Violin Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Violin Music
| M40–M44 | Violin alone: |
| M40 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M41 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M42 | Original works: Separate |
| M43 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M44 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M217–M223 | Violin with piano accompaniment: |
| M217 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M218 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M219 | Sonatas |
| M220 | Suites and variations |
| M221 | Pieces |
| M222 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M223 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M286–M287 | Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds): |
| M286 | Collections |
| M287 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M294–M295 | Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument |
| M310–M314 | Piano and two stringed instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M330–M334 | Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument |
| M349–M353 | Three stringed instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M370–M374 | Three stringed and plucked instruments |
| M450 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium) |
| M451 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer) |
| M452 | Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello |
| M452.2 | Quartets—four violins |
| M452.4 | Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments |
Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1012 | Violin with orchestra, full scores |
| M1012.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1013 | Violin with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1112 | Violin with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1112.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1113 | Violin with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and methods:
| MT260 | General works |
| MT261 | Physiology of the hand |
| MT262 | Systems and methods |
| MT265 | Studies and exercises: General works |
| MT266 | Orchestral studies |
| MT267 | Bowing |
| MT268 | Positions |
| MT269 | Chords |
| MT270 | Harmonics |
| MT271 | Other techniques |
| MT272 | Two violins |
| MT274 | Teaching pieces |
| MT275-6 | Instructive editions |
| MT278 | Self-instructors |
| MT279.5 | Fiddling; Folk-style violin playing |
| MT279.7 | Jazz |
Not all violin music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf. Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo violin music: |
sonatas (violin); suites (violin); variations (violin); etc.; violin music |
| Violin and piano music: | rondos (violin and piano); sonatas (violin and piano); suites (violin and piano); variations (violin and piano); etc.; violin and piano music |
| Duets: |
violin music (violins (2)) viola and violin music; flute and violin music; horn and violin music; etc. |
| Trios: |
string trios [for three bowed instruments] trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, violins (2)), trios (flute, timpani, violin) |
| Quartets: |
string quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc. string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Violin and Orchestra: |
concertos (violin) concertos (violin)—solo with piano violin with orchestra rondos (violin with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Violin
| Ref. ML128 .V4 | Violin bibliographies |
| ML802 | Construction:. general works |
| ML803–M807 | Construction: by period |
| ML810–M842 | Construction: by region or country |
| ML845 | Construction: by parts of the violin |
| ML850 | Music and playing: general works |
| ML853–M857 | Music and playing: by period |
| ML860–M892 | Music and playing: by region or country |
| ML895–M897 | Music and playing: by form and type (sonata, suite, other) |
Selected Periodicals
| The Catgut Acoustical Society Newsletter | ML1.C357 |
| Journal of the Violin Society of America | ML1.V298 |
| Strings (1986–) | ML1 .S77 |
| Violin and Violinists Magazine | ML1.V79 |
Selected Internet Resources
| Catgut Acoustical Society | https://www.catgutacoustical.org/ |
| Violin Society of America | https://www.vsaweb.org/ |