern Musick-Master, or, The Universal Musician, 1731. Ed. Alexander Hyatt King. Documenta Musicologica. Erste Reihe: Druckschriften-Faksimiles, 27. Kassel: Bärenreiter, 1965. Facsimile.
Eisel, Johann Philipp. Musicus autodidaktos, oder Der sich selbst informirende Musicus, bestehend sowohl in Vocal-als üblicher Instrumental-musique. Erfurt: Johann Michael Funck, 1738.
Diderot, Denis, and Jean Le Rond d'Alembert. "Hautbois." In Encyclopédie, ou dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers, par une societé de gens de lettres, vol. 6. Paris: Briasson, 1751-65.
Minguet y Irol, Pablo. Reglas, y advertencias generales que enseñan el modo de tañer todos los instrumentos mejores, y mas usuales.... Madrid: Johachin Ibarra, 1754. Facsimile, Genève: Minkoff Reprint, 1981.
The Muses Delight. An Accurate Collection of English and Italian Songs, Cantatas and Duetts, set to Music for the Harpsichord, Violin, German-Flute, &c. With Instructions for the Voice, Violin, Harpsichord or Spinnet, German-Flute, Common-Flute, Hautboy, French-Horn, Bassoon and Bass-Violin.... Liverpool: John Sadler, 1754. Eds. of 1756, 1757, and 1758 entitled Apollo's Cabinet: or the Muses Delight....
Diderot, Denis, and Jean Le Rond d' Alembert. "Lutherie." In Recueil er planches, sur les sciences, les arts libéraux, et les arts méchaniques, avec leur explication, vol. 5. Paris: Briasson, 1762-72.
Tans'ur, William. The Elements of Musick Made Easy: or, An Universal Introduction to the Whole Art of Musick, Book III. London: S. Crowder, 1767.
[Fischer, Johann Christian]. The Compleat Tutor for the Hautboy Containing the Best and Easiest Instructions for Learners to Obtain a Proficiency to which is Added a Choice Collection of the most Celebrated Italian English and Scotch Tunes. Also the favorite Rondeau perform'd at Vauxhall by Mr. Fischer. London: C. & S. Thompson, 1770.
Francoeur, Louis-Joseph. Diapason général de tous les instrumens à vent avec des observations sur chacun d'eux. Paris: Le Marchand, 1772.
________. New and Complete Instructions for the Oboe or Hoboy, Containing the easiest and most improv'd Rules for Learners to Play. To which is added a select collection of Airs, Marches, Minuets, Duets, &c. Also the favorite Rondeaus perform'd at Vauxhall by Mr. Fischer. London: Longman & Broderip, ca. 1780. London: T. Cahusac, 1790. An expanded version of the 1770 Compleat Tutor.
Francoeur, Louis-Joseph. Diapason général de tous les instrumens à vent avec des observations sur chacun d'eux. Au quel on a joint un projet nouveau pour simplifier la manière actuelle de copier.... Paris: Le Marchand, 1772. Paris: Des Lauriers, ca. 1772.
Vanderhagen, Armand. Méthode nouvelle et raisonnée pour le hautbois divisée en deux parties la première partie contient une explication claire et succinte de la manière de tenir cet instrument, de son entendue, de son emboûchure, de la qualité des anches que les commençans doivent emploier, du vrai son, des coups de langue et en général de tous ce qui a raport au hautbois. La seconde partie contient plusieurs petits airs et six duo très propres à former des eléves. Paris: Boyer, 1790. Facsimile, Genève: Minkoff, 1971.
Wragg, J. The Oboe Preceptor; or the Art of Playing the Oboe, Rendered perfectly easy to every Capacity, in which every Instruction relative to that Instrument is progressively arranged; the different modes of Fingering fully exemplified, & the whole systematically laid down in so plain and easy a Manner, as to require No Assistance from a Master. To which is added, An elegant Selection of Favorite Airs, Song Tunes, & Duets. Also A Set of easy Preludes in the most useful keys. London: author, 1792.
Vandenbrock, Othon. Traité général de tous les instruments à vent à l'usage des compositeurs. Paris: Boyer, 1793. Facsimile, Genève: Minkoff Reprint, 1974.
Garnier, Joseph-François. Méthode raisonnée pour le hautbois, contenant les principes nécessaires pour bien jouer de cet instrument, la maniere de faire les anches suivis de 55 leçons, six petits duos, six sonates, six airs variés et une étude pour les doigts et l'arrangement de la langue. Paris: Pleyel, ca. 1800. Translated by Peter Hedrick as A Systematic Method for the Oboe by François-Joseph Garnier (Méthode Raisonnée). Columbus, Ohio: Early Music Facsimiles, 1987. Version in French and German, Méthode pour le hautbois. Offenbach: André, before 1815. Italian version, Metodo per oboe del Sig. Garnier. primo artista dell'opera a Parigi. Bologna: Cipriani, [n.d.].
Gervasoni, Carlo. La scuola della musica in tre parti divisa. Piacenza: N. Orcesi, 1800.
Klein, Johann Josef. Lehrbuch der theoretischen Musick in systematischen Ordnung. Leipzig & Gera, 1801.
Gehot, Joseph. Complete Instructions for Every Musical Instrument Containing a Treatise on Practical Music in General, to which is Added the Scale or Gamut for Thirty Five Different Instruments. London: G. Goulding, ca. 1801.
Chalon, Frédéric. Méthode pour le cor anglais ou hautbois. Paris: Imbault, 1802; reprint, 1812-15.
Asioli, Bonifazio. Transunto dei principj elementair di musica ossia breve metodo. Milan: G. Ricordi, ca. 1810.
