Tuba Music
PDF Guide
Classification Numbers for Tuba Music
| M95–M99 | Tuba alone: |
| M95 | Collections (more than one composer) |
| M96 | Original works: Collections (one composer) |
| M97 | Original works: Separate |
| M98 | Arrangements: Collections (one composer) |
| M99 | Arrangements: Separate works |
| M264–M265 | Tuba with piano accompaniment: |
| M264 | Collections |
| M265 | Separate works |
| M288–M289 | Duets for two wind instruments (of all kinds): |
| M288 | Collections |
| M289 | Separate works |
| M290–M291 | Duets—one stringed and one wind instrument |
| M296–M297 | Duets—one wind and one plucked instrument |
| M315–M319 | Piano and two wind instruments |
| M320–M324 | Piano, one stringed, and one wind instrument |
| M335–M339 | Piano, one wind, and one plucked instrument |
| M355–M359 | Three wind instruments |
| M360–M364 | Three stringed and wind instruments |
| M375–M379 | Three wind and plucked instruments |
Quartets, quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets follow similar patterns (in the M400s, 500s, 600s, 700s, 800s, and 900s, respectively).For more details, see M: Music and Books on Music, available at the reference desk or at the index table in the reference section (Z696.U5 M 1998).
Concertos and similar pieces:
| M1034.T8 | Tuba with orchestra, full scores |
| M1034.5.T8 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1035.T8 | Tuba with orchestra, piano reductions |
| M1134.T8 | Tuba with string orchestra, full scores |
| M1134.5.T8 | Cadenzas for such works |
| M1135.T8 | Tuba with string orchestra, piano reductions |
Studies and methods:
| MT480 | General works |
| MT482 | Systems and methods |
| MT483 | Teaching pieces |
| MT484 | Instructive editions |
| MT485 | Studies and exercises |
| MT486 | Orchestral studies |
| MT487 | Two tubas |
| MT488 | Self-instructors |
Not all tuba music in the Cook Music Library is out on the shelf. Please consult IUCAT to find information about music that is checked out or in the Frontlog.
Subject Headings
(for subject searches in IUCAT or WorldCat)
| Solo tuba music: | sonatas (tuba); suites (tuba; variations (tuba); etc.; tuba music |
| Tuba and piano music: | rondos (tuba and piano); sonatas (tuba and piano); suites (tuba and piano); variations (tuba and piano); etc.; tuba and piano music |
| Duets: |
tuba music (tubas (2)) horn and tuba music; trumpet and tuba music; trombone and tuba music; etc. |
| Trios: |
brass trios [combinations of brass instruments] e.g., brass trios (horn, trombone, tuba), brass trios (tubas (3)) trios [various combinations of instruments], e.g., trios (piano, horn, tuba), trios (piano, tuba, violin) |
| Quartets: |
brass quartets [various combinations]; also suites [various combinations of brass instruments]; variations [various combinations of brass instruments]; etc. wind quartets [mixed brass and woodwind, various combinations]; also suites, variations, etc. Similar for quintets, sextets, septets, octets, and nonets. |
| Tuba and Orchestra: | concertos (tuba)
concertos (tuba) — solo with piano tuba with orchestra rondos (tuba with orchestra), etc. |
Selected Bibliography: Music, Writings
Bell, William, and R. Winston Morris. Encyclopedia of Literature for the Tuba. New York:Charles Colin, 1967. ML128.T8 B43
Gray, Harold Ross. “Music for Solo Tuba with Orchestra: A Discussion of Important Works and Annotated Bibliography.”D.M.A. thesis, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1994. ML128.T8 G72
Morris, R. Winston. Tuba Music Guide. Evanston, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1973. ML128.T8 M7
Morris, R. Winston, and Edward R. Goldstein, eds. The Tuba Source Book. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1996. Ref. ML128.T8
Classification Numbers for Books about the Tuba
| Ref. ML128 .T8 | Tuba bibliographies |
| ML970 | General works |
| ML971 | Construction |
| ML973 | Music and playing |
Selected Periodicals
| Brass Bulletin (1971–) | ML5.B823 |
| Historic Brass Society Journal (1989–) | ML1.H457 |
| Historic Brass Society Newsletter (1989–) | ML1.H458 |
| T.U.B.A. Newsletter (1976–) | ML1.T85 |
Selected Internet Resources
| Historic Brass Society | https://historicbrass.org/ |
| Tuba Christmas | www.tubachristmas.com |
| TubeNet | http://www.chisham.com |