Horn Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Horn Music
| M80–M84 | Horn alone: |
| M80 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M81 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M82 | Original works: Separate |
| M83 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M84 | Arrangements: separate works |
| M255–M259 | Horn with piano accompaniment: |
| M255 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M256 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M257 | Original works: Separate |
| M258 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M259 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M288–M289 | Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
| M288 | Collections |
| M289 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M296–M297 | Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
| M315–M319 | Piano and two wind instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M335–M339 | Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
| M355–M359 | Three wind instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M375–M379 | Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1028 | Horn with orchestra, full scores |
| M1028.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1029 | Horn with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1128 | Horn with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1128.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1129 | Horn with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Horn Studies and Methods:
| MT420 | General works |
| MT422 | Systems and methods |
| MT423 | Teaching pieces |
| MT424 | Instructive editions |
| MT425 | Studies and exercises |
| MT426 | Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
| MT427 | Two horns |
| MT428 | Self-instructors |
Not all horn music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf. Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo horn music: | sonatas (horn); suites (horn); variations (horn); etc.; horn music |
| Horn and piano music: | rondos (horn and piano); sonatas (horn and piano); suites (horn and piano); variations (horn and piano); etc.; horn and piano music |
| Duets: |
horn music (horns (2)) horn and trumpet music; horn and trombone music; horn and tuba music; flute and horn music; etc. |
| Trios: |
brass trios (horn, trombone, trumpet) (or other combinations) wind trios, wind trios (flute, horns (2)), [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations] |
| Quartets: |
brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Horn and Orchestra: | concertos (horn)
concertos (horn) — solo with piano horn with orchestra rondos (horn with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Horn
| Ref. ML128 .T78 | Horn bibliographies |
| ML955 | General works |
| ML956 | Construction |
| ML957 | Music and playing |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Recordings, Writings
Anderson, Paul G. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1987. Ref. ML128 .W5 A59
Bruchle, Bernhard. Horn Bibliographie.Wilhelmshaven: Heinrichshofen, 1970. Ref. ML128 .H67 B88. Also two supplements, Ref. ML128 .H67 B89 and Ref. ML128 .H67 B9)
Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990. Ref. ML128 W5 F2
Gregory, Robin.The Horn: a Comprehensive Guide to the Modern Instrument & its Music. 2nd ed.London: Faber & Faber; New York: F. A. Praeger 1969. ML955 .G8 1969
Hernon, Michael. French Horn Discography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1986. Ref. ML156.4 .H7 H57
Horne, Aaron. Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996. Ref. ML128 .W5 H651
Janetzky, Kurt, and Bernhard Bruchle.The Horn. Trans. James Chater.London:Batsford; Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1988. ML955 .J362
McBeth, Amy. A Discography of 78rpm Era Recordings of the Horn: Solo and Chamber Literature with Commentary. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997. ML156.4 .H7 M33
Meckna, Michael. Twentieth-Century Brass Soloists.Westport, CT: Greenwood Press 1994. Ref. ML399 .M4
Pizka, Hans. Hornisten-Lexikon = Dictionary for Hornists. Kirchheim bei München: Hans Pizka Edition, 1986. Ref. ML102 .H67 P5
Reynolds, Verne. The Horn Handbook. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, 1997. MT420 .R49
Tuckwell, Barry. Horn. London: Macdonald; New York: Schirmer Books, 1983. ML955 .T82
Selected Periodicals
| Brass Bulletin (1971–) | ML5.B823 |
| Historic Brass Society Journal (1989–) | ML1.H457 |
| Historic Brass Society Newsletter (1989–) | ML1.H458 |
| The Horn Call (1971–) | ML1.H82 |
| The Horn Call Annual (1989–) | ML1 .H822 |
| International Horn Society Newsletter (1981-) | ML1.I599 |
| NACWPI Journal (1970–) | ML1.N27 |
Selected Internet Resources
| IHS Online | https://www.hornsociety.org/ |
| Historic Brass Society | https://historicbrass.org/ |
| Hans Pizka | http://www.pizka.de/ |