Harpsichord Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Harpsichord Music
| M20–M39 | Harpsichord alone: |
| M20 | Collections, mixed (original works and arrangements; two or more composers) |
| M21 | Collections: original works, two or more composers |
| M22 | Collections: original works, one composer |
| M23 | Sonatas |
| M24 | Suites |
| M25 | Pieces |
| M27 | Variations |
| M28 | Marches |
| M30 | Dances—general |
| M31 | Dances—duple meter (polka, etc.) |
| M32 | Dances—triple meter (waltz, etc.) |
| M32.8 | Arrangements: collections |
| M35 | Arrangements: orchestral music |
| M38 | Arrangements: chamber music, part songs, music for other solo instruments |
| M39 | Arrangements: potpourris, medleys |
| M198–M212 | Duets (harpsichord only) |
| M200 | Four hands: mixed collections (original works and arrangements) |
| M201 | Four hands: original works, collections |
| M202 | Four hands: Sonatas |
| M203 | Four hands: Suites, Variations |
| M204 | Four hands: Pieces |
| M207 | Arrangements: collections by two or more composers |
| M209 | Arrangements: orchestral music |
| M210 | Arrangements: concertos (NOT two-harpsichord versions of concertos for solo instrument[s] and orchestra) |
| M214 | Two harpsichords, two performers: original works |
| M215 | Two harpsichords, two performers: arrangements |
| M217–M285 | Duets (harpsichord and other solo instruments) |
| M217–M239 | Harpsichord and one stringed instrument |
| M240–M271 | Harpsichord and one wind instrument |
| M272–M283 | Harpsichord and one plucked instrument |
| M284–M285 | Harpsichord and other (includes percussion and electronics) |
| M310–M344 | Trios (Harpsichord and two other instruments) |
| M310–M314 | Harpsichord and two stringed instruments |
| M315–M319 | Harpsichord and two wind instruments |
| M320–M324 | Harpsichord, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M325–M329 | Harpsichord and two plucked instruments |
| M330–M334 | Harpsichord, one string, and one plucked instrument |
| M335–M339 | Harpsichord, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
| M340–M344 | Harpsichord and other combinations |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1010 | Harpsichord with orchestra |
| M1010.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1011 | Harpsichord with orchestra (two-keyboard versions) |
| M1110 | Harpsichord with string orchestra |
| M1110.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1111 | Harpsichord with string orchestra (two-keyboard versions) |
Studies and methods: MT252
See also under Piano studies and methods (MT220–MT225+)
Not all harpsichord music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf.Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo harpsichord music: | harpsichord music; sonatas (harpsichord); suites (harpsichord); variations (harpsichord); etc. |
| Duets: | harpsichord music (4 hands), harpsichord music (harpsichords (2)) |
| Trios: | trios (instrumentation), where instrumentation = e.g., harpsichord, flute, violin |
| Quartets: | quartets (instrumentation), where
instrumentation = e.g., harpsichord, flute, violin, viola da gamba Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Harpsichord and Orchestra: | concertos (harpsichord)
harpsichord with orchestra concertos (harpsichord with string orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Harpsichord
| Ref. ML128 .H35 | Harpsichord bibliographies |
| ML651 | General works |
Selected Periodicals
| The Historical Harpsichord (1984--) | ML1 .H33 |
| Harpsichord (1968-1976) | ML651 .H57 |
Selected Internet Resources
| Harpsichord Clearing House | http://www.harpsichord.com |
| Harpsichord and Fortepiano | https://hfmagazine.info/ |