Froehlich, Joseph. Vollständige theoretisch-pracktische Musikschule für alle beym Orchester gebräuchliche wichtigere Instruments zum Gebrauch für Musikdirectoren, Lehrer und Liebhaber systematisch, mit Benutzung der Besten bisher erschienenen Anweisungen bearbeitet. Bonn: N. Simrock, 1810- 11. Includes Hoboeschule nach d. Grundsätzen d. besten ub. dieses Instrument bereits ersch. Schriften.
Whiteley, William. The Instrumental Preceptor: Comprising Instructions for the Clarinet, Hautboy, Flute and Bassoon. Utica: Seward & Williams, 1816.
Vogt, Gustave. "Méthode pour le hautbois," 1816-25. Manuscript, Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale.
Reicha, Anton. Cours de composition musicale. Paris: Gambaro, ca. 1818. English translation, 1854.
Goodale, Ezekial. The Instrumental Director. Containing Rules for All Musical Instruments in Common Use. Hallowell, ME: author, 1819.
Brod, Henri. Méthode pour le hautbois, 1ere partie. Paris: Dufaut & Dubois, 1825.
Sellner, Joseph. Theoretisch praktische Oboe Schule. Vienna: Sauer & Leidesdorf, ca. 1825.
Sellner, Joseph. Méthode pour le hautbois, trans. Heller, rev. Fouquier, 1er hautbois du Théâtre Royal de l'Opéra Italien. Paris: Richault, ca. 1830.
Sellner, Joseph. Metodo teorico-pratico per oboe. Mendrisio: Pozzi, n.d. Reprinted, Milan: Ricordi, before 1867.
Vény, Louis-Auguste. Méthode abrégée pour le hautbois. Paris: Pleyel et Cie, ca. 1828.
Brod, Henri. Méthode pour le hautbois. Paris: Schonenberger, 1835.
Kastner, Georges. Traité général d'instrumentation. Paris: Prilipp et cie, 1836. 2nd ed. Paris: Minier, 1876-84.
Choron, Alexandre Etienne, and Adrien de La Fage. Nouveau manuel complet de musique. Paris: Librairie Encyclopédique de Roret, 1838-39.
Fahrbach, Giuseppi. Novissimo metodo per oboe di facile intelligenza e colla vista speciale che servir possa alla istruzione de principianti senza l'ajuto del maestro, op. 27. Milan: Ricordi, [1843].
Miller. Méthode de hautbois contenant les principes de la musique, la tablature du hautbois. Paris: J. Meissonnier, 1843.
Kastner, Georges. Méthode elementaire pour le hautbois, suivi d'airs et exercises gradés, composées à l'usage des pensions. Paris: Troupenas & Co., 1844. Metodo elementare per oboe ... a due nove ed undici chiavi. Milan: Lucca; Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1844.
Vény, Louis-August. Méthode complète pour le hautbois à 8 et à 15 clefs, nouveau édition augmentée de tablatures des systèmes Boehm et Triebert et suivie de 4 grands études par V. Bretonnière. Paris: Cotelle, 1844-55.
Kastner, Georges. Metodo elementare per oboe ... a due nove ed undici chiavi. Milan, Firenze: Fratelli; Leipzig: Breitkopf & Härtel, 1845.
Verroust, Stanislas Xavier. Méthode pour le hautbois, d'après Joseph Sellner, op. 68. Paris: S. Richault, ca. 1857.
Salviani, Clemente. Metodo completo per oboe cotento nozioni preliminari, modo di construire la piva (ancia) principi elementari di musica, intavolatura, scale, salti, esercizi e duetti. Milan: Lucca, [1848].
Soler, Pedro. Tablature du nouveau systême de hautbois et anneaux mobiles. Paris: Richault, before 1850.
Barret, Apolon Marie-Rose. Complete Method for the Oboe comprising all the New Fingerings, new Tables of Shakes, Exercises, etc. with an Explicit Method of Reed Making. London: Jullien, 1850. 2nd ed., London: Lafleur & Son, 1862.
Belpasso, Giovanni Battista. Metodo per Oboe composite espressamente per Real Collegio di Musica. Napoli: Cottrau, ca. 1850.
Gassner, Ferdinand Simon. Traité de la partition ou guide servant, sans maître à l'instruction des jeunes compositeurs. Trans. from the German by F. Hofer. Paris: Richault, 1851.
Capelli, Giuseppe. Metodo teoretico-pratico. Milan: Lucca, etc., 1853.
Sandi, Francesco. Trattato di strumentazione pratica. Milan: Ricordi, 1864.
Bretonnière, Victor. Nouvelle méthode de hautbois renfermant la tablature de l'instrument dans les tons les plus usités, op. 400. Paris: Joly, 1867.
Wieprecht, Peter. Studienwerk für Oboe unter Zugrundelegung der Oboeschule von Garnier. Offenbach: André, ca. 1877.
Coyon, Emile. Tablature du hautbois, 16 clefs 2 anneaux de fa# main droit et le plateau du pouce de la main gauche. Paris: E. Gheluve, 1880-83.
Chalon, V. Méthode de hautbois ordinaire et à Boehm illustraté de vignettes representant les différents parties de l'instrument et la pose de l'executant. Paris: J. Kelmer frères, 1877. Spanish translation, Paris, 1894.
Brod, Henri. Méthode pour le hautbois ... revue par Georges Gillet. Paris: Lemoine et fils, 1890.
Spassoff, [Wassil]. Griff-Tabelle für die Oboe, Modell der Wiener Oper und Wiener Musik Akademie nach Professor Richard Baumgartel und Professor Alexander Wunderer. Nationalbibliothek, Wien, MS 14790 [ca. 1900].
[Mariani, Giuseppe]. Metodo populare per strumenti a fiato, oboe. Milan: G. Ricordi, [1900?].