Viola Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Viola Music
| M45–M49 | Viola alone: |
| M45 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M46 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M47 | Original works: Separate |
| M48 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M49 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M224–M228 | Viola with piano accompaniment: |
| M224 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M225 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M226 | Original works: Separate |
| M227 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M228 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M286–M287 | Duets for two stringed instruments (of all kinds): |
| M286 | Collections |
| M287 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M294–M295 | Duets—one stringed and one plucked instrument |
| M310–M314 | Piano and two stringed instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M330–M334 | Piano, one stringed, and one plucked instrument |
| M349–M353 | Three stringed instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M370–M374 | Three stringed and plucked instruments |
| M450 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer and medium) |
| M451 | Quartets—Collections (more than one composer) |
| M452 | Quartets—two violins, viola, violoncello |
| M452.2 | Quartets—four violins |
| M452.4 | Quartets—other combinations of stringed instruments |
Quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1014 | Viola with orchestra, full scores |
| M1014.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1015 | Viola with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1114 | Viola with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1114.5 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1115 | Viola with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and methods:
| MT280 | General works |
| MT282 | Systems and methods |
| MT285 | Studies and exercises: General works |
| MT286 | Orchestral studies (excerpts) |
| MT287 | Bowing |
| MT288 | Positions |
| MT289 | Chords |
| MT290 | Harmonics |
| MT291 | Other techniques |
| MT292 | Two violas |
| MT294 | Teaching pieces |
| MT295 | Instructive editions: Two or more composers |
| MT297 | Instructive editions: One composer |
| MT298 | Self-instructors |
Not all viola music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf. Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo viola music: | sonatas (viola); suites (viola); variations (viola); etc.; viola music |
| Viola and piano music: | rondos (viola and piano); sonatas (viola and piano); suites (viola and piano); variations (viola and piano); etc.; viola and piano music |
| Duets: |
viola music (violas (2)) violin and viola music; flute and viola music; horn and viola music; etc. |
| Trios: |
string trios [for three bowed instruments] trios [various combinations of instruments] e.g., trios (flute, violas (2)), trios (flute, timpani, viola), trios (percussion, violin, viola) |
| Quartets: |
string quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of string instruments]; variations [various combinations of string instruments]; etc. string quartets [mixed string and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Viola and Orchestra: | concertos (viola)
concertos (viola) — solo with piano viola with orchestra rondos (viola with orchestra), etc. |
Classification Numbers for Books about the Viola
| Ref. ML128 .V36 | Viola bibliographies |
| ML900 | General works |
| ML901 | Construction |
| ML905 | Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
(Current issues available in periodicals on 1st floor)
| Journal of the American Viola Society (1985–) | ML1 .J875 |
| Die Viola (1979–) | ML5 .V7 |
| Strings (1986–) | ML1 .S77 |
Selected Internet Resources
| American Viola Society | https://www.americanviolasociety.org/ |