Flute Music
Classification Numbers for Flute Music
| M60–M64 | Flute or alto flute alone: |
| M60 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M61 | Original works: Collections (one composer): |
| M62 | Original works: Separate |
| M63 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer): |
| M64 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M110.P5 | Piccolo |
| M240–M244 | Flute or alto flute with piano accompaniment: |
| M240 | Collections (more than one composer |
| M241 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M242 | Original works: Separate |
| M243 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M244 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M270.P45 | Piccolo with piano accompaniment |
| M288–M289 | Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
| M288 | Collections |
| M289 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M296–M297 | Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
| M315–M319 | Piano and two wind instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M335–M339 | Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
| M355–M359 | Three wind instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M375–M379 | Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1020 | Flute or alto flute with orchestra, full scores |
| M1020.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1021 | Flute or alto flute with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1034.P5 | Piccolo with orchestra, full scores |
| M1034.5.P5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1035.P5 | Piccolo with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1120 | Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1120.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1121 | Flute or alto flute with string orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1134.P5 | Piccolo with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1134.5.P5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1135.P5 | Piccolo with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Flute studies and methods:
| MT340 | General works |
| MT342 | Systems and methods |
| MT343 | Teaching pieces |
| MT344 | Instructive editions |
| MT345 | Studies and exercises |
| MT346 | Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
| MT347 | Two flutes |
| MT348 | Self-instructors |
| MT356 | Fife |
| MT357 | Piccolo |
Not all flute music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf.Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo flute music: | sonatas (flute); suites (flute); variations (flute); etc.; flute music |
| Flute and piano music: | rondos (flute and piano); sonatas (flute and piano); suites (flute and piano); variations ( flute and piano); flute and piano music, etc. |
| Duets: | flute music (flutes (2))
bassoon and flute music; clarinet and flute music; horn and flute music; oboe and flute music; horn and flute music; etc. |
| Trios: | woodwind trios (clarinet, oboe, flute)
(or other combinations) wind trios [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] trios [various combinations of instruments]; e.g., trios (clarinet, flute, violin), trios (flute, percussion), trios (flute, guitar, viola) |
| Quartets: | woodwind quartets[various combinations];
also suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Flute and Orchestra: | concertos (flute)
concertos (flute) — solo with piano flute with orchestra concertos (flute with string orchestra) rondos (flute with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
Bate, Philip. The Flute: A Study of its History, Development, and Construction. New York: Norton, 1979. ML935.B328 1979
Boehm, Theobald. An Essay on the Construction of Flutes. London: Rudall Carte, 1882. ML936.B6
De Lorenzo, Leonardo. My Complete Story of the Flute: The Instrument, the Performer, the Music. Lubbock: Texas Tech University Press, 1992. ML935.D36 1992
Dorgeuille, Claude. The French Flute School, 1860-1950. London: Tony Bingham, 1986. ML937.D671
Estevan, Pilar. Talking with Flutists: Jean-Pierre Rampal, Julius Baker, Marcel Moyse, Hubert Laws, Doriot Anthony Dwyer, Harvey Sollberger, Samuel Baron, Paula Robison. New York: Edu-Tainment Pub., 1976. ML399.E8
Howell, Thomas. The Avant-Garde Flute: A Handbook for Composers and Flutists. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1974. ML935.H859
Krell, John C. Kincaidiana: A Flute Player's Notebook. Culver City, CA.: Trio Associates, 1983. MT340.K74
Meylan, Raymond. The Flute. Translated by Alfred Clayton. Portland, OR.: Amadeus Press, 1988. ML935.M56
Morris, Gareth. Flute Technique. New York: Oxford University Press, 1991. MT340.M87
Phelan, James, and Mitchell D. Brody. The Complete Guide to the Flute. Boston: Conservatory Publications, 1980. ML936.P45
Quantz, Johann Joachim. On Playing the Flute, 2d ed. Translated with notes and an introduction by Edward R. Reilly. New York: Schirmer Books, 1985. MT342.Q15 V42 1985a
Toff, Nancy. The Development of the Modern Flute. New York: Taplinger, 1979. ML935.T63
Classification Numbers for Books about the Flute
| Ref. ML128 .F58 | Flute bibliographies |
| ML935 | General works |
| ML936 | Construction |
| ML937 | Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| Flute Talk (1986–) | ML1.F55 |
| The Flutist Quarterly (1984–) | ML27.U5 N3676 |
Selected Internet Resource
| National Flute Association | http://www.nfaonline.org |