Vocal Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Vocal Music
Secular Vocal Music
| Operas | |
| M1500 | Scores (full) |
| M1503 | Piano-vocal scores |
| M1505–1508 | Excerpts (with original or arranged accompaniment) |
| Other Dramatic Music | |
| M1510–1518 | Incidental music |
| M1520–1526 | Ballets |
| M1527 | Motion picture, radio, and television music |
| M1528–1529.5 | Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices |
| Songs (including arias and solo cantatas):
Orchestral Accompaniment |
|
| M1611 | Collections: full scores |
| M1612 | Collections: piano-vocal scores |
| M1613 | Separate works: full scores |
| M1613.3 | Separate works: other accompaniment |
| M1614 | Separate works: piano accompaniment |
| M1615 | Arrangements: Collections: full scores |
| M1616 | Arrangements: Collections: piano-vocal scores |
| M1617 | Arrangements: Separate works: full scores |
| M1618 | Arrangements: Separate works: piano accompaniment |
| Songs:
Other accompaniment or no accompaniment |
|
| M1619 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M1620 | Collections: one composer |
| M1621 | Separate works: piano accompaniment |
| M1621.2 | Separate works: unaccompanied |
| M1621.3 | Separate works: accompanied by piano and one other instrument |
| M1621.4 | Song cycles |
| M1622 | Vaudeville, music-hall songs, etc. |
| M1623 | Accompaniment of one other instrument: Collections |
| M1624 | Accompaniment of one other instrument: Separate works |
| M1625–1626 | Recitations with music |
| M1627–1853 | National songs (solo songs and part-songs) |
| M1900–1978 | Songs (solo songs and part-songs) of groups and schools or about special subjects |
| M1990–1998 | Secular music for children |
Sacred Vocal Music
| M2018–2019.5 | Duets, trios, etc., for solo voices |
| Songs with orchestra, etc. accompaniment | |
| M2102 | Collections |
| M2103 | Separate songs: Full scores |
| M2103.3 | Separate songs: Other accompaniment |
| M2104 | Separate songs: piano-vocal scores |
| M2105–2108 | Arrangements |
| Songs with piano accompaniment | |
| M2110 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M2112 | Collections (one composer) |
| M2113 | Separate songs: accompaniment of one instrument |
| M2113.2 | Separate songs: unaccompanied |
| M2113.3 | Song cycles |
| M2114 | Special texts: By religion or denomination |
| M2115–2146 | Hymnals: By religion or denomination |
| M2190–2196 | Sacred vocal music for children |
For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Singing and Vocal Techniques
| MT820 | General works |
| MT821 | Physiology and care of the voice |
| MT823 | History of vocal instruction and study |
| Systems and methods | |
| MT825 | American |
| MT830 | English |
| MT835 | French |
| MT840 | German |
| MT845 | Italian |
| MT850 | Other |
| MT853 | Systems using audio-visual aids |
| Special techniques | |
| MT855 | General works |
| MT860 | Chanting |
| MT870 | Sight-singing |
| MT875 | Chorus and part-singing |
| MT878 | Breathing |
| MT882 | Tone production |
| MT883 | Pronunciation; diction |
| MT885 | Studies and exercises |
| MT890 | Instructive editions; teaching pieces |
| MT892 | Interpretation, phrasing, expression |
| MT893 | Self-instructors |
| MT898–916 | Vocal techniques for children |
Not all vocal music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf. Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo vocal music: | songs, unaccompanied
sacred songs, unaccompanied |
| Voice and piano music: |
songs (high voice) with piano, songs (medium voice) with piano, songs (low voice) with piano sacred songs (high voice) with piano, sacred songs (medium voice) with piano, sacred songs (low voice) with piano |
| Duets: |
vocal duets, unaccompanied vocal duets with piano, vocal duets with chamber orchestra, vocal duets with guitar, etc. |
| Trios: |
vocal trios, unaccompanied vocal trios with piano, vocal trios with chamber orchestra, vocal trios with guitar etc. Similar for quartets. quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
Classification Numbers for Books about Vocal Music
| Ref. ML128 .S2 | Sacred vocal music bibliographies |
| Ref. ML128.V7 | Vocal music bibliographies |
| Vocal music | |
| ML1400 | General works |
| ML1402–1451 | Vocal music (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML1460 | Vocal technique |
| Secular vocal music | |
| ML1600 | General works |
| ML1602–1651 | By period then region or country |
| ML1700–1751 | Forms and types (general works; by period then region or country) |
| ML2400–2551 | Cantatas and songs: works about both solo songs and part-songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML2600–2670 | Part-songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML2800–2854 | Solo songs (arranged by period then region or country) |
| ML2880–2881 | Christmas songs |
| Sacred vocal music | |
| ML2900 | General works |
| ML2902–2951 | By period then region or country |
| ML2999–3197 | Individual religions and denominations |
| ML3201–3275 | Forms and types(oratorio, cantata, chorale) |