Violoncello Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Violoncello Music
| M50–M54 | Violoncello alone: |
| M50 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M51 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M52 | Original works: Separate |
| M53 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M54 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M229–M236 | Violoncello with piano accompaniment: |
| M229 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M230 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M231 | Original works: Sonatas |
| M232 | Separate works: Suites and variations |
| M233 | Separate works: Pieces |
| M235 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M236 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M286–M287 | Duets for two string instruments (of all kinds): |
| M286 | Collections |
| M287 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M294–M295 | Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument |
| M310–M314 | Piano and two stringed instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M330–M334 | Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument |
| M349–M353 | Three stringed instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M370–M374 | Three stringed and plucked instruments |
| M450 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium) |
| M451 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer) |
| M452 | Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello |
| M452.2 | Quartets—four violins |
| M452.4 | Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments |
Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1016 | Violoncello with orchestra, full scores |
| M1016.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1017 | Violoncello with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1116 | Violoncello with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1116.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1117 | Violoncello with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and methods:
| MT300 | General works |
| MT302 | Systems and methods |
| MT305 | Studies and exercises: General works |
| MT306 | Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
| MT307 | Bowing |
| MT308 | Positions |
| MT309 | Chords |
| MT310 | Other techniques |
| MT312 | Two violoncellos |
| MT314 | Teaching pieces |
| MT315 | Instructive editions: Two or more composers |
| MT317 | Instructive editions: One composer |
| MT318 | Self-instructors |
Not all violoncello music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf.Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo violoncello music: | sonatas (cello); suites (cello); variations (cello); etc.; cello music |
| Violoncello and piano music: | rondos (cello and piano); sonatas (cello and piano); suites (cello and piano); variations (cello and piano); etc.; cello and piano music |
| Duets: |
cello music (cellos (2)) violin and cello music; flute and cello music; horn and cello music; etc. |
| Trios: |
string trios [for three bowed instruments] trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, viola, cello), trios (percussion, cellos (2)), trios (guitar, violin, cello) |
| Quartets: |
string quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc. string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Violoncello and Orchestra: | concertos (cello)
concertos (cello) — solo with piano cello with orchestra rondos (cello with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Violoncello
| Ref. ML128 .V5 | Violoncello bibliographies |
| ML910 | General works |
| ML911 | Construction |
| ML915 | Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
(Current issues available in Periodicals on 1st floor)
| The Strad (1890–) | ML5 .S8 |
| Strings (1986–) | ML1 .S77 |
| The Violoncello Society, Inc., Newsletter (1971–) | ML1.V56 |
Selected Internet Resources
| Internet Cello Society | https://www.cello.org/ |
| New Directions Cello Association | www.newdirectionscello.org |