Oboe Music
Classification Numbers for Oboe Music
| M65–M69 | Oboe alone: |
| M65 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M66 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M67 | Original works: Separate |
| M68 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M69 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M110.E5 | English horn |
| M245–M247 | Oboe with piano accompaniment: |
| M245 | Collections (different composers) |
| M246 | Separate works, original |
| M247 | Separate works: arrangements |
| M270.E5 | English horn |
| M288–M289 | Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
| M288 | Collections |
| M289 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M296–M297 | Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
| M315–M319 | Piano and two wind instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M335–M339 | Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
| M355–M359 | Three wind instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M375–M379 | Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1022 | Oboe with orchestra, full scores |
| M1022.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1023 | Oboe with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1034.E5 | English horn |
| M1122 | Oboe with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1122.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1121 | Oboe with string orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1134.E5 | English horn |
Oboe studies and methods:
| MT360 | General works |
| MT362 | Systems and methods |
| MT363 | Teaching pieces |
| MT364 | Instructive editions |
| MT365 | Studies and exercises |
| MT366 | Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
| MT367 | Two oboes |
| MT368 | Self-instructors |
| MT376 | English horn |
Not all oboe music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf.Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo oboe music: | sonatas (oboe); suites (oboe); variations (oboe); etc.; oboe music |
| Oboe and piano music: | rondos (oboe and piano); sonatas (oboe and piano); suites (oboe and piano); variations ( oboe and piano); oboe and piano music, etc. |
| Duets: |
oboe music (oboes (2)) bassoon and oboe music; clarinet and oboe music; horn and oboe music; horn and oboe music; etc. |
| Trios: |
woodwind trios (clarinet, flute, oboe) (or other combinations) wind trio [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] trios [various combinations of instruments]; e.g., trios (clarinet, oboe, violin), trios (oboe, percussion), trios (oboe, guitar, viola) |
| Quartets: |
woodwind quartets [various combinations]; suites [various combinations of instruments]; variations [various combinations of instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Oboe and Orchestra: | concertos (oboe)
concertos (oboe) — solo with piano oboe with orchestra rondos (oboe with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
Bate, Philip.The Oboe, an Outline of its History, Development, and Construction.3rd ed.New York: W. W. Norton, 1975. ML940 .B32 1975
Gifford, Virginia Snodgrass.Music for Oboe, Oboe d'amore, and English Horn: a Bibliography of Materials at the Library of Congress.Westport, CT:Greenwood Press, 1983. Ref. ML128 .O2 G5
Goossens, Leon, and Edwin Roxburgh.Oboe.2nd ed.London: MacDonald Tutura Publishers, 1980. MT360 G66 1980
Haynes, Bruce.Music for Oboe, 1650-1800: A Bibliography.2nd ed.Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf Press, 1992. Ref. ML128.O2 H3965 1992
Hosek, Miroslav.Oboen-Bibliographie.Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1975. Ref. ML128 .02 H83
Joppig, Gunther.The Oboe and the Bassoon.Trans. Alfred Clayton.London: Batsford, 1988. ML931 .J66
Wilkins, Wayne.The Index of Oboe Music including the Index of Baroque Trio Sonatas.Magnolia, AR: Music Register, 1976 (includes supplements 1977 and 1978). Ref. ML128 .O2 W68
Classification Numbers for Books about the Oboe
| Ref. ML128 .F58 | Oboe bibliographies |
| ML940 | General works |
| ML941 | Construction |
| ML942 | Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
(Current issues available in periodicals on 1st floor)
| The Double Reed (1978–) | ML1. D73 |
| Journal of the International Double Reed Society (1973-1998) | ML1 .I598 |
Internet Resources
| International Double Reed Society | https://www.idrs.org/ |
| Oboe and Reed Information | https://www.public.asu.edu/~schuring/Oboe/oboeinfo.html |