Instrument and Voice Guides

M315–M319	Piano and two wind instruments
M320–M324	Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument
M335–M339	Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument

   

Trios:

M355	Collections (both original and arranged works)
M356	Original works: Collections
M357	Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass)
M357.4	Original works: Separate -- Brass only
M358	Arrangements: Collections
M359	Arrangements: Separate works
M375–M379	Wind and plucked instruments
M380–M384	Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

     

Quartets:

M400–M409	Organ or reed organ and three other instruments
M415–M419	Piano and three wind instruments
M435–M439	Piano and three wind and plucked instruments
M440–M444	Piano and three stringed, wind, and plucked instruments
M455	Wind instruments only: Collections (both original and arranged works)
M456	Original works: Collections
M457	Original works: Separate -- General (woodwinds and brass)
M457.4	Original works: Separate -- Brass only
M458	Arrangements: Collections
M459	Arrangements: Separate works
M460–M464	Stringed and wind instruments
M480–M484	Wind and plucked instruments
M480–M484	Stringed, wind, and plucked instruments

    

 

Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696 .U5 M 1998).

 

Not all brass music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf.Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.

 

Subject Headings

(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)

Trios:	trios [instruments], e.g. trios (piano, trumpet, trombone); trios (piano, horns (2)); etc  brass trios [instruments], e.g. (euphoniums (3)); (euphoniums (2), tuba); etc.  suites (horn, trombone, trumpet); etc.  wind trios (bassoon, horns (2)); etc.
Quartets:	brass quartets [instruments], e.g. (horn, trombone, trumpets (2)); etc.  wind quartets (clarinets (2), horns (2)); etc.
Quintets:	brass quintets [instruments], e.g. (horn, trombone, trumpets(2), tuba); etc.

 

Similar patterns for sextets, septets, octets, and nonets.

 

Selected Bibliography

Anderson, Paul G., comp. Brass Ensemble Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1978. Ref. ML128 .W5 A58

Anderson, Paul G., and Lisa Ormston Bontrager, comp. Brass Music Guide: Ensemble Music in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1987.Ref. ML128 .W5 A59

Andraud, Albert J. Catalogue of Chamber Music for Woodwind and Brass Instruments, Methods, Studies, etc. Ref. ML128 .C4 A55

Baer, Douglas Milton.“The Brass Trio: A Comparative Analysis of Works Published from 1924 to 1970.”Ph.D. diss., Florida State University, 1970.Film ML 1196.

Decker, Richard G., comp. A Bibliography of Music for Three Heterogeneous Brass Instruments Alone and in Chamber Ensembles. Oneonta, NY: Swift-Dorr Publications, 1976. Ref. ML128 .W5 D4

Shoemaker, John R.“A Selected and Annotated Listing of 20^th Century Ensembles Published for Three or More Heterogeneous Brass Instruments.” Ed.D. diss., Washington University, 1968.Film ML 839.

 

Selected Internet Resources