Choral Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Choral Music
Secular choral music
Choruses with orchestra
| M1530–1533 | Mixed voices |
| M1534–1537 | Mixed voices: Excerpts |
| M1538–1540 | Men’s voices |
| M1541–1542 | Men’s voices: Excerpts |
| M1543–1544 | Treble voices |
| M1545–1546 | Treble voices: Excerpts |
| M1546.5 | Children’s voices |
Choruses with piano
| M1547 | Collections: Choruses, part-songs, glees, madrigals, etc. |
| M1548 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M1549 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M1550 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M1551 | Collections: Treble voices |
| M1552 | Separate works: Mixed voices |
| M1560 | Separate works: Men’s voices |
| M1570 | Separate works: Treble voices |
Choruses with other accompaniment
| M1574 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M1575 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M1576 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M1577 | Collections: Treble voices |
Choruses without accompaniment
| M1578 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M1579 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M1580 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M1581 | Collections: Treble voices |
| M1582 | Separate works: Mixed voices |
| M1590 | Separate works: Men’s voices |
| M1600 | Separate works: Treble voices |
Other choruses
| M1608 | Choruses in tonic sol-fa notation |
| M1609 | Unison choruses |
| M1610 | Cantatas, choral symphonies for unaccompanied chorus (secular and sacred) |
Sacred choral music
| M1999 | Collections of two or more composers |
Oratorios
| M2000 | Full scores |
| M2002 | Scores without accompaniment |
| M2003 | Scores with piano accompaniment |
| M2004 | Excerpts with original accompaniment |
| M2005 | Excerpts with orchestral accompaniment |
| M2006 | Collections of excerpts with piano accompaniment |
| M2007 | Individual excerpts with piano accompaniment |
Religious services
| M2010–2014 | Roman Catholic Masses: Requiems |
| M2015 | Orthodox |
| M2016 | Anglican |
| M2017 | Lutheran |
| M2017.2 | Other Protestant |
| M2017.6 | Jewish |
Choruses with Orchestra
| M2020–2023 | Mixed voices |
| M2025–2028 | Mixed voices: Excerpts |
| M2029–2030 | Men’s voices |
| M2031–2032 | Men’s voices: Excerpts |
| M2033–2034 | Treble voices |
| M2035–2036 | Treble voices: Excerpts |
Choruses with piano
| M2060 | Collections of accompanied and unaccompanied works |
| M2061 | Collections: Two or more types of chorus |
| M2062 | Collections: Mixed voices |
| M2063 | Collections: Men’s voices |
| M2064 | Collections: Treble voices |
| M2065–2068 | Collections: Special seasons/occasions |
| M2069 | By religion or denomination |
| M2072 | Separate works: Mixed voices |
| M2073 | Separate works: Men’s voices |
| M2074 | Separate works: Treble voices |
| M2075–2078 | Separate works: Special seasons/occasions |
For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Not all choral music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf. Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
cantatas, sacred
cantatas, secular
choral music
choruses, sacred
choruses, secular
oratorios
sacred vocal music
secular vocal music
Vocal ensembles:
vocal ensemble [secular, 10 or more voices]
vocal ensembles, unaccompanied
vocal ensembles with orchestra, vocal ensembles withcontinuo, etc.
sacred vocal ensemble [sacred, 10 or more voices]
sacred vocal ensembles, unaccompanied
sacred vocal ensembles with orchestra, vocal ensembleswith continuo, etc.
Classification Numbers for Books about Choral Music
| Ref. ML128 .C48 | Bibliographies of choruses |
| Ref. ML128.O45 | Bibliographies of oratorios |
Choral music
| ML1500–1551 | Choral music (arranged by period then region) |
| ML1554 | Forms and types |
Secular vocal music
| ML2400 | Cantata |
| ML2500 | Songs: General works |
| ML2502–2505 | Songs by period: Early to 1600, 1601–1700, 1701–1800, 1801–1900, 1901– |
| ML2510–2513 | North America |
| ML2514–2515 | West Indies and Mexico |
| ML2516–2517 | Central and South America |
| ML2520–2551 | Europe |
| ML2600–2670 | Part-songs (by period, region, then form) |
| ML2800–2881 | Solo songs (by period, region, then form) |
Sacred vocal music
| ML2900 | General works |
| ML2902–2906 | By period: Early to 1600, 1601–1700,1701–1800, 1801–1900, 1901– |
| ML2910–2913 | North America |
| ML2914–2915 | West Indies and Mexico |
| ML2916–2917 | Central and South America |
| ML2920–2951 | Europe |
| ML2999–3197 | Individual religions and denomination arranged by period, region, form, then denomination |
Forms and types of sacred vocal music
| ML3201–3251 | Oratorios (arranged by period then region) |
| ML3260 | Cantatas |
| ML3265 | Chorales |
| ML3270 | Church songs |
Singing and vocal technique
| MT875 | Chorus and part-singing